Book Review: Hunting Adeline (book 2) *No SPOILERS*

in Hive Book Club2 months ago

Book Review.png

There are stories that far from give you butterflies when reading them, they make you feel the anxiety, fear and mistakes of the characters. And this is the case of this book, that I want to share with you. My last blog post was the first part of this story and today I finally come with:

image.png

Source

Synopsis

The final installment to the Cat and Mouse Duet...

The Diamond

Death walks alongside me,
But the reaper is no match for me.
I'm trapped in a world full of monsters dressed as men, and those who aren't as they seem.
They won't keep me forever.
I no longer recognize the person I've become,
And I'm fighting to find my way back to the beast who hunts me in the night.
They call me a diamond,
But they've only created an angel of death.

The Hunter

I was born a predator,
With ruthlessness ingrained in my bones.
When what's mine is stolen from me in the night,
Like a diamond hidden within a fortress,
I find that I can no longer contain the beast.
Blood will paint the ground as I tear apart this world to find her.
And bring her back to where she belongs.
No one will escape my wrath,
Especially not those who have betrayed me.

Warning: This is the second and final installment to the Duet. You must read Haunting Adeline first.

Hunting Adeline is the second book that ends the story of Cat and Mouse saga. This is a story of 649 pages and it was published in January 25, 2022. in the same way of the first book of this story, it belongs to this peculiar genre that is revolutionating the web 2, this is a dark romance book. It is important to consider that among the pages of this story, you would be witness of Graphic violence, human trafficking, rape, sexual assault, PTSD, blood play, knife play, degradation and somnophilia.

What is this second part about? This book revolve around the Adeline kidnapping and how she goes through all the feelings and dark circumstances someone who have been deprived of her freedom can go through. At the same way of the first book, this book is narrated from both perspectives (Adeline and her shadow as she cleverly nickname to Zade), this allow us to feel the desperation and anxiaty of both characters. Among the pages, you would be witness of really terrorific moments that would guide you to question how society until this time have not erradicate this kind of acts that are describe in the book. This book unlike the last one deepen into the human trafficking topic, the enviroment and people, who belongs to this terrible practice. This is not a really easy story to digest but I consider (even with its flaws) it is more interesting than the first book.

What does I feel about this story? As I said in my last post about this saga, this is not particularly my kind of genre, in fact it causes me certain rejection. However, among the pages of this story, I got lost. I got captivated with this stage of the story, I liked until certain point the main characters evolution since I considered proper. However, Adeline as well as Zade (our main characters) keep being the antiheros, we had in the first book. But Adeline deepen even more into the antihero archetype.

Finally, Do I recommend this book? I cannot say more than yes to this question. If you already has decided to read the first book, you cannot deprive yourself of reading how the circle of Zade and Adeline close. But I cannot lie to you, even when I enjoyed this book more than the last one, I wanted to end it because as I said before it is a really difficult story to digest mostly for how are clearly describe all the acts that are commited in this book. Now, I'm here happy to tell you that I'm free of all the dark clouds this book represents and I'm going to run without looking back to my cheese and happy books. I cannot be as irresponsible to tell you that I'm not going to read another book of Dark Romance genre but certainly I need a break of this kind of story for a while.

Thanks for reading this review and I hope to see you here next time.

SPANISH (7).png

Hay historias que lejos de darte mariposas al leerlas, te hacen sentir la ansiedad, el miedo y los errores de los personajes. Y este es el caso de este libro, que quiero compartir con vosotros. Mi última publicación en el blog fue la primera parte de esta historia y hoy finalmente vengo con:

imagen.png

Fuente

Sinopsis

La última entrega del dueto del gato y el ratón...

El diamante

La muerte camina a mi lado,
Pero el segador no es rival para mí.
Estoy atrapado en un mundo lleno de monstruos vestidos de hombres y otros que no son lo que parecen.
No me retendrán para siempre.
Ya no reconozco la persona en la que me he convertido,
Y estoy luchando por encontrar el camino de regreso hacia la bestia que me caza en la noche.
Me llaman diamante
Pero sólo han creado un ángel de la muerte.

