Show Me A Shadow (SMASh) 321 - Proceed With Extreme Caution

Hello Shadow Hunters. Let's welcome back Round 321 of the Show Me A Shadow or SMASh Contest hosted by @melinda010100. If you are fascinated with shadows and, even if you are not, check this challenge out. Click on this link here. Enter the world of shadows and become like us, Shadow Hunters.

Whenever I pass this stretch of street in downtown Davao City at around mid-afternoon, I always delight in the shadows that these pedestrian barriers make. I don't pass here too often but when I do, and it's about 3 in the afternoon, the shadows just seem to appear magically, almost always startling me literally to see them already upon me, as I round the curb which precedes the stretch. But since I am driving and, more often than not, in moving traffic, I cannot stop to take pictures. But, I enjoy the shadows quite a lot and have made a resolve to somehow take pictures of them the next time I pass to no avail. Since I don't pass here often, the times that I do I usually have forgetten about the shadows until I see them and I realize that I missed my chance to capture them. Darn.

But this particular sunny afternoon, I had to pass by the same street on the way to a client. I suddenly remembered the shadows. I immediately took out my phone, turned on the camera, positioned it in front of my windshield, checked the display on my phone's screen that I was aiming the camera correctly, all these while the car was moving. Talk of multitasking. I drove a bit slower so I will have time and space to photograph the shadows which I know were just around the curb. A vehicle cut me and I suddenly realized if I stay too close to him, his car will obstruct the shadows. I drove even slower so he can move farther away. A honk from behind told me the driver behind wanted me to go faster. I ignored him. Nothing's gonna stop me from capturing these shadows.

And finally, there they were. The shadows! I created enough distance between the front vehicle and mine and I had a clear shot. I clicked but did not realize the sun's glare after the curb was going to make it impossible to see if my focus was correct. So I just aimed my camera in the direction of the shadows, fired away and hoped for the best. I must have taken a dozen shots but upon checking these are the the only ones that made it.

Rounding the curb.

1000001567.jpg
Please note the top most part of the railing which also follows the curb. There are decorative shrubs planted along the island which can be seen clearly as dark patches breaking the fence's shadow.

After the curb.

1000001568.jpg
I would just like to point out the shadows of the electical lines on the right side of this photo. Those electrical wires are actually located, and can be seen, on the left side.

The final stretch and my entry to this Round.

1000001569.jpg

I think I should put up a warning sign here that says: "Don't do this while driving. Extremely dangerous." 😂 But since this was the only way that I could think of to picture the shadow I'll change the sign to: "When SMAShing, always proceed with extreme caution."

And that's it folks. Hope you like this SMAShing adventure. Best of luck to all participants. Have yourselves a blessed week ahead and remember, always proceed with caution in everything you do.

(All photos are mine. )

Sort:  

@annephilbrick 's saying should be plastered across your back window!

!LADY

Hahaha Perfect! Just what the doctor ordered! The one I have plastered at my back window are the Fab Four - John, Paul, George and Ringo. My all time fave. But I will definitely not mind that one being plastered as well. Good one! 🤣

🤣👍😎

🙌😊🫶
We dearly want all our awesome and wonderful Shadow Hunters to be safe ❤️
@melinda010100
Please ⤵️
BRAKE FOR SHADOWS
❤️

Hahaha I was ready to brake at any time during the hunt. No worries. Hahaha.

We should have a moderator's warning in the contest post: Warning ⚠️ Could be hazardous to one's health. Exercise extreme caution!

I love the "Brake for shadow" quip. Brilliant. 🥰

Good morning dear friend @gems.and.cookies
You are a skilled shadow hunter, taking these shots is great movement. Beautiful shots, appreciate you sharing this experience.
Happy start to the week

Thank you so much 😊 I don't think I will ever try anything like this again 😅 Have a great week ahead.

We much enjoy seeing all the fantastic Shadow photos entries !
But we dearly want all our Shadow Hunters to be safe..🙌😊🫶
@gems.and.cookies
Thank you for sharing..!

Hahaha What's a hunt for if there is no danger involved? But kidding aside, I realized after how foolhardy that thing I did was. Rest assured, I'll be hunting much safer game from here on. 😂

It is always a pleasure to be able to share here. Thanks for the opportunity 😊