SMASh 189 (Show Me A Shadow Round 189) - Metal On Wood

Hello everyone. I did not realize it but SMASh 188 just whizzed by without me knowing it and SMASh 189 is also about to end without me entering it yet. Wow! Where did all the time go? Am just glad I can submit an entry for this awesome challenge, SMASh (Show Me A Shadow), hosted by the tireless and most energetic @melinda010100. The contest post can be found here for those who are still unaware of this exciting contest. Read up and be a Shadow Hunter too. (WARNING: This can be habit-forming.)

I was sitting in the living room one night when I noticed a shadow that piqued my interest. I went closer to examine it and at that point, I knew I had an entry for SMASh 189!

IMG_20210929_144555.jpg

This shadow was from the wrought iron brace of one of our table stands. This particular stand is being used as an altar in the main living room.

IMG_20210929_145018.jpg

The wood top of the stand is a tropical hardwood specie called Molave (Vitex parviflora). It is known for its strength and resiliency! It is also classified as an endangered species as this is a favorite of loggers because of its high price especially in the international market. I saw it being used as scaffold by carpenters when I had our house renovated. I immediately took it and made a stand out of it with metal support and wrought iron braces.

Another photo of the altar and the wood stand.
IMG_20210929_151221.jpg

Here are other shadow captures of the wrought iron braces.

IMG_20210929_144733.jpg

IMG_20210929_144905.jpg

IMG_20210929_144921.jpg

It's really a marvel at how wood and metal can be made into something practical and aesthetic at the same time.

And that's it for this Round. Thanks for visiting. Good luck to all the other participants. Keep safe and healthy everyone!

(All photos are mine.)

Sort:  

Nice catch. I love how you were able to capture double the shadow of the iron braces. Lovely table you made with the rare wood.🌺

Thanks @redheadpei. The double shadow looks real cool, doesn't it? That piece of rare wood was a lucky find. It was really so dirty while they were using it as a scaffold. I just noticed the streaks of black running along the wood's grain which made me curious. And voila!

Thanks for the visit and the appreciative response 🤗

Most welcome @gems.and.cookies. Good eye to spot the valuable wood.👁🤗

What gorgeous shadows and I love that it is a double shadow! How observant you are to find that piece of wood to create that beautiful table. The weeks do fly past, don't they? Thanks for entering the Shadow Contest again, my dear friend! ❤️

Always a pleasure to be entering SMASh 🥰🤗😊