Book review : The Housemaid written by Freida McFadden [EN/FR]

in Hive Book Club ‱ 13 days ago

Book review.png (illustration made with Canva by myself)

Hello reading enthusiasts! 👋

Since January 2023, I have started reading again and since then, I have loved it! I read between 4 and 6 books per month. 📖

I mostly read romance and new romance. And yet, before, a few years ago, I read a lot of psychological thrillers and I loved them!

For Christmas, I received the book “The Housemaid” by Freida McFadden as a gift. I had already heard about it many times on social networks, notably on Instagram and BookTok (on TikTok). Many said it was a gem of a book, with an unexpected twist and suspense that we love! So, I was really, really looking forward to reading it. And it’s done! 😄

So here is my first book review. 👇

đŸ”č Synopsis :

The Housemaid (in French it’s “La Femme de MĂ©nage”) is the story of Millie Calloway, a young woman who has not always had luck in life and who struggles to find work. When the opportunity to work as a housemaid for a wealthy New York family presents itself, she seizes this unexpected chance to turn her life around.

Millie is grateful for this second chance, but she quickly discovers that not everything is as perfect as it seems in the house where she works. Nina Winchester, his boss, is unstable, angry and toxic. Little Cecelia is suspicious, capricious and unpredictable. Only Mr. Winchester is attentive and charming.

The secrets and mysteries surrounding the family she works for begin to emerge quite quickly. And Millie finds herself drawn into a dangerous game where appearances are deceiving. She must navigate lies and manipulation to discover the truth before it is too late.

đŸ”čWhat I thought of the book :

I literally devoured this book. I read it in a few hours, I was so caught up in the story, I wanted to know the rest, the outcome, to understand... I really enjoyed my reading and I didn't have the time to bore me!

From the prologue, and the first chapters, we are put in the mood: strange events, strange reactions, inappropriate behavior... We are already starting to ask ourselves questions. The plot is truly captivating! 😄

I loved the character of Millie, she is a courageous woman, who wants to get out of trouble and who is ready to do anything to do so. She accepts being belittled and humiliated to find a place in society. And for that alone, I admire her. đŸ„°

Apart from Millie, I found that the characters of Nina and Andrew were also well developed. Especially Nina's character. She is a complex character, whom I hated and found very unpleasant at times. But deep down, I really wanted to understand the reason for her behavior (so you could say I became attached to her in a way).

The book is divided into three parts: the first part reveals Millie's point of view, the second finally reveals Nina's point of view. Besides, I loved this change of point of view, which really gives a rhythm to the book!

And the third part (which is the shortest), reveals everyone’s secrets and the outcome of the story. Besides, what an outcome! Revelations and twists and turns await you.

What I really liked about reading this book was the mix of emotions I felt: anxiety, fear, apprehension, worry, excitement... I wasn't bored for a single second.

đŸ”č My rating :

⭐⭐⭐⭐, 5 / 5 (4,5/5)

Why not 5/5? Quite simply, because after having seen videos or articles on this book, I was expecting a great plot twist, so before even arriving at the ending, I had already imagined several scenarios in my head, including one which looked a lot like the one in the book. I wasn't as surprised as I thought I would be (but that's my fault, I shouldn't have watched so much content around this book).

đŸ”č And what's next ?

I know there is a second book, called 'The Housemaid's Secrets.' It was released in France in October 2023, but in paperback format. However, I am one of those slightly annoying people who don't want to buy the sequel to a book if it is not in the same format. And since I have the first book in pocket format, I want to wait for the pocket format of the second book (which will probably be released at the end of 2024).

In truth, I don't know if I will buy and read the sequel. Even though the epilogue makes you want to read the next book, I'm a little afraid of being disappointed because I'm not sure I'll find the element of surprise that I really enjoyed in the first book.

Well, maybe out of curiosity, I'll read it anyway. If I do, I'll write a review. 😉

I discovered the author Freida McFadden with The Housemaid, and I found her style quite interesting. I really want to discover other books by this author. By the way, I saw that she wrote “Never lie”, another psychological thriller. Have you read it? What did you think of it?

đŸ”č Conclusion :

And you? Have you read this book? What did you think of it? Did you enjoy your reading?

