You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Poetry of Emily Dickinson

in Hive Book Club5 months ago

Wow, when you read a book, you really interact with the author, with the words. The poems, the stories, the themes (as in your Lord of the Flies review). I love your spirit and energy, your honesty, your conviction!
And your personal responses:

This poem rings true with me because I myself am someone who has struggled with grief from an early age. Divorced parents, frequent assault at the hands of a family member, ostracized from other family, toxic relationships, betrayal by "friends," addiction... After so many years of having trauma on top of trauma stacked together, it is hard to imagine that I can ever be "healed." I am no longer where I once was, but most days I do have to feign happiness ... I no longer find comfort that others are struggling as well.


You're the kind of reader authors dream of. :)

Sort:  

You are lovely! Thank you so much!