When times feel tough I remember the little things. And, that the little things are the big things.

in Pubs4 months ago (edited)

I have found many points in the last few days challenging.

I haven't slept well the last three nights and it's catching up with me.

My period is due any day now, so I know I'm more sensitive than at other times.

I've felt run down, in the edge of getting a cold all long weekend.

And we've been travelling long distances in the car, always something I find challenging.

Extra stress means relationships feel harder than usual. Strained. Tiring. Difficult.

I have to keep remembering to come back to now, now and now.

To be here and now with that is.

To notice the little things that make my days feel worthwhile or wonderful, even for just a moment.

  • Hugging my sister, whom I rarely get to see in person

  • Carrying my young niece on my back with my bare feet on thick wet grass

  • Hearing my mum laugh when I give her a present that's just a bit too pink for her

There were more, many more, even just today in fact:

  • Making playful small talk with locals at the parkrun we visited for the first time

  • Getting a passing hug from my Mister when I wasn't expecting it, and

  • Hearing and then seeing a small flock of Yellow-Tailed Black Cockatoos high amongst the trees

The latter are what you can see in the photos scattered throughout this post. These beauties light up my heart when I hear them cry out to one another. They are a powerful, positive trigger from my childhood that almost nothing else beats for the joy it makes me feel.

And it's when I reflect on these tiny moments, scattered throughout the last few days that I realise despite feeling pretty stressed about things I don't seem to be able to shake, I do have these little things.

And these little things are the big things. Because what is life if not a series of moments, full of feeling and meaning and... well, life?

{All photos above, taken by me. But I just remembered Brad sent me some he took and they're even better - as they usually are 😉 I've popped them below for you to appreciate as I am now!}

Here's to remembering to appreciate the little things in 2024. 🙏♥️🎉

Sort:  

I can’t even explain how much I relate to all of this
Now, I just breathe and live in the moment
Look around appreciate everyone and everything
It gets tiring but we’ll always sail through

Bless. I think it's a practice. I think that's all we can really do: keep being here now.

!LUV

abenad, consciouscat sent you LUV. 🙂 (1/10) tools | trade | connect | daily

Made with LUV by crrdlx.

"Because what is life if not a series of moments, full of feeling and meaning and... well, life?"

You just give a perfect definition of life

Kind words. Thank you, Sir. Received 🙏

!COFFEE

You just received 0.05 COFFEE! Good coffee my friend

number of commands left: 0

If you also want to send COFFEE buy them here on hive-engine

Yay! 🤗
Your content has been boosted with Ecency Points, by @new.things.
Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

What happens when I upvote this bot? I take it this account is collecting value also?

How about second layer tokens? Want them too?

!LUV !PIZZA !HUG

Dear @ecency, you just got hugged.
I sent 1.0 HUG on behalf of @consciouscat.
(1/3)

ecency, consciouscat sent you LUV. 🙂 (2/10) tools | trade | connect | daily

Made with LUV by crrdlx.

Black and yellow cockatoos sound uplifting when feeling down, never seen them previously.

Hope the travel was well rewarded, enjoy the new year with family doing what you miss doing and feeling better again.

!LUV happy 2024
!LADY

View or trade LOH tokens.


@joanstewart, you successfully shared 0.1000 LOH with @consciouscat and you earned 0.1000 LOH as tips. (1/13 calls)

Use !LADY command to share LOH! More details available in this post.

consciouscat, joanstewart sent you LUV. 🙂 (4/10) tools | trade | connect | daily

Made with LUV by crrdlx.

Thanks, Joan. I'm glad I could share these beauties with you. Hope your new year has got off to a great start and only gets better from here. !LADY

Take one day at a time as always, have a great 2024!

View or trade LOH tokens.


@consciouscat, you successfully shared 0.1000 LOH with @joanstewart and you earned 0.1000 LOH as tips. (1/2 calls)

Use !LADY command to share LOH! More details available in this post.

You need a break to take quality rest. You are strong 💪

You're so right, @precab. I do need to take quality rest. Thankfully, I slept really well at last night. Fingers crossed I sleep well tonight (and tomorrow night, and...) as well 🤞

Thanks for stopping by!

Oh, and it looks like you're quite new to Hive? Welcome!!!

