My first article published in a magazine | Katabasis Revista

in Hive Book Club2 years ago

image.png

image.png

I didn't know I was going to cry so much when this happened, on October 3 last year I made a post called 'Why do you hate inclusive language? It's never been about you', whereas the title obviously says, I talk a lot about the intensity with which many people hate, detest and abhor inclusive language in Spanish.

I did not translate this article at the time because, in addition to containing 2529 words, it was written specifically for Spanish because there is a big difference with inclusive language in English, or in any other language for that matter, and if I translated it, I would not lose what I wanted to communicate, but it would be distorted and like the great saying popularized in English, we would get lost in translation.

image.png

No sabía que iba a llorar tanto cuando esto sucediera, el 3 de octubre del año pasado hice una publicación llamada '¿Por qué odias el lengua inclusivo? Nunca se ha tratado sobre ti', donde como obviamente el títilo dice, hablo mucho sobre la intensidad con la que muchas personas odian, detestan y aborrecen el lenguaje inclusivo en español.

Este artículo no lo traduje en su momento porque además de contener 2529 palabras, fue escrito específicamente para el español, porque hay una gran diferencia con el lenguaje inclusivo en el inglés, o en cualquier otro idioma, la verdad, y si lo traducía no se iba a perder lo que quería comunicar, si no que se iba a desvirtuar y como el gran dicho popularizado en inglés, nos íbamos a perder en la traducción.

image.png

Didn't you know that all words are invented just like the meanings we give them and the "correct" uses? "But is that the RAE says", well you can shove up your ass what the RAE says and your words and thoughts too, well, your words and thoughts as long as they are yours and nobody else's, because, even if you have such a shitty opinion, at least I hope it is yours and yours alone, not the repetition of what someone else said some time or of the people you hang out with and that, for not being alone and thinking differently, you repeat. At what point did critical thinking disappear and we went on to accept what others say without questioning it?
Gabriel Jauregui

image.png

¿Acaso no sabías que todas las palabras son inventadas al igual que los significados que les damos y los usos «correctos»? «Pero es que la RAE dice», pues te puedes meter por el culo lo que la RAE dice y tus palabras y pensamientos también, bueno, tus palabras y pensamientos siempre y cuando sean tuyos y de nadie más, porque, aunque tengas una opinión tan de la mierda, al menos espero que sea tuya y solo tuya, no la repetición de lo que alguien más dijo alguna vez o de las personas con las que te juntas y que, por no quedarte solo y pensar diferente, repites. ¿En qué momento el pensamiento crítico desapareció y pasamos a aceptar lo que los demás dicen sin cuestionarlo?
Gabriel Jauregui

image.png

This article was a catharsis that came from my soul and that I needed to do somehow, and I only succeeded in writing it. Less than half a year ago I had one of the biggest existential and identity crises I can remember, its end result was me admitting that I am non-binary, so little by little I started to make use of inclusive language or non-binary language, and if I had not had great people by my side this would have been horrible.

With my recent use of non-binary language and interest that was growing more and more because my need to finally understand that I belonged to something wonderful was something I could not control, and while I knew that inclusive language had its detractors, I did not know that the hate I received was so much. When did giving your negative opinion become more important than the well-being of a human being? For every comment in favor of inclusive language, there are 500 comments against it, and those comments range from calling those of us who use it brainless idiots to wishing them death and eternal torture in hell. I used to read those things and it made me so angry, now I just feel tired and want to sleep to ignore those people.

image.png

Este artículo fue una catársis que me salió del alma y que necesitaba hacer de alguna forma, y solo lo logré escribiendo. Hace menos de medio año tuve una de las mayoris crísis existenciales y de identidad que recuerdo, su resultado final fue mi persona admitiendo que soy no binarie, por lo que poco a poco comencé a hacer uso del lenguaje inclusivo o lenguaje no binarie, y si no hubiera tenido a grandes personas a mi lado esto hubiera sido horrible.