And by the way, do you have any psychological thrillers in the same genre to recommend to me? đŸ€—

See you soon,
Johanna

PS: For the English part, I tried to translate it myself, but I also used Google Translate and Deepl.

Version française

Revue livresque : La Femme de MĂ©nage Ă©crit par Freida McFadden

Book review (1).png (illustration faite avec Canva par moi-mĂȘme)

Salut les passionnĂ©s de lecture ! 👋

Depuis janvier 2023, je me suis remise à la lecture et depuis, j’adore ça ! Je lis entre 4 et 6 livres par mois. 📖

Je lis surtout de la romance et newromance. Et pourtant, avant, il y a quelques annĂ©es, je lisais Ă©normĂ©ment de thriller psychologique et j’adorais ça !

Pour NoĂ«l, j’ai reçu comme cadeau, le livre “La femme de mĂ©nage” de Freida McFadden. J’en avais dĂ©jĂ  entendu parler de nombreuses fois sur les rĂ©seaux sociaux, notamment sur Instagram et BookTok (sur TikTok). Beaucoup disaient que c’était un livre pĂ©pite, avec un retournement de situation inattendu et du suspens comme on les aime ! Alors, j’avais vraiment vraiment hĂąte de le lire. Et c’est chose faite ! 😄

Alors voici ma premiùre revue de livre 👇

đŸ”čSynopsis :

La Femme de MĂ©nage, c’est l’histoire de Millie Calloway, une jeune femme qui n’a pas toujours eu de chance dans la vie et qui peine Ă  trouver un travail. Lorsque l'opportunitĂ© de travailler comme femme de mĂ©nage pour une riche famille New-Yorkaise se prĂ©sente, elle saisit cette chance inespĂ©rĂ©e de redresser sa vie.

Millie est reconnaissante pour cette seconde chance, mais elle dĂ©couvre rapidement que tout n'est pas aussi parfait qu'il n'y paraĂźt dans la maison oĂč elle travaille. Nina Winchester, sa patronne, est instable, colĂ©rique et toxique. La petite Cecelia est mĂ©fiante, capricieuse et imprĂ©visible. Il n’y a que M. Winchester qui se montre attentionnĂ© et charmant.

Les secrets et les mystĂšres qui entourent la famille pour laquelle elle travaille commencent Ă  Ă©merger assez rapidement. Et Millie se retrouve entraĂźnĂ©e dans un jeu dangereux oĂč les apparences sont trompeuses. Elle doit naviguer entre les mensonges et les manipulations pour dĂ©couvrir la vĂ©ritĂ© avant qu'il ne soit trop tard.

đŸ”čCe que j’ai pensĂ© du livre :

J’ai littĂ©ralement dĂ©vorĂ© ce livre. Je l’ai lu en quelques heures, tellement j’étais prise dans l’histoire, j’avais envie de connaĂźtre la suite, le dĂ©nouement, de comprendre
 J’ai vraiment apprĂ©ciĂ© ma lecture et je n’ai pas eu le temps de m’ennuyer !

DĂšs le prologue, et les premiers chapitres, nous sommes mis dans l’ambiance : Ă©vĂ©nements Ă©tranges, rĂ©actions Ă©tranges, comportements inappropriĂ©s
 On commence dĂ©jĂ  Ă  se poser des questions. L’intrigue est vraiment captivante ! 😄

J’ai adorĂ© le personnage de Millie, c’est une femme courageuse, qui a envie de s’en sortir et qui est prĂȘte Ă  tout pour ça. Elle accepte de se faire rabaisser et d’ĂȘtre humiliĂ©e pour se faire une place dans la sociĂ©tĂ©. Et rien que pour cela, je l’admire. đŸ„°

En-dehors de Millie, j'ai trouvĂ© que les personnages de Nina et Andrew Ă©taient Ă©galement bien dĂ©veloppĂ©s. Surtout le personnage de Nina. C’est un personnage complexe, que j’ai dĂ©testĂ© et trouvĂ© trĂšs dĂ©sagrĂ©able Ă  certains moments. Mais au fond de moi, j’avais trĂšs envie de comprendre la raison de son comportement (donc on peut dire que je m’y suis attachĂ© d’une certaine maniĂšre).

