Back to the Omegaverse! || BookReview: Bride - Ali Hazelwood 💐📚 (ENG/SPA)

Copia de Gold Blue Pink Playful Book Review Video YouTube Thumbnail_20240320_043043_0000.png


Lee en español AQUI


Vampires and lycanthropes have been in truce for years, but certain events jeopardize this relative "peace" between the two species. To avoid bloodshed in which the vampires stand to lose, Misery is summoned by her father to enter into a marriage of convenience with Lowe Moreland, the alpha of the lycanthropes. Misery owes her family nothing and anyone with two fingers in front would refuse such a request, but it is possible that Lowe knows something about the disappearance of someone important to Misery, and his goal is to investigate.

Separador Albani.png

Bride is Ali Hazelwood's latest book and I was really looking forward to reading it, not only because it's a creation of Ali, whose books I love, but because it's her first official book in the Fantasy genre. Fantasy and Romance? Yeah, I'm in!

And the fact is that this book grabbed me just with the prologue. In fact, the first thing I thought when I finished reading the prologue was: "We are off to a strong start!" 😁

I've always found Ali's prose to be great, entertaining and gripping but in this book I think she far surpassed herself because I found it totally charming. I felt like the words were flowing and I don't know much about this but I thought the sentence construction was amazing

Separador Albani.png

The plot was interesting. On the one hand we had a mystery to solve and on the other the development of the romance between Lowe and Misery. And also, behind the scenes, we witnessed the internal conflicts of both protagonists. I found both Lowe and Misery to be very real characters. It was easy to connect and empathize with them.

Misery trying to discover what was really important to her as she hid behind a facade of sarcasm and cynicism, as well as dealing with her feelings about her father.

Being a decent person must be exhausting, thank goodness it doesn't happen to me. I revel in my lack of ethics.

And Lowe, dealing with the fact that he gave up his whole life to do something he didn't want to do but should, and resigned to his "unwelcome" feelings.

Maybe some things are above reciprocity. Maybe not everything is about possession.

Separador Albani.png

One thing I specifically loved seeing in this book is the complexity of the male protagonist. In previous books I would complain that I wasn't given more of the guy. I wanted to be in his mind more. To know what he thought, how he felt, to know his values as a person.... But it wasn't happening, it was too superficial.

But in this book Ali granted my wish with Lowe because Lowe is.... Wow. He's the real man. A total gentleman with firm values and an emotional intelligence that leaves you totally melting in love.

—You think so, but you have no idea. You don't know what it feels like to find your better half," he continues softly and harshly, "I'd settle for anything he decided to give me: a tiny part or his entire being. I'd settle for a single night with her, even if it meant losing her in the morning, and I'd hold on to her for life. I would accept her in every possible way: healthy, sick, tired, full of energy or angry, and it would be a fucking privilege. I would accept her problems, her gifts, her mood swings, her passions, her jokes, her body.... I would accept absolutely everything she decided to give me.

Separador Albani.png

I hadn't read anything to do with werewolves and vampires in a while and it felt great. It took me back to my teenage years.

Honestly, I was very happy reading this book. It gave me a lot of good lines, great moments where I was a fangirl, or because it was just funny to me because it had pretty witty one-liners.

—I at least try. My life has sucked too, but I hang out with people, I try to grow professionally, I have hobbies... You just let time pass you by. You're an empty shell. I need to know that you care about something more than me in this fucking life, Misery, whatever that is

One thing about Ali Hazelwood's books is that they are light, easy to read, easy to like characters and a plot that makes you smile most of the time, of course with its moments of tension but nothing too serious. They are cozy books, the kind you read when you have a reading block and want to get out of it.

Bride was no exception, it has all that I mention to you, though in my opinion with a little more depth.

It was a fun read, intriguing, thoughtful, fanciful, of course, and with lots of romance. It's these kinds of books that make me say I "revived the romance" 💐

—You are no problem, Misery, you are a privilege.

I liked it so much that I was left wanting to read more similar books.

Of course, I gave it 5 stars

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Did you already read it?

Separador Albani.png

See you in the comments!

Separador Albani.png

Credits
Cover made in Canva
Visual identity by @pentaghast

BANNER HIVE albani.png

Español

Copia de Gold Blue Pink Playful Book Review Video YouTube Thumbnail_20240320_043043_0000.png


Los vampiros y los licántropos tienen años en tregua, pero ciertos acontecimientos ponen en peligro esa relativa "paz" entre ambas especies. Para evitar un derramamiento de sangre en el que los vampiros tienen las de perder, Misery es convocada por su padre para contraer matrimonio por conveniencia con Lowe Moreland, el alfa de los licántropos. Misery no le debe nada a su familia y cualquiera con dos dedos de frente rechazaría esa petición, pero es posible que Lowe sepa algo sobre la desaparición de alguien importante para Misery, y su objetivo es investigarlo.