Con mi reciente uso del lenguaje no binarie y un interés que crecía cada vez más porque la necesidad de finalmente entender que pertenecía a algo maravilloso era algo que no podía controlar, y si bien sabía que el lenguaje inclusivo tenía sus detractores, no sabía que el odio que recibía era tanto. ¿Cuándo dar tu opinión negativa se convirtió en algo más importante que el bienestar de un ser humano? Por cada comentario a favor del lenguaje inclusivo hay 500 comentarios en contra, y esos comentarios van desde decirles idiotas descerebrados a quienes lo usamos hasta desearles la muerte y una tortura eterna en el infierno. Antes leía esas cosas y me daba un enojo horrible, ahora solo me siento cansade y quiero dormor para ignorar a esas personas.

image.png

SINCE ALWAYS THE LETTER E HAS BEEN USED AS A NEUTRAL GENDER, but now its use is more common and there are people who use it in words in which you are not used to seeing it you get infarcted and feel that they are destroying the little brain you have left. But why do you have to insult me so much? Because I feel like it and that's how I want to express myself right now, the rest of the world says much worse things to speakers who use inclusive language and I don't see anyone saying it's wrong, so go fuck somewhere else and, if you are bothered by the insults, it must be for something.

Gabriel Jauregui

image.png

DESDE SIEMPRE LA LETRA E SE HA USADO COMO GÉNERO NEUTRO, pero como ahora su uso es más común y hay personas que la usan en palabras en las que ustedes no están acostumbrados a verla se infartan y sienten que les están destruyendo el poco cerebro que les queda. ¿Pero por qué tienes que insultar tanto? Porque me da la gana y así me quiero expresar en este momento, el resto del mundo dice cosas mucho peores para los hablantes que usan el lenguaje inclusivo y no veo a nadie diciendo que está mal, entonces vayan a joder a otro lado y, si les molestan los insultos, por algo debe ser.
Gabriel Jauregui

image.png

To sum up the story, I shared this article with a friend and it was the best thing I did, she loved it so much that she told me that she was going to share it with the director of the magazine, called Katabasis Revista (an orgmasic name, if I may say so), and she was going to confirm me during the following days if it was going to be possible its publication or not; a few hours later she told me yes, and I died for the first time.

She told me that it might be necessary to make changes to the article because of the excess of insults, and although I agreed to do it, I told her that I didn't think it was right because the insults were one of the best things, they were both strong and affected a lot, but they also made me laugh, so removing them didn't please me at all; she agreed with me and we left them, because insulting those who insult you is not all bad, right?

image.png

Para resumirles la historia, este artículo lo compartí con una amiga y fue lo mejor que hice, ella lo amó tanto que me dijo que lo iba a compartir con el director de la revista, llamada Katabasis Revista (un nombre orgmásico, si me dejan decirlo), y me iba a confirmar durante los siguientes días si iba a ser posible su publicación o no; a las horas me dijo que sí, y yo me morí por primera vez.

Ella me dijo que posiblemente había que hacerle cambios al artículo por el exceso de insultos que digo, y aunque acepté a hacerlo, le dije que no me parecía lo correcto porque los insultos eran de las mejores cosas, eran a la vez fuertes y afectaban mucho, pero también daban risa, entonces quitarlos no me agradaba del todo; ella me dio la razón y los dejamos, porque insultar a quienes te insultan no está del todo mal, ¿cierto?

image.png

As you well know, most of us who use inclusive language belongs to the LBGTQIA+ community, but still there is too much hatred within the community towards us, as if they are not different and do not receive enough hatred from the world to have a minimum of empathy, right? Anyway, the hypotenuse.
Gabriel Jauregui

image.png

Como bien saben, la mayoría de les persones que usamos el lenguaje inclusivo pertenecemos a la comunidad LBGTIQ+, pero aun así hay demasiado odio dentro de la comunidad hacia nosotres, como si ellos no fueran diferentes ni recibieran el suficiente odio de parte del mundo como para que tuvieran un mínimo de empatía, ¿cierto? En fin, la hipotenusa.
Gabriel Jauregui

image.png

Many things happened and the publication was postponed, December came and it was not published either because they were organizing and compiling all the literary texts for the bimonthly magazine they had to launch, there was no problem with that, I understood completely, so I stopped asking so as not to bother.