Le livre est divisĂ© en trois parties : la premiĂšre partie nous dĂ©voile le point de vue de Millie, la deuxiĂšme nous dĂ©voile enfin le point de vue de Nina. D’ailleurs, j'ai adorĂ© ce changement de point de vue, qui donne vraiment un rythme au livre !

Et la troisiĂšme partie (qui est la plus courte), nous dĂ©voile les secrets de chacun et le dĂ©nouement de l’histoire. D’ailleurs, quel dĂ©nouement ! RĂ©vĂ©lations et retournement de situation sont au rendez-vous.

Ce que j’ai beaucoup aimĂ© dans la lecture de ce livre, c’est le mĂ©lange d’émotion que j’ai ressenti : angoisse, peur, apprĂ©hension, inquiĂ©tude, excitation
 Je ne me suis pas ennuyĂ©e une seule seconde.

đŸ”čMa note :

⭐⭐⭐⭐, 5 / 5 (4,5/5)

Pourquoi pas 5/5 ? Tout simplement, car Ă  force d’avoir vu des vidĂ©os ou articles sur ce livre, je m’attendais Ă  un super plot twist, donc avant mĂȘme d’arriver au dĂ©nouement, j’avais dĂ©jĂ  imaginĂ© plusieurs scĂ©narios dans ma tĂȘte dont un qui ressemblait beaucoup Ă  celui du livre. Je n’ai pas Ă©tĂ© aussi surprise que je le pensais (mais c’est de ma faute, je n’aurai pas dĂ» regarder autant de contenu autour de ce livre).

đŸ”čEt la suite ?

Je sais qu’il existe un tome 2, il s’appelle “Les secrets de la femme de mĂ©nage”. Il est sorti en France en octobre 2023, mais en format brochĂ©. Cependant, je fais partie de ces personnes un peu Ă©nervantes, qui ne veulent pas acheter la suite d’un livre, si celui-ci n’est pas dans le mĂȘme format. Et comme j’ai le tome 1 en format poche, je souhaite attendre le format poche du tome 2 (qui sortira sĂ»rement Ă  la fin de l’annĂ©e 2024).

En vĂ©ritĂ©, je ne sais pas si je vais acheter et lire la suite. MĂȘme si l’épilogue donne envie de lire le prochain tome, j’ai un peu peur d’ĂȘtre déçue, car je ne suis pas sĂ»r de retrouver l’effet de surprise que j’ai vraiment apprĂ©ciĂ© dans le tome 1.

Enfin, peut-ĂȘtre que par curiositĂ©, je le lirai quand mĂȘme. Si c’est le cas, j’en ferai une revue. 😉

J’ai dĂ©couvert l’autrice Freida McFadden avec La Femme de MĂ©nage et j’ai trouvĂ© son style assez intĂ©ressant. J’ai trĂšs envie de dĂ©couvrir d’autres livres de cette autrice. D’ailleurs, j’ai vu qu’elle a Ă©crit “La Psy”, un autre thriller psychologique. Est-ce que vous l’avez lu ? Qu’en avez-vous pensĂ© ?

đŸ”čConclusion :

Et vous ? Avez-vous lu ce livre ? Qu’en avez-vous pensĂ© ? Avez-vous apprĂ©ciĂ© votre lecture ?

Et sinon, avez-vous des thrillers psychologiques dans le mĂȘme genre Ă  me recommander ? đŸ€—

À bientît,
Johanna

PS : Pour la partie en anglais, j’ai essayĂ© de traduire par moi-mĂȘme, mais j’ai Ă©galement utilisĂ© Google Traduction et Deepl.

