[ESP-ENG] El sabueso de los Baskervilles: Entre el misterio y lo paranormal - The Hound of the Baskervilles: Between Mystery and the Paranormal

Mi primo es un amante de las novelas misteriosas; a él le debo mi nueva incursión por este género. Resulta ser que estaba yo con unas enormes ganas de leer un buen misterio, o sea, una historia de esas que te convierten en un detective, te contagian párrafo a párrafo y te permiten sacar conclusiones sobre supuestos sospechosos. Mi librería electrónica solo me recomienda historias contemporáneas, y sinceramente, ninguna son buenas quizás porque gran parte de ellas son juveniles y tienen que ver con gente millonaria (Misteriosos y millonarios asesinos ¡qué tontería!) LOL. Así que, agobiado, le pedí algunas recomendaciones a mi primo, y él me dijo sin vacilo:

My cousin is a lover of mystery novels; I owe him my new foray into this genre. It turns out that I was really looking forward to reading a good mystery, that is, one of those stories that turns you into a detective, infects you paragraph by paragraph and allows you to draw conclusions about suspected suspects. My electronic bookstore only recommends me contemporary stories, and honestly, none of them are good, maybe because most of them are juvenile and have to do with millionaire people (Mysterious and millionaire murderers, what nonsense!) LOL. So, overwhelmed, I asked my cousin for some recommendations, and he told me without hesitation:

“Lee El Sabueso de los Baskerville y luego me dices que te pareció”

"Read The Hound of the Baskervilles and then tell me what you thought of him"

jpg_20220318_202050_0000.jpg
Diseño en Canva - Desing in Canva

Seré honesto: superó todas mis expectativas. Por primera vez (¡y al fin!) conocí al incisivo y peculiarmente curioso “ Sherlock Holmes” el detective más amado del siglo XIX. Y sí, eso significa que tampoco me vi las películas del Holmes, de lo contrario ya me hubiera comprado todos sus libros. ¡Menudo idiota he sido! Todo este tiempo me había perdido una de los mejores clásicos del misterio detectivesco. Bueno, es que suelo ser un lector un poco sosegado, es decir: no hago caso a los que otros dicen hasta que lo compruebo. Esta vez lo comprobé.

I'll be honest: he exceeded all my expectations. For the first time (and finally!) I met the incisive and peculiarly curious “Sherlock Holmes”, the most beloved detective of the 19th century. And yes, that means I didn't see the Holmes movies either, otherwise I would have already bought all his books. What an idiot I have been! All this time I had missed one of the best detective mystery classics. Well, it's just that I'm usually a somewhat calm reader, that is to say: I don't pay attention to what others say until I check it out. This time I checked.

¿Pero que tenemos en todo este lio del Sabueso de los Baskerville? Principalmente un gran misterio, uno que mezcla lo paranormal y las leyendas de venganza, pero con suficientes argumentos que nos hacen dudar de lo sobrenatural, pues en la historia el asesino es, o al menos eso parece, un sabueso demoniaco que persigue el linaje de una familia, en este caso los “Baskerville” ¡Por eso el titulo!. Entonces este perro del inframundo anda por ahí haciendo de las suyas, asustando a la gente del pueblo pero sobretodo anhelando acabar con él último heredero vivo de lo Baskerville. Al otro lo asesinaron.

But what do we have in all this mess of the Hound of the Baskervilles? Mainly a great mystery, one that mixes the paranormal and the legends of revenge, but with enough arguments that make us doubt the supernatural, because in the story the murderer is, or so it seems, a demonic hound that pursues the lineage of a family, in this case the "Baskervilles" Hence the title!. So this dog from the underworld is out there doing his thing, scaring the townspeople but above all longing to finish off the last living heir to the Baskervilles. The other was murdered.

¿Quién era ese otro? Pues como soy un lector generoso, los pondré en contexto, sin ánimos de spoiler para los que aun no leen esta buena novela. Bien, todo comienza (porque las cosas comienzan de alguna forma) con la muerte de Charles Baskerville en un páramo al que la familia considera “maldito”. Resulta ser que tiempo atrás un Baskerville quiso abusar de una mujer, y al acorralarla en ese dichoso “páramo” un sabueso encendido en fuego le cortó la garganta. Ese fue el inicio de una maldición que, aparentemente, terminó llevando a la tumba a “Charles”, cuyo asesinato parece estar ligado al perro de la leyenda.

