Reflection Hunters Contest Round 64 - An Unwanted Creature

Hello everyone. I am super glad to be back again and join the RefCon64 or the Reflection Hunters Contest Round 64 hosted by @olgavita. I really missed the fun and excitement. For those who still haven't heard of this contest yet, just click on the link here. You might just find this challenge worth your time and join us next time.

My daughter who works and lives in Germany sent me some photos of an afternoon spring walk she took a couple of weeks ago. There is a park very near her residence called the Schlosspark Bendorf Sayn which features among others a big lagoon or man-made lake which is home to several aquatic animals and feathered creatures. This is her second time to experience the spring season and she is loving it even more than the first time. She is more familiar with the place and can do her walks on her own now.

IMG_20220511_230642.jpg

While she was enjoying the scenic view she noticed something swimming towards the rocks in the middle of the lake.

IMG_20220511_231312.jpg

And upon reaching the rocks, that something stood there as if to dry itself or get a healthy dose of warm afternoon sunlight.

IMG_20220430_140948.jpg

I thought it was a beaver but I was wrong. My daughter said it was a nutria. I immediately looked it up and here's what I discovered.

The nutria (Myocastor coypus), also known as the coypu, is a large, herbivorous, semiaquatic rodent. The Myocastor is now included within Echimyidae, the family of the spiny rats. The nutria lives in burrows alongside stretches of water, and feeds on river plant stems. . . Although it is still hunted for its fur in some regions, its destructive burrowing and feeding habits often bring it into conflict with humans, and it is considered an invasive species. Nutria also transmit various diseases to humans and animals mainly through water contamination. Wikipedia

Wow. I had to remind my daughter to stay clear of the water after reading this. Good thing it swam away after a little while.

Apparently, those rocks are a favorite spot for other inhabitants of the place. Photo below shows another one taking the nutria's place on the rocks to preen herself.

IMG_20220511_231150.jpg

For the contest I am submitting the third photo as my entry.

All for now. Wishing all the other participants good luck in the contest. Thanks to the two pillars of the contest @melinda010100 and @annephilbrick, to the donors and sponsors The Shadow Hunter Community, @seckorama, @ecency.com and @dodovietnam. Without you guys this contest would not be the success that it is today. Keep safe everyone and may peace be with all of you.

Sort:  

hello dear friend @gems.and.cookies good afternoon
What beautiful reflection shots your daughter has achieved, she is very good at taking pictures. I really appreciate that you let us know these beautiful images
have a beautiful afternoon

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Hi @ecency. Been a while but I'm sure glad to see you again. Thanks for the support. Very much appreciated 👍

wOW thise reflections are awesome
and auch a beautiful area
i had never heard if a Nutria

Thanks for joining Wednesday Walk :), I truly enjoy exploring the world virtually each Wednesday seeing walks from all around the globe and feeling I am there and experiencing it all myself, such as I did in your post just now :)

Thanks for the very kind words @tattoodjay. My daughter is sure fortunate to have such a place like this so near her home. And the nutria? First time I heard of it too 😊

Ohh yea she is fortunate indeed

Ohh yea she is fortunate indeed

I thought it was a beaver at first glance but didn’t see the big flat tail. Great scaptures from your daughter.

Very beautiful reflections, and the animals (whatever they are) make them stunning 👍! Thank you @gems.and.cookies for participating in the contest again 💞!