Contest Entry: Robin Shadow Watcher

in Shadow Hunters3 years ago

The Spring season has finally come to my neck of the woods and, with the warmer weather, the robins have returned again from their winter sojourn Down South to spend the next five or six months on P.E.I.

I looked out to see a couple robins staring at the shadows made by the trees on the back lawn..


1E287338-7D63-4569-B614-0799D95A1BB6.jpeg



Are they fascinated by the shadows or have they stopped to listen for any angle worms moving under the soil?

Robins continually patrol up and down the lawn in search of the their favorite meal of the angle worms.



7A644008-BFE7-4641-A40F-561638F56BC8.jpeg



More tree shadows on the same lawn.

Shadow of the Pine Tree.


4AA9998D-3A23-49EF-9F91-E9680E4CD51A.jpeg




7BF5B100-B4F7-46F5-8DCA-72AB5578FE12.jpeg



Shadow of two young spruce trees.


C15D69C0-A98C-436B-9407-91E35CA8C7DC.jpeg



Location: Prince Edward Island, Canada.

All photos are my own taken with Canon EOS Rebel T6.
All Right Reserved unless with my permission


This is my entry to the OCD Community Boost Contest highlighting the Shadow Hunters Community with #yourdayinshadows. For more information about the contest check Here.


2B49B85BBB104059A5BA62E3302F27A0.png
Banner created by @barbara-orenya


aisrfr.png
Banner created by @barbara-orenya


C8B9872F37224573B27FBEEAD57DB90A.jpeg

Sort:  

Me encantan las sombras de los árboles @redheadpei, suspiros que llenan el alma de esperanzas.

Thanks @lisfabian. I’m happy you loved the shadows.

Blessings!🌺

Pretty shadows with robin hunting, @redheadpei! I never can approach them close enough... It looks loke you had a lovely day!

Thanks @olgavita.

Have a great day!🌸

It is so nice to see spring photos from you. ☺

Thanks so much @hive-179017 for the ecency points.🌸

Good morning @redheadpei, I just love when the robins come back. They are all over the place, saw some fat ones getting ready to lay some eggs I am sure. Caught a few carrying some hay and whatnot, building nests. I am hoping to find a nest to photograph them in and out of their little blue eggs.
Very nice post, love the spruce tree shadow.
Hope you are well, good luck in this awesome contest.

Hi @farm-mom and thanks for your lovely comment and reblog. These robins look quite thin yet. It’s probably from their long flight back here. It would be nice to find their nest and capture photos.

I am well and hope you are too. 🌺

@redheadpei great entry.all shadow picture & palce is very nice.I like your shadow photo.

Thanks so much @sumaiya777. I’m glad you liked the photos.

Be well and safe.🌸

@redheadpei welcome dear.Have a great day. ✌️✌️

Hello dear friend @redheadpei good morning
What a thrill it must be to see them arrive at these beautiful specimens, robins beautify our gardens with their beauty.
What a good collection of shadow images that you give us on this occasion. Thank you
I take this opportunity to wish you a splendid day.

Hi @jlufer. It is always a joy to see the lovely robins return.

Thanks for your nice comment and support.

Have a lovely evening. ☀️

At first I thought "hey, that's a Blackbird", but then I remembered that your Robins look very different from ours, and then I also saw the orange chest 😊
Blackbirds can hear the worms digging through the soil, I am sure you are right and the Robins can hear that too - cool observation Jo 👍😃


!PIZZA with !BEER or with !WINE - I !LUV such a perfect dinner :)
!invest_vote

Hi Hannes, The grackles have also returned. Two come each year and make a nest in the cedar tree. They are a blackbird with shiny iridescent purplish feathers on the head. They are bigger than the ordinary blackbird and have a bad reputation for invading other birds nests and eating the young. Good there are only two. Last year I saw a squirrel invading their nest. He knocked a baby out of the nest and I set it back in the tree when I saw it on the ground.

Thanks for reblog, generosity and goodies Hannes. 🌺 I’m enjoying the dinner.:)

Good morning Jo,

I think I remember you telling these things about the grackles. Sometimes I wonder why animals do things they do, but it's all just nature - only we humans do everything different.

Yesterday we had a little bit of rain, but the weatherman says the Spring is coming now with warm weather and sunshine 🌞 she has found a bridge over the river 😃

You're most welcome as always, dear Jo, wish you a wonderful Wednesday 🤗🌞


!BEER and !WINE and !PIZZA - perfect breakfast 🤣
!invest_vote

Connect

Trade


@redheadpei! I sent you a slice of $PIZZA on behalf of @johannpiber.

