You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Creating and Breaking Habits | My Takeaways from James Clear's Atomic Habits

I’ve been wanting to build a reading habit, but I always fail because I don’t have a cue. I told myself to read during my break time, but I got used to opening and scrolling on YouTube. Thus, it didn’t work. Your takeaway #3, which is creating an Implementation Intention format is a great way for me to build my reading habit because I will know when and where to read. Here’s my format: I will read at 5:00 PM in our dining area. I will do my best to do this consistently. Thank you for sharing your takeaways about the book! I also learned a lot! 😁 I will read this book soon. 😁

Sort:  

Thank you for taking the time to read my post! I hope you'll do better at building your reading habit. Having a reading list for the next few books I'm going to read also helped improve my reading pace and frequency. Building a habit takes time and does not happen overnight even after solidifying your Implementation Intentions. As long you have the will to try again, you still have the chance to build any habit.