Who was that other? Well, as I am a generous reader, I will put them in context, without spoiler spirits for those who have not yet read this good novel. Well, it all starts (because things start somehow) with the death of Charles Baskerville in a wasteland that the family considers "cursed". It turns out that some time ago a Baskerville wanted to abuse a woman, and when cornering her in that happy "wasteland" a hound on fire slit her throat. That was the beginning of a curse that apparently ended up taking "Charles" to the grave, whose murder seems to be linked to the dog of the legend.

¿Interesante no? O sea, el contexto es alucinante: un sabueso paranormal que defendió a una mujer y que empezó a perseguir a todos los integrantes de la familia del abusador para asesinarlos. Todos parecen creerlo menos nuestro queridísimo amigo Sherlock Holmes, quien ha decidió investigar el caso para poner a salvo a Sir Henry Baskerville, quien es el único integrante de la familia que no ha caído en las garras de ese sabueso misterioso. El Doctor Watson, el mejor amigo de Holmes, decide acompañarlo a descubrir la verdad tras el terrorífico enigma que acosa a Henry. Las pistas parecen complejas de descifrar y los sospechosos tiene un haz bajo la manga. Tanto Watson como Holmes están de acuerdo con algo: Henry puede ser asesinado en cualquier momento.

Interesting, right? In other words, the context is amazing: a paranormal hound who defended a woman and who began to persecute all the members of the abuser's family to kill them. Everyone seems to believe it except our dearest friend Sherlock Holmes, who has decided to investigate the case to save Sir Henry Baskerville, who is the only member of the family who has not fallen into the clutches of that mysterious hound. Doctor Watson, Holmes's best friend, decides to accompany him to discover the truth behind the terrifying enigma that haunts Henry. The clues seem complex to decipher and the suspects have a trick up their sleeve. Both Watson and Holmes agree on one thing: Henry can be killed at any time.

La novela me la leí apasionadamente en tan solo una semana, pero me costó muchísimo por la variedad de escenarios y personajes que inflaron todo el misterio de los Baskerville. El autor detrás de esta obra se llama Arthur Doyle, y debo admitir que este hombre sabe cómo crear incertidumbre y ansiedad en sus lectores. Lo digo por experiencia propia, o sea, el chaval me tenia comiéndome las uñas párrafo tras párrafo, hasta ese final que me dejó boquiabierta.

I passionately read the novel in just one week, but it cost me a lot because of the variety of settings and characters that inflated the entire mystery of the Baskervilles. The author behind this work is called Arthur Doyle, and I must admit that this man knows how to create uncertainty and anxiety in his readers. I say this from my own experience, that is, the kid had me biting my nails paragraph after paragraph, until that end that left me speechless.

Watson y Holmes hacen una increíble pareja del misterio, parecen Batman y Robín pero al estilo de los detectives. Me fascinó esa esencia oscura y fantasmal de la escritura, cuyo narrador testigo, vociferado por Watson, va describiendo la atmosfera bajo el cuestionamiento. Fueron 15 capítulos a mi parecer cortos, pero todos buenos. El final me gustó, aunque mis expectativas quedaron un poco cortas. Sea como sea, se las recomiendo. Es una buena novela para pasar la noche con un buen té de manzanilla; eso para relajar los nervios jajaja.

Watson and Holmes make an incredible mystery couple, they look like Batman and Robin but in the style of detectives. I was fascinated by that dark and ghostly essence of writing, whose witness narrator, shouted by Watson, describes the atmosphere under questioning. It was 15 chapters in my opinion short, but all good. I liked the ending, although my expectations were a bit short. Either way, I recommend it. It is a good novel to spend the night with a good chamomile tea; that to relax the nerves hahaha.

Puntuación Final

Score


4.5/ 5



Photo_1616740490105.png

Sort:  


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the person sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

This was a thorough review and thanks for sharing this! this has been included in our highlight #85! check our account to see it.