Don't Try - Just Don't! (The Subtle Art of Not Giving a ****)1

in Hive Book Club7 months ago

I've never felt comfortable knowing I'm not the best I could be.

| source

No, I think most people don't really feel comfortable knowing that. We're always after being more. More sophisticated, more beautiful, more elegant, more in a relationship, more financially and more having the happy ever after life

(You can insert your own requirements. I think all these fit my dream requirements already)

So imagine my surprise after picking this book by Mark Manson "The Subtle Art of Not giving a ****" and realizing that maybe, just maybe I've been doing things the wrong way.

I fear that by the end of this book, so many thought systems would be utterly broken, and I'd like it.

I guess that's one of the reasons I like reading books. It's that particular moment I can actively listen to someone's words and uproot wrong belief systems.
__________________+_________________

The first thing to do to not give a fuck, is accept that the world is totally fucked and that is alright, because it has always been that way and will always be.

The first chapter started with a story of Charles Bukowski. Personally, it was satisfying that he finally made it as a writer.

Just like every other motivating story you've read, the frog becomes a prince.

However, the author made me understand that just because a person becomes successful doesn't change who the person is.

In other words, the frog just put on a mask.

That is, Charles Bukowski did not become famous or sucessful because he was elegant or had great talent. No, rather because he knew he wasn't good enough. Maybe not even professional enough and he accepted that and worked with it.

I feel he wrote about his feelings without masking it, or trying to appear sucessful. He was an ordinary guy and he didn't try to write like the next Shakespeare.

A lot of us are not willing to accept that maybe we're not good at something. That maybe we're not those experts in a field or something. Even i am not willing to accept that.

I guess that's why videos of people failing and failing over again always go viral.

We seem to forget that we live in a world filled with mostly ordinary people trying to be "extraordinary"

Rather than putting up a front like people say "Fake it till you make it"

**Why don't I just be unflinchingly honest with myself and my capabilities. **

I guess I could lie to everyone else but lying to myself? That's too much

Maybe when I am honest with myself then I'll stop trying to be like everyone else.

This is part 1. See you in the next article✨

P.S I'd love to hear your thoughts on the book and article

Sort:  

Ha, welcome to the light, hehe.
Mark Manson is a sage of the self help genre and this book was a clear master piece.
Then he perfected with the is second - everything is fuxked, a book about hope

Looking forward to the second part 😁

Yeah. I read the first page and I just had this inkling that I'd be taking some crazy decisions before the end of the book, and I'd love it.
PS: Thanks for the support, can't wait to write part 2!