Boredom-reducing Ornaments In The Souvenirs Werehouse

in Architecture+Design2 months ago (edited)

GridArt_20240719_080550775.jpg


When travelling to a tourist destination, one thing that is never forgotten is buying souvenirs. Usually, travellers will look for things that are typical of the tourist destination, such as: typical food, typical crafts, or other things that are typical of the tourist spot. I did the same thing when I visited Malang.

.
Malang is nicknamed as the city of apples, therefore, there are many variants of typical food from Malang that are not far from the basic ingredients of apples, such as: apple cider drinks, strudel with apple filling, apple chips, apple sticks, apple pia, dodo lapel, and many others that are all apples.

Therefore, on my last day in Malang, I went to Gudang Oleh-Oleh, which is one of the places where tourists usually go to buy souvenirs. After finishing breakfast with a portion of Malang's speciality pecel rice, I ordered a taxi to the address listed on the google map.
Only about 10 kilometres away, I finally arrived at Gudang Oleeh-Oleh.


FRONT FACE, WAITING ROOM AND ICONIC PATTERNS


IMG20240715142403.jpg


Since seven years ago, this place hasn't changed. From the front view, there is a large canopy that protects the terrace from the sun. There is also a small bridge that hovers over a pond filled with ornamental fish such as Kooi fish and others. To my amazement, this pond always seemed to be clean every time I visited. The fish pond is also simply shaped, however, on the left and right sides of this artificial pond are planted with plants that look healthy and refreshing.


IMG20240715153801.jpg

IMG20240715142410.jpg



On the right side of the outer door, there is a very iconic statue. A statue of a man with a moustache carrying a cardboard box that reads GOL (which stands for Gudang Oleh-Oleh in Malang, East Java). Please note, the male figure with batik cloth, dark coloured beskap clothes, and a moustache of blangkon fibre as a head covering, is a phenomenal figure of an original Indonesian character named Si Unyil. Well, the man is called Pak Raden. The statue of Pak Raden and the boxes of souvenirs have become an icon for Gudang Oleh-Oleh.


IMG20240715142342.jpg



IMG20240715142430.jpg

IMG20240715142750.jpg


For the door area, it uses colourful painted glass material, and if you look inside, above the colourful door there are beautiful paintings. Not only that, at the very front after the entrance is the waiting area. There are several seats available here. However, you should take a look at this abstract wooden display that also looks beautiful. It is made from the roots of a large tree, usually the wood craftsmen will make aesthetic roots for display. Like this one in Gudang Oleh-Oleh.


IMG20240715142418.jpg

IMG20240715142514.jpg

IMG20240715142509.jpg


  • A Touch of Ornaments in the Waiting Room

Another ornament that I would like to highlight is the roof of this room. Can you see a row of paper umbrellas of various colours and patterns hung upside down? Well, it's beautiful isn't it> so, the roof doesn't have a boring empty space. Everything feels very aesthetic here.


IMG20240715142449.jpg

IMG20240715142430.jpg

IMG20240715142603.jpg


Not finished there, on each side of the umbrellas, there are wooden decorations of the same length, and they are installed in parallel to become a kind of frame for the paper umbrellas.
I enjoyed all the details in this room.

  • Ornaments in Other Rooms

IMG20240715140454.jpg


Entering the main room, of course, there are shelves lined up with all the products they sell. However, there was one area that had some sort of chain barrier, which of course meant that the display items inside that area were very valuable. A large painting of a group of white doves perched on a pohoon branch with pink leaves. On the right and left sides, there are metre-high jars that are full of paintings and look expensive. Down below, there are lots of small statues, as well as short urns that look just as precious. So it's appropriate that this small area is given a chain barrier, so that visitors do not carelessly approach.

In addition to food products, here are also sold a variety of wooden crafts that can be used for household needs, as well as some are wooden crafts that can be used as interior displays at home, such as: wooden monils, wooden bicycles, there is also a wooden ship and many other types with various prices.


IMG20240715140011.jpg

IMG20240715135951.jpg

IMG20240715135943.jpg

IMG20240715140042.jpg

IMG20240715135928.jpg

IMG20240715140055.jpg



IMG_20240312_170243.png

Titis N

Hi, I am the child of the universe, I like to read books with various genres. I was born in the city of batik but can't draw batik yet. I want to be a novelist, but my works are only short poems that are included in anthology books.

please share my content if you feel my content is good for everyone to read. Thank you. Let's be friends!

Sort:  

Wow! such a great variety of items to choose from, I think I would spend several hours looking at each area of the store, the wooden cars are my favorite.

Cheers!

I also don't feel bored waiting for my group to finish shopping, I just wander around and wander around after determining my destination

Thank you so much for stoping by, @belkyscabrera 🥳

I loved the place, thanks for sharing. Have a Nice day

Me encantó el lugar.Gracias por compartir Lindo dia

Thank you for the apreciation and stoping by. Have a great day!

I've been to Malang quite often but never go there. Will make a visit next time I am going there.

Yes, this is recommended for buying souvenirs. and if you want to relax and drink coffee, right in front of this building there is also a coffee shop with a vintage style interior

This place has some memories that you could take away totally unique! those colors of the place, the design makes it very pleasing to the eye! and I loved the Koi fish.

It really makes sense if I don't get bored while waiting in this room. Thank you for commenting and supporting me

 2 months ago  

Congratulations dear @titisnariyah! We are delighted to inform you that your outstanding publication was specially selected as an exclusive feature for our Curated Content Catalog and was awarded RUNNER UP in Architecture Anthology™ 83. More power!

AA CURATION BANNER - RUNNER UP.jpg

Thank you for subscribing to Architecture+Design, an OCD incubated community on the Hive Blockchain.

Thank you so much!

 last month  

You are most welcome dear @titisnariyah. Have fun! 😀

Hello @titisnariyah. This is one warehouse I'd love to linger in. And with its tremendous exhibition of sought-after collectibles plus the location' s interesting architecture, no wonder it becomes a marvelous experience. 😊

Aha! You also agree with me, right? Thank You. My eyes still haven't forgotten the moment where I enjoyed all the paintings there. Hoho

Thanks for support and stoping by, @storiesoferne

A massive thumbs up indeed! 👍 Wish I could experience more interesting stores like this one. It reminds me of treasure-hunting. lol 😂