Spooky Season Jewelry Presents

in Hobbies and Nobbies2 years ago (edited)

A member of one of my weekly game groups has a birthday this month, and her macabre aesthetics suit spooky season, so I took advantage of a 60% off sale on beads at Joann Fabrics to buy some supplies and make some suitable fashion accessories.

There are similarities and differences with these designs. Both feature a center pendant, beads strung on beading wire, and crimp beads hidden under crimp bead covers. The details differ a lot, though.

pumpkins.jpg

This first set includes a pair of earrings and a necklace. They don't show up well in this photo, but there are green Swarovski crystals as part of the design. Crimp beads and crimp bead covers allow connection to prefabricated chain, and I used a lobster claw style clasp. This set features a black nickel finish on all metal components.

But jack-o'-lantern pumpkin grins aren't spooky or whimsical enough. No, we're gonna take it up a notch!

skulls.jpg

That's right, skulls with a rainbow array of beads! One pendant skull is topped with a red bead, and other skulls to each side have orange, pale yellow, green, blue, and purple beads with tiny metal spacers as extra embellishment. I used leather cord and silvery cord ends plus a toggle clasp.

I think this quirky blend will probably be her favorite, and definitely is less obviously Halloween-themed, so we'll see what her reaction is this Saturday. Well, unless she suddenly decides to use the HIVE account @generikat and I helped her set up, and she reads this, and spoils this part of the surprise. If so, there's still one more thing not shown here.

HIVE | PeakD | Ecency

If you're not on Hive yet, I invite you to join through PeakD. If you use my referral link, I'll even delegate some Hive Power to help you get started.

Sort:  

Surprisingly I can see the green in the necklace! I think in sunlight the green and orange will be way more vibrant. Gives the illusion that the lantern is glowing.

The green bead is a tiny bicone at the top of the pumpkin where the stem would be. Unfortunately, the photos that caught the light well were also out of focus. I may try again later and edit in the detail.

Oo, I get what you where trying to do. I would definitely not have thought about that 😅

The month of the Hallows!!!

That's quite neat my guy! I do like the pumpkins with the black chain a lot.

I'm sure she will like it a lot!

You should make another post then sharing her reactions with us as well as the one necklace you didn't share in this post. That's assuming it's a necklace of course.

It isn't a necklace.

EDIT: It was a small insulated travel mug with a Halloween-themed design.

I'll be checking out your page soon enough. not sure if you shared it yet.

Listen I want to hold a small competition giveaway for the Hobbies community. Would you like to be some sort of a judge?

Also may I add you to the group as a moderator or curator of some sort? Only if you might be interested?

The macabre aesthetics suit spooky season or she has macabre aesthetics because of the coincidental birthday? :D

They're both cute but I have to say I do like the skull one better XD

Are you doing to do a reaction post? :)

No, I don't plan a reaction post. I already know Generikat's present will please her more. :D