You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Architecture+Design Community Contest: World Architecture Day | THE BRIDGE OVER THE LAKE IN ZULIA STATE, VENEZUELA [ENG-ESP]

in Architecture+Design3 years ago

Warm greetings @charsdesign, It's a pleasure to finally welcome you to the Architecture+Design Community. That's true! When it comes to architecture and engineering becoming embedded in the lifestyle, history, and culture of people, something magical (or musical) happens, as in the case of the iconic Bridge over the Lake. I'd probably be humming or whistling as well as I traverse its elevated roads since I simply can't resist the temptation of being emotional in that environment. In your case, that ecstatic journey on the bridge would even be a romantic escapade because of the cherished moments you've spent with your favorite loved ones. That alone, I think, would be sufficient to seal your intimate connection with that memorable landmark. From a visual perspective, what structural elements of the bridge do you admire the most and why?

Thank you for your remarkable entry to the OCD Community Boost Contest for Architecture+Design. Fantastic post!

Sort:  

Thank you very much for such a warm welcome @storiesoferne!
I really appreciate your comments because I know you are a great expert on architecture and design. I have read some of your posts and they are excellent both from the analysis point of view and from the visual point of view of each of the works you choose.
In my case, I must be honest in saying that my scant approach to architecture was as a planner at the drawing table with the T-ruler and rapidgraphs. And in the design of some other area of ​​my apartment.🙂

Regarding your question, I must say that from the Bridge Over the Lake I admire the area of ​​the bridge that becomes a cable-stayed type. It has always seemed to me that bridges that have this type of design are really pieces of art that are combined with architecture and engineering. In other words, in order to successfully complete these bridges, creativity had to be appealed to rather than the scientific part of the exact combination of its components. When engineers and architects face a project that goes beyond normal construction standards, the element of creativity and innovation becomes the bundle up their sleeve and from where in the end the best results are obtained. If we look at the photo that shows the bridge in the distance, we can notice that the cables form a certain angle similar to that of a scale and I suppose that it is in this way that each small section of the bridge in the middle of the lake is kept in total stability. For me, it is one of the most admirable aspects.

Thanks again, I greatly appreciate your comments and for taking the time to read my post.

You're most welcome @charsdesign. And thanks as well for your beautiful compliment. You're right, the structural cables of that bridge intensify its aesthetics and give the landmark its distinct character. A scale, as you said, is the perfect metaphor for your visual description as it symbolizes balance and stability. Truly, authentic creativity is what sets apart remarkable works of architecture and engineering from mundane projects. Have a fabulous week!

Amazing contest entry @charsdesign. Congratulations! Excited to see more of your remarkable content soon in the Architecture+Design Community. Cheers! 😊

Thank you a lot @storiesoferne! I'm going to organize myself to try to back very soon.