Today January 6th, minutes before singing birthday to my mother, I get a message from my friend with the link to the article in her magazine and I had to hold back the urge to cry, at least until almost an hour had passed, I went into my room and became a sea of tears without any control.

I had completely forgotten that this was going to happen at some point, and for it to happen just as I am coming step by step out of a depressive episode of more than a month is perfect, because it reminds me that what I do is worth doing and that even though sometimes I stop doing it, I must not give up, I must take my time and continue.

I should have done this before, but I don't care, here you can check the magazine: Katabasis, it is a cultural magazine focused on literature, with many activities which I will tell you about later because there is no space for that here, and here you can read the article: 'Why do you hate inclusive language? It's never been about you', although you may have read it here, but now you can read it there.

image.png

Sucedieron muchas cosas y se pospuso la publicación, llegó diciembre y tampoco se publicó porque ellos estaban organizando y recopilando todos los textos literarios para la revista bimensual que tenían que lanzar, no hubo problema alguno con eso, lo entendía por completo, así que dejé de preguntar para no molestar.

Hoy 6 de enero, minutos antes de cantarle cumpleaños a mi madre, me llega un mensaje de mi amiga con el enlace al artículo en su revista y me tuve que aguantar las ganas de llorar, al menos hasta que pasó casi una hora, entré a mi habitación y me convertí en un mar de lágrimas sin control alguno.

Había olvidado por completo que esto iba a suceder en algún momento, y que sucediera justo cuando estoy saliendo paso a paso de un episodio depresivo de más de un mes es perfecto, porque me recuerda que lo que hago vale la pena, y que aunque a veces deje de hacerlo, no me tengo rendir, debo tomarme mi tiempo y continuar.

Esto deí haberlo hecho antes, pero no me importa, aquí pueden revisar la revista: Katabasis, es una revista cultural enfocada en la literatura, con muchas actividades de las cuales les hablaré luego porque aquí no hay espacio para eso, y aquí pueden leer el artículo: '¿Por qué odias el lengua inclusivo? Nunca se ha tratado sobre ti',aunque igual posiblemente lo hayan leído aquí, pero ahora pueden ir a leerlo allá.

image.png

After writing that I feel light and calm, happy, I really needed to insult idiotic people and, although I still have too much to say, it will be another time to do it. Is this too long? I don't care, do I publicly acknowledge that I am non-binary? Yes, I don't need anyone's approval to be, just my own, and I already have that. Why do I use the o and the masculine gender to refer to me? Shut up and sit down, ma'am, it's none of your business, stop gossiping.
Gabriel Jauregui

image.png

Después de escribir eso me siento ligero y en calma, feliz, me hacía mucha falta insultar a gente idiota y, aunque aún me falta demasiado por decir, será en otro momento que lo haga. ¿Es esto muy largo? No me importa, ¿reconozco públicamente que soy no binario? Sí, no necesito la aprobación de nadie para serlo, tan solo la mía y esa ya la tengo. ¿Por qué uso la o y el género masculino para referirme a mí? Cállese y siéntese, señora, no es de su incumbencia y que le valga verga como el resto de las cosas, deje el chisme.
Gabriel Jauregui

image.png

Sort:  

Wow. That is so impressive and so exciting. Congratulations @jauregui98 . Like you said, never quit.

Thank you so much!!! Yes, we can take a break, we can't quit.

Dear @jauregui98, we need your help!

The Hivebuzz proposal already got an important support from the community and is close to be funded. However, it misses a few votes to get past the return proposal and your could make the difference!

May we ask you to support it so our team can continue its work this year?
You can do it on Peakd, ecency,

Hive.blog / https://wallet.hive.blog/proposals
or using HiveSigner.
https://peakd.com/me/proposals/199

Thank you!

Con permisaaaaaaa... Felicidades Jau, enhorabuena.

Gachas, doña. 🖤

Hey that's awesome and I know how exhausting it can be to fight for inclusive language in our communities. I'm Cuban and have had plenty of fights with my family about it. Keep fighting the good fight.

Thank you!! And yes, it's too exhausting, and the fighting it's even more, but we can't give up.

Congrats Jau, being noticed this way is always exciting!