El cazador

Nací depredador,
Con crueldad arraigada en mis huesos.
Cuando lo que es mío me lo roban en la noche,
Como un diamante escondido dentro de una fortaleza,
Descubro que ya no puedo contener a la bestia.
La sangre pintará el suelo mientras destrozo este mundo para encontrarla.
Y traerla de regreso a donde pertenece.
Nadie escapará de mi ira,
Especialmente no aquellos que me han traicionado.

Advertencia: esta es la segunda y última entrega del Dúo. Primero debes leer Haunting Adeline.

Hunting Adeline es el segundo libro que finaliza la historia de la saga del Gato y el Ratón. Esta es una historia de 649 páginas y fue publicada el 25 de enero de 2022. Al igual que el primer libro de esta historia, pertenece a este peculiar género que está revolucionando la web 2, este es un libro de romance oscuro. Es importante considerar que entre las páginas de esta historia, serás testigo de violencia gráfica, trata de personas, violación, agresión sexual, trastorno de estrés postraumático, juegos de sangre, juegos con cuchillos, degradación y somnofilia.

¿De qué trata esta segunda parte? Este libro gira en torno al secuestro de Adeline y cómo ella atraviesa todos los sentimientos y circunstancias oscuras por las que puede pasar alguien que ha sido privado de su libertad. Al igual que el primer libro, este libro está narrado desde ambas perspectivas (Adeline y su sombra como ingeniosamente apoda a Zade), esto nos permite sentir la desesperación y ansiedad de ambos personajes. Entre las páginas, serás testigo de momentos realmente terroríficos que te llevarán a cuestionarte cómo la sociedad hasta ahora no ha erradicado este tipo de actos que se describen en el libro. Este libro a diferencia del anterior profundiza en el tema de la trata de personas, el medio ambiente y las personas a quienes pertenece esta terrible práctica. Esta no es una historia realmente fácil de digerir pero considero (aún con sus defectos) que es más interesante que el primer libro.

¿Qué siento ante esta historia? Como dije en mi último post sobre esta saga, este no es particularmente mi tipo de género, de hecho me causa cierto rechazo. Sin embargo, entre las páginas de esta historia me perdí. Me cautivó esta etapa de la historia, me gustó hasta cierto punto la evolución de los personajes principales que consideré adecuada. Sin embargo, tanto Adeline como Zade (nuestros personajes principales) siguen siendo los antihéroes que teníamos en el primer libro. Pero Adeline profundiza aún más en el arquetipo del antihéroe.

Finalmente, ¿recomiendo este libro? No puedo decir más que sí a esta pregunta. Si ya has decidido leer el primer libro, no puedes privarte de leer cómo se cierra el círculo de Zade y Adeline. Pero no puedo mentirles, aun cuando disfruté este libro más que el anterior, quise terminarlo porque como dije antes es una historia realmente difícil de digerir más que nada por cómo se describen claramente todos los actos que se cometen en este libro. Ahora, estoy aquí feliz de decirles que estoy libre de todas las nubes oscuras que este libro representa y voy a correr sin mirar atrás hacia mis libros de queso y felicidad. No puedo ser tan irresponsable al decirte que no voy a leer otro libro del género Dark Romance pero ciertamente necesito un descanso de este tipo de historias por un tiempo.

Gracias por leer esta reseña y espero verte aquí la próxima vez.


Book Cover from Goodreads
Banners created through Canva
Avatar Created through Bitmoji

Sort:  

Ah! Our famous Hunting Adeline. I have received a lot of recommendations about this series. It is on my TBR and I am yet to read it. I hear the book is not for the faint hearted. According to your review, all the bad things that happened to our female protagonist happens on daily basis in our world. I see this book portrays the realities of these days, and things that are happening. Amazing review. Thank you for sharing.

@omokhafue recommended this book to me..

Not really my genre but I did start it...

Maybe I'll retry it 😂

Jajajaja I get you🤭

At last, you've read the concluding book to the Cat and Mouse duology. When I started this book, the fate of Adeline took me by surprise. I'd hoped Zade would save her from the horrors of human trafficking. Sadly, he couldn't.

The good part, Adeline moved quickly from being a victim to a fighter! The series is not bad but not everyone can read this type of book. A fine review! Well done. !LADY 🙂

View or trade LOH tokens.


@kemmyb, you successfully shared 0.1000 LOH with @generp and you earned 0.1000 LOH as tips. (2/4 calls)

Use !LADY command to share LOH! More details available in this post.