Have you thought about writing an Introduction post? It's a good way to get started sharing your thoughts, feelings, life with people. It's hard to get upvotes and followers without writing posts! 😉

If you need/want suggestions for how to write your first post, reply to me here. Otherwise, take this as gentle encouragement. I'm cheering for you. You can do it! It so does not need to be perfect, or long, or anything other than you writing something about you and why you're here.

!LUV

precab, consciouscat sent you LUV. 🙂 (5/10) tools | trade | connect | daily

Made with LUV by crrdlx.

Living in the present with gratitude is the art of crafting happiness.

When we are obsessed with our problems we miss so much worthwhile in our present environment. There is always something to be grateful about if we dare to see it.

Hope your stress would go away. And it's nice to see you extracting joy from your present

!HUG
!LUV

Thank you, Wise One. How I wish I could stroll over to your house, have a cup of tea while we chat and give you a giant hug. Ahh, oh well. I'm glad we can connect here via Hive. For that, I am grateful ❤️

!LADY

I am grateful for the connection too. 😘

View or trade LOH tokens.


@consciouscat, you successfully shared 0.1000 LOH with @amberkashif and you earned 0.1000 LOH as tips. (1/2 calls)

Use !LADY command to share LOH! More details available in this post.

Dear @consciouscat, you just got hugged.
I sent 1.0 HUG on behalf of @amberkashif.
(1/3)

consciouscat, amberkashif sent you LUV. 🙂 (2/4) tools | trade | connect | daily

Made with LUV by crrdlx.

!LUV the Black Cockatoos so glad you spotted them
!HUG
!LOL
!ALIVE
!PIZZA

@consciouscat! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @ new.things. (3/10)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want, plus you can win Hive Power (2x 50 HP) and Alive Power (2x 500 AP) delegations (4 weeks), and Ecency Points (4x 50 EP), in our chat every day.

Me too! !LUV
And me too!! !LOL
!HUGS for you :P

new.things, consciouscat sent you LUV. 🙂 (4/10) tools | trade | connect | daily

Made with LUV by crrdlx.

In my past life I was a turtle.
It is slowly coming back to me.

Credit: reddit
@new.things, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of consciouscat

(2/8)
ENTER @WIN.HIVE'S DAILY DRAW AND WIN HIVE!

PIZZA!

$PIZZA slices delivered:
@consciouscat(1/5) tipped @ecency
new.things tipped consciouscat

Congratulations @consciouscat! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You got more than 8500 replies.
Your next target is to reach 8750 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

Hive Power Up Month Challenge - December 2023 Winners List
Be ready for the January edition of the Hive Power Up Month!
Hive Power Up Day - January 1st 2024

Woo. Yay. Cool. Fab. Thanks!

!LOL :P

Seagulls were God's third attempt at creating birds.
The A-gull and B-gull weren't quite right.

Credit: reddit
@hivebuzz, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of consciouscat

(1/8)
Farm LOLZ tokens when you Delegate Hive or Hive Tokens.
Click to delegate: 10 - 20 - 50 - 100 HP

Congratulations @consciouscat! You received a personal badge!

You powered-up at least 10 HIVE on Hive Power Up Day! This entitles you to a level 1 badge.
Participate in the next Power Up Day and try to power-up more HIVE to get a bigger Power-Bee.
May the Hive Power be with you!

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking

Check out our last posts:

Announcing the Winners of HiveBuzz's Yearly Author Badge for 2023!
PUD - PUH - PUM - It's all about to Power Up!
Hive Power Up Month Challenge - December 2023 Winners List

Yes, she did :P

Thanks @hivebuzz. Hope it's been a fabulous start to your year! !LUV !HUG !ALIVE

Dear @hivebuzz, you just got hugged.
I sent 1.0 HUG on behalf of @consciouscat.
(2/3)

hivebuzz, consciouscat sent you LUV. 🙂 (3/10) tools | trade | connect | daily

Made with LUV by crrdlx.

@hivebuzz! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @ consciouscat. (1/10)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want, plus you can win Hive Power (2x 50 HP) and Alive Power (2x 500 AP) delegations (4 weeks), and Ecency Points (4x 50 EP), in our chat every day.

You're welcome @consciouscat!
The HiveBuzz team wishes you all the best for 2024! Have a Happy New Year ✨🥂✨