Separador Albani.png

Novia es el más reciente libro de Ali Hazelwood y tenía muchísimas ganas de leerlo, no solo porque sea una creación de Ali, cuyos libros me encantan, sino que se trata de su primer libro oficial en el género Fantasía. ¿Fantasía y Romance? ¡Sí!, ¡Estoy dentro!

Y es que este libro me atrapó solo con el prólogo. De hecho, lo primero que pensé al terminar de leer el prólogo fue: "¡Empezamos fuerte!" 😁

La prosa de Ali siempre me ha parecido genial, entretenida y atrapante pero en este libro creo que se superó con creces porque me pareció totalmente encantadora. Sentí que las palabras fluían y no sé mucho de esto pero me pareció que la construcción de frases era increíble.

Separador Albani.png

La trama estuvo interesante. Por un lado teníamos un misterio que resolver y por el otro el desarrollo del romance entre Lowe y Misery. Y además, detrás de camaras, eramos testigos de los conflictos internos de ambos protagonistas. Tanto Lowe como Misery me parecieron personajes muy reales. Fue fácil conectar y empatizar con ellos.

Misery tratando de descubrir lo realmente importante para ella ya que se escondía tras una fachada de sarcasmo y cinismo, además de lidiar con sus sentimientos acerca de su padre.

Ser una persona decente debe de resultar agotador, menos mal que no me pasa. Yo me deleito con mi falta de ética

Y Lowe, lidiando con el hecho que abandonó toda su vida para hacer algo que no quería pero debía, y resignado a sus sentimientos "inoportunos".

Quizá algunas cosas estén por encima de la reciprocidad. Quizá no todo gire en torno a la posesión.

Separador Albani.png

Algo que específicamente me encantó ver en este libro es la complejidad del protagonista masculino. En libros anteriores yo me quejaba de que no me daban más del chico. Yo quería estar más en la mente de él. Saber qué pensaba, cómo se sentía, conocer sus valores como persona... Pero no pasaba, era muy superficial.

Pero en este libro Ali me concedió el deseo con Lowe porque Lowe es... Wow. Es el verdadero hombre. Un total caballero con valores firmes y una inteligencia emocional que te vas para atrás y te deja totalmente derretida de amor.

—Lo crees, pero no tienes ni idea. No sabes lo que se siente al encontrar a tu media naranja —prosigue en voz baja y con dureza—. Me conformaría con cualquier cosa que decidiera entregarme: una ínfima parte o todo su ser. Me conformaría con pasar una sola noche con ella, aunque fuera a perderla por la mañana, y me aferraría a ella de por vida. La aceptaría de todas las maneras posibles: sana, enferma, cansada, llena de energía o enfadada, y sería un puto privilegio. Aceptaría sus problemas, sus obsequios, sus cambios de humor, sus pasiones, sus bromas, su cuerpo... Aceptaría absolutamente todo lo que ella decidiera entregarme.

Separador Albani.png

La verdad tenía tiempo que no leía algo que tuviese que ver con hombres lobos y vampiros y se sintió genial. Me trasladó a mi adolescencia.

Honestamente, fui muy feliz leyendo este libro. Me dio muchas frases buenas, grandes momentos en los que fui una fangirl, o porque simplemente me causó gracia porque tenía frases bastante ingeniosas.

—Yo por lo menos lo intento. Mi vida también ha sido una mierda, pero quedo con gente, intento crecer laboralmente, tengo hobbies… Tú simplemente dejas pasar el tiempo. Eres un cascarón vacío. Necesito saber que te importa algo más que yo en esta puta vida, Misery, sea lo que sea.

Algo que tienen los libros de Ali Hazelwood es que son ligeros, fáciles de leer, personajes fáciles de querer y una trama que te hace sonreír la mayoría del tiempo, por supuesto con sus momentos de tensión pero nada tan grave. Son libros cozy, de esos que lees cuando tienes un bloqueo lector y quieres salir de él.

Novia no fue la excepción, tiene todo eso que te menciono, aunque en mi opinión con un poco más de profundidad.

Fue una lectura divertida, intrigante, reflexiva, fantasiosa, por supuesto, y con mucho romance. Es este tipo de libros los que me hacen decir que "revivió el romance" 💐

—Tú no eres ningún problema, Misery, tú eres un privilegio.

Me gustó tanto que quedé con ganas de leer más libros similares.

Por supuesto, le di 5 estrellas

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

¿Ya tú lo leíste?

Separador Albani.png

¡Nos leemos en los comentarios!

Separador Albani.png

Créditos
Portada hecha en Canva
Identidad visual por @pentaghast

BANNER HIVE albani.png

Sort:  

I love your review of this book. It just compels me to want to check it out even though I'm not really a fan of vampire stories.

Hii!!! I'm glad you liked the review! The truth is that even though it's a vampire/werewolf book, it's pretty light since it takes place in a modern context. And the main character is quite special in terms of her species. I'm sure you'll like it 🩷🩷