Spicy Scenes in my Heart's Choice Interactive Fiction Game

in Hive Book Club11 months ago (edited)

Is this post NSFW? I'm honestly not sure.

I won't tag it as such, as there are no explicit images and I won’t go into that much detail, but we’ll be talking about sex scenes in my interactive fantasy novel.

The response to the game thus far has been fabulous, and a lot of people have enjoyed how spicy many of the scenes can get!

TMP glitter heart.jpg


Sweet or Spicy? Take Your Pick.


You can choose paths through this interactive fantasy novel any way you like. Released under my fantasy pen name Leia Talon and published by Heart's Choice, the romance division of Choice of Games, this game is entirely text-based and fueled by the vast power of your imagination. Your choices shape the story.

One of the best parts of writing this game has been getting creative with the variety of heat in the intimate scenes, and all the romance options I was able to write into the story.

I wrote options for people who want ALL the spice, and options for people who want to avoid sex scenes entirely, and are looking for other types of intimacy like conversation, sparring, and simple companionship.

It was liberating to be able to include such varied preferences in the same project. If you’re asexual or prefer sweet kisses and nothing more, you can absolutely play that way. And if you’re looking for spice, you’ll find plenty to choose from!

There are A LOT of sex scenes in this game. So many I lost count.

I honestly didn’t expect to write some of the scenes as hot as they got, but my characters tend to be in control of my writing process, and wow did they ever get it on! Even the princess, who is the only character who insists on monogamy, lets her hair down and joins in on a Fae orgy in chapter five (if that option is chosen). That might be the spiciest scene in the game. If you’re into that sort of thing, definitely check it out. There are threesome options, a bit of rough play, and one-on-one scenes that are both super-spicy and full of heart.

These characters love deeply, and the physical intimacy is threaded through with emotion.

Play any way you like.


TMP_Leia-Talon_HC.jpg


This game is such a treat! The setting is delightful, and there’s a broad range of ROs with different personalities and distinct sexual and romantic desires. The steamy scenes are creative, varied, and wonderfully explicit while still coming across more romantic than raunchy. (It’s worth pointing out – and celebrating – that this is the first three-pepper Heart’s Choice game that isn’t m/m – and it features a gender-selectable PC and both male and female ROs.) The non-sexual dialogue options are written with as much care and interest as the flirtations and sexual encounters. I ended up really loving most of the characters and wishing I could spend more time getting to know them.

It deserves to be pointed out what a sensory delight this game is. Leia Talon’s prose is lush and descriptive and brings the setting to life in a way that appeals to all the senses – though the greatest impression I was left with was gustatory. I want the food in this game. Seriously, even the stuff I wouldn’t eat in real life came off sounding completely delicious. This is easily the tastiest thing I’ve played since Teahouse of the Gods.

Although the heart of the game is the romance, there’s a decent political-intrigue plot that adds tension and excitement throughout, especially the second half of the game, and the romance is cleverly worked in as both a source of and a relief from tension. I hope a lot of readers will give Their Majesties’ Pleasure a try. I think most will find themselves easily caught up in its delights.

— Aletheia Knights, Interactive Fiction Player and Beta Tester.


On Polyamory, Monogamy, and Honest Communication.


One of the unique things about this game is the way you get to choose which romance option, or options, you want to explore in each playthrough. You can play multiple times to try different paths, as there are seven different endings, and countless threads between.

Four of the five romance options in Their Majesties’ Pleasure are open to polyamorous relationships. There is honest communication in any situation the game offers, and respect between characters where intimacy is involved.

All of the romance options are open to monogamy, and will adjust their previous relationships if the player’s preferences are to have a one-and-only romance.

Check out the forum on Choice of Games to read about the game and browse players’ comments! Here are a few screenshots from the forum:



Are You Into That?


One of the fascinating things about reading stories with spice in them is imagining sexual encounters we will probably never find ourselves in. Or maybe you would? I don’t know. When I read, or write, I find it liberating to explore different situations that I’m not even remotely interested in bringing into reality.

When I’m writing a novel, I have to choose how far to go. How long do I build up the slow burn at the beginning of a book, or a series? How spicy do I go with sex scenes once the characters cross that line?

With the game, I could write everything:

  • The quiet intimacy of togetherness.
  • The sweetest and most passionate of kisses.
  • Surrendering to touch.
  • The devious delight of having an audience.
  • Threesomes with two men, or one man and one woman.
  • A freaking Fae orgy.

I suppose the only option I didn’t write was a threesome with two women. I might have to sneak that into the next game, when I gather the energy to write another.

Important Note: Just because I wrote it, doesn’t mean I’m into it. But my characters are, so I let them lead the way.


Artwork by Adrien Valdes


This Story is About SO Much More than Sex.


Though this post is highlighting the spice in Their Majesties’ Pleasure, those