The Tao of Bill Murray by Gavin Edwards

in Hive Book Club6 months ago

image.png

https://www.amazon.com/Tao-Bill-Murray-Real-Life-Enlightenment/dp/0812988086/ref=tmm_pap_swatch_0?_encoding=UTF8&qid=1698932409&sr=8-1

So the full title of the book is The Tao of Bill Murray: Real-Life Stories of Joy, Enlightenment, and Party Crashing

Where I found it

I was at my favorite used book store. Sometimes I'll look at what they have in the humor section. They keep comics there like Garfield and Calvin and Hobbes stuff, but they also keep stuff by and about comedians. I picked this bad boy up for 75 cents.

Plot

I guess you could call this a biography. The author has talked with lots of people about Bill Murray and watched all of Bill Murray's films. He compiled this collection of stories and tried to give it a little structure. It's a random collection of stories about a man known for doing lots of very random and spontaneous things.

Favorite parts

Apparently Bill Murray had picked up a Japanese phrase book well before signing up to do Lost in Translation. When he realized that he would be in Japan, he brought the phrase book along and said lots of silly outrageous things to complete strangers.

Bill Murray and some brothers worked as caddies at a golf course while growing up. They were frequently paired with an old blind golfer and would routinely tell him that he was making great shots. As their exaggerations continued to grow they told him that he had hit a hole in 1 and the golf club awarded him a trophy. By the time that the club awarded this old blind golfer his third hole in 1 trophy they figured out what the Murray boys were doing and told them to quit it.

Bill Murray routinely plays at a Pro-Am golf tournament in California. One year he spotted a girl who had become separated from her parents. He asked security to pass her off to him so that he could help. He climbed a tree with the girl and pretended to auction her off. The stunt worked and when she was reunited with her parents, she said, "Mommy. I climbed a tree with Bill Murray!"

Rating 4/5 stars

image.png

An extremely entertaining book. The structure of the book seems a little arbitrary, but I got some good laughs out of it. This is the sort of book that you don't have to read on a schedule. You can pick up wherever you left off. If we didn't all get sucked into our cell phones while sitting on the toilet, this would be a great book to keep in the bathroom.

I am hoping to share plenty of book reviews. What sort of information do you like to see included in book reviews? I’m hoping to keep them fairly short and sweet. What do you think of my format for this post?

I love reading, but don't completely love writing. That being said I would like to improve my writing. If you have any recommendations for ways to improve my posts, please share them. I hope this post has been helpful and informative. Thanks for reading and thanks for all the upvotes, reblogs, comments and follows.

Lastly, I'm hoping that this book club will be interactive. I would love to hear your comments and considerations if you happen upon a review for something that you've read yourself. I'll try to do the same for you when I stumble onto a book review for something that I've already read.

Sort:  

Up to now Bill Murray movies like Groundhog Day and Quick Change are my top comedy movies. So a book of anecdotes by Bill would be an awesome read. Thanks for sharing.

Congratulations @jingo-submo! You received a personal badge!

Happy Hive Birthday! You are on the Hive blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking

Check out our last posts:

Our Hive Power Delegations to the October PUM Winners
Feedback from the November Hive Power Up Day
Hive Power Up Month Challenge - October 2023 Winners List