REFLECTION HUNTERS CONTEST ENTRY – IRIDESCENT EFFECT

in Shadow Hunters3 years ago

REFLECTION HUNTERS CONTEST ENTRY – IRIDESCENT EFFECT

These photos are self-portrait reflections in an old convex glass magnifier rescued from a magnification lamp. The piece of glass is four inches in diameter. This particular one is rather unusual due to the iridescent effect present within the glass, which does not occur in another smaller one that I have. I discovered this effect when I played around with both of them in the sunlight. I’m always experimenting to see what I can create, so this was another one of my experiments.

Since I’m positioned intentionally behind the camera for any self-portraits, the camera mostly obscures my face. This particular time, I used a Herkimer Diamond crystal to obscure both my face and the camera. I positioned the crystal behind the magnifier glass and further away, which created a softer, fuzzy effect. The magnifier glass I held in one hand, while I held the camera in the other to take the shots. These were very precarious to line up to shoot. It was an act of balance and timing, while not falling off a balcony.😀

IRIDESCENT EFFECT I
01_Iridescent Effect.jpg

IRIDESCENT EFFECT II
02_Iridescent Effect.jpg

IRIDESCENT EFFECT III
03_Iridescent Effect.jpg

All photos taken by Nine with a Pentax digital 35mm camera and Tamron 90mm macro lens.

Sort:  

A most Wonderful selection of Reflection photos...!!
@nineclaws
🤗
points-tip.png

Thank you so much @annephilbrick! It was a very fun accidental discovery. 😄

Nice shots :D I def love the overall iridescent effect in all of them, but my fav is the first one :D and ur haaiiirr waaaa 💙

Thank you @ailindigo! My fav is also the first one. Yes, my hair, lololol, freshly relieved of 4 1/2" 🤣

Congratulations @nineclaws! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published more than 10 posts.
Your next target is to reach 20 posts.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Feedback from the April 1st Hive Power Up Day