Learn more about $PIZZA Token at hive.pizza

@johannpiber denkt du hast ein Vote durch @investinthefutur verdient!
@johannpiber thinks you have earned a vote of @investinthefutur !


Hey @redheadpei, here is a little bit of BEER from @johannpiber for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

Connect

Trade


@redheadpei! I sent you a slice of $PIZZA on behalf of @johannpiber.

Learn more about $PIZZA Token at hive.pizza

It's so wonderful when our summer birds begin to return, isn't it? Great tree shadow photos! Thanks for entering the OCD Shadow Contest!

Yes, It is great seeing the birds return. I’m expecting the hummingbirds soon.

Thanks and for all you do Melinda @melinda010100 ...and for the ecency points.

Have a lovely evening.🌺

How wonderful ... a bird!!!
The photos of trees with shadows are great!

Have a lovely day, @redheadpei!

Thanks @silversaver888! I appreciate your visit.

Have a great evening.🌸

Prince Edward Island, Canada is sure looking warm!

Yes finally.:) After the winter I eagerly await the warmer weather.🌻☀️

To the energetic explorers–the bold, brave and daring. To those who leap at the chance to make each day more invigorating than the last. This is your Island. A breathtaking destination, filled with wandering trails, endless beaches and unique experiences everywhere you look. Pack your gear and your curiosity. Come find Prince Edward Island.
It must be beautiful!!!

🌸😊👍

Your post is reblogged and upvoted by me. It is a good post. Thank you @redheadpei

Thanks @optimusre. Much appreciated.🌸

I love whem the robins return! Our always return too early, usually when its the beginning of February and sometimes it snows.

We didn't have snow this year, so much better for them.

I love watching them hop through the yard. I wasn't sure what worm they were listening for, but they caught one, every time.

I have a nest beong built in thd cherry tree, what a beautiful place to have a home!

I was glad to see the end of the snow Denise. You were lucky ...no shovelling or plowing the driveway.

You weather is ahead of mine. the robins just came back in April. Robins are a beautiful bird and keep their own council, hopping along searching for those earth worms. They must have fabulous hearing to hear a worm moving beneath the soil.

A cherry tree would be an excellent place for their home. I did see a nest in the birch tree but it’s too high up to know when eggs are in it.🌸

I cannit believe the nest is low enough for me to use a step stool!

Of course, i have a swallow in my maibox, already building a nest. In the newspaper part of it.

I hope you are able to capture some photos of the eggs and baby birds.
Last year a sparrow built a nest in the eaves of the house. I see she is around again but don't know where the nest will be. We had to remove the nest from the eaves after the babies left.

I sure am going to try. The duck is a little skittish but I got a few shots of her eggs. I put them in my post last night. Pretty exciting. Right under a pine branch that sweeps the ground. I found it on mistake when I spooked her.

Twelve big duck eggs. :)) Right in the front yard.

I just read your post where you found the duck’s eggs. That’s a great feeling to see nature at work.

I was so excited about it. Right in the front yard! I hope I catch the little ducklings before they waddle across the street to the water!

Great entry. This reminds me of a nursery song I am sure you're familiar with. Here's the first part.

Little Robin Redbreast sat upon a rail.
Niddle noddle went his head, wiggle waggle went his tail.
Little Robin Redbreast came to visit me.
This is what he whistled, “Thank you for the tea.”

Wishing you only the best on this challenge. Keep safe.

Thanks @gems.and.cookies and for your good wishes.

That’s a cute nursery song about Robin redbreast. I never heard it before but like it.

Be well and safe.🌺

@johannpiber denkt du hast ein Vote durch @investinthefutur verdient!
@johannpiber thinks you have earned a vote of @investinthefutur !

Hi @redheadpei, you were just shared some LUV thanks to @johannpiber. Having at least 5 LUV in your wallet enables you to give up to 3 LUV per day, for free. See the LUV tokens in your wallet at https://hive-engine.com or learn about LUV at https://peakd.com/@luvshares https://ipfs.io/ipfs/QmUptF5k64xBvsQ9B6MjZo1dc2JwvXTWjWJAnyMCtWZxqM


Hey @redheadpei, here is a little bit of BEER from @johannpiber for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

I would so enjoy seeing red robins Jo, but sadly live in the wrong hemisphere. I did have a little giggle hearing about your cool spring, it is so much colder than our autumn day here at the Sunshine coast at the moment. I so love the cooler weather! Blessings🙏

Seeing the robins come back always brings me joy Angie. Besides enjoying the birds searching the lawn for earthworms, their return signals the cold weather is coming to an end. I'm sorry you don't have them down under but you have many amazing birds.

Blessings!