Sort:  

Hello,
J'ai vu passer les tomes 1 et 2 sur une des pages FB que je suis. J'adore lire, moi aussi.
Je lis surtout Agatha Christie, Giacometti et Ravenne, Steve Berry, AmĂ©lie Nothomb, James Rollins, Mireille Calmel, Eric Fouassier, Jean des Cars, Sylvain Tesson, Christian Jacq, etc. Je lis principalement en format poche, que je trouve + pratique (ça prend moins de place aussi dans la bibliothĂšque ou dans ma PAL😇). Je n'ai pas ton rythme de lecture, puisque je lis Ă  peine 1 chapitre (10-20 pages) le soir, au lit et il est souvent dĂ©jĂ  bien tard.
Je sens que tes reviews vont agrandir ma PAL, si pas avec ce livre-ci, trùs certainement avec quelques-unes des prochaines 😊 No stress
Bonne journée à vous 2 !
!LOL
!PIZZA

Flo

Hello ! Tout d'abord, merci pour ton commentaire. C'est marrant, je suis Ă©galement abonnĂ©e Ă  quelques pages FB, il est possible qu'on soit sur les mĂȘmes pages 😉 Je suis totalement d'accord avec toi sur le format poche. Aurais-tu une recommandation de titre pour commencer Ă  dĂ©couvrir l'univers d'Agatha Christie ? 😄 Je suis contente que ma review t'ai plu, et j'espĂšre que les prochaines pourront Ă©galement attiser ta curiositĂ© !
À bientît 👋

Hello, avec plaisir pour le commentaire ;)
Avec Agatha Christie, il y a toujours beaucoup de personnages et tous les détails qu'on nous donne sont importants, puisqu'ils pourraient nous mettre sur la piste du/de la/des coupable(s). Les 2 derniers que j'ai lus étaient pas mal, j'en ai d'ailleurs fait des reviews : "La maison biscornue" et "Le crime d'Halloween".
A bientît 😎

!BBH
!LOLZ

@florenceboens! Your Content Is Awesome so I just sent 1 $BBH (Bitcoin Backed Hive) to your account on behalf of @benefice-net. (9/20)

!BBH

Your post has been manually reviewed for curation.

separator2.png

Principality of Bastion's Tavern - Our Leit Motiv? Let's Grow Together.

Discord | ECU | Site | Twitch | Donations | Paypal via Streamlabs

One click delegations: 500 HP | 1500 HP | 5000 HP |25000 HP | 100000 HP
Or delegate the amount you decide to @hive-143869, using peakd's wallet, for example.

JON.gif

separator2.png

@altheana! Your Content Is Awesome so I just sent 1 $BBH (Bitcoin Backed Hive) to your account on behalf of @itharagaian. (6/50)

!BBH
!LOLZ

@itharagaian! Your Content Is Awesome so I just sent 1 $BBH (Bitcoin Backed Hive) to your account on behalf of @benefice-net. (10/20)

!BBH
!LOLZ

@altheana! Your Content Is Awesome so I just sent 1 $BBH (Bitcoin Backed Hive) to your account on behalf of @benefice-net. (8/20)

I have this book on my kindle, I feel like it should be my next read after so much romance.

Thanks for your review, I will keep it in mind as soon as I finish "Marfil" by Mercedes Ron.

!BBH
!LOLZ

@virginianavas1! Your Content Is Awesome so I just sent 1 $BBH (Bitcoin Backed Hive) to your account on behalf of @benefice-net. (11/20)

Hello ! Thanks for your comment 🙏 I really recommend "The Housemaid" don't hesitate to read it !
What is your opinion on Marfil? Did you like it? I'm hesitant to buy it!

I've already moved the book to my kindle, I'm almost 100% sure that will be my next read.

"Marfil" is proving to be quite entertaining. I like it when the filling between the main characters takes its time without boring the reader.

Wow you have done justice the reviewing of this book
I guess am gonna look through to read it
👍👍👍

Hello ! Thank you so much for your comment ! 🙏 I hope I've convinced you to read it because it's really a great book. See you soon !

I found out recently that I adore physiological thrillers because of how engaging they usually are. This was a really lovely review and I will be adding this book to my "to read" list.

!LUV

Thank you for your comment ! 🙏 I rediscovered the psychological thriller with "The Housemaid" and I think I'm going to read more beacause I like it! I'm glad you liked my review. See you soon 👋

See you soon✹

altheana, wongi sent you LUV. 🙂 (1/3) tools | trade | connect | wiki | daily

Made with LUV by crrdlx.

PIZZA!

$PIZZA slices delivered:
@florenceboens(3/5) tipped @altheana

Congratulations @altheana! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You received more than 900 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 1000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP