Battle Hymn of the Tiger Mother by Amy Chua || Book

in Hive Book Club3 years ago (edited)

▶️ Watch on 3Speak


When this book popped up on my recommendations, I knew I had to read it. And by the last page, I could imagine the horror of some and true enough, when I checked reviews, horrified would be an understatement.

Amy Chua is very brave to put herself out there as she did even though this kind of parenting is still practised by many. I am nowhere close to how strict she was but I could totally relate to her frustrations and her thought process.

I would love to hear your thoughts on the book. Whether you have read it or will read it... She was labelled a monster... do you think she was?

I also want to take this opportunity to wish all mothers Happy Mother's Day. Hope you treated yourself to something special <33

Thank you for watching,
Sh33la


▶️ 3Speak

Sort:  

Hey K, first off I really enjoy watching your book reviews, its always very beautiful. You read so much.

Also, I think this video didn't seem like you read it of a screen, haha, well done.

Now the book, I am still stuck with The blue girl on scribd as it says that the title is not yet available, I have my hands full so I won't make any promises of reading this one😅.

You review gave me a full picture of the book. One thing I can say though is that I agree with you 100%. As much as strict and rigid parenting style produces results, in this modern age and because kids have different personalities, this type of parenting can be detrimental to a kids metal and emotional health in the end.

Ah, I should shut up now 😅.

Hey, I look forward to the video where you will tell us about your parenting escapades too 😅.