You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A Little Blue Book: The Story of Friedrich Nietzsche's Philosophy, by Will Durant

in Hive Book Clublast year

philosophy is all around us.

Yes! They are just people, people who thought (think) a lot about things. As you can see from Nietzsche's story, they were flawed, as we are. I just learned yesterday that Rousseau had five children. All of them he placed in orphanages--he abandoned them!!! I used to think he was a great thinker. Now I don't regard him at all with respect.

You can be your own philosopher, although it does help to read other people's ideas (I like William James somewhat).

I have never studied philosophy in depth. Just a dilettante:)

Thanks for visiting, reading, and thoughtfully commenting. Have great week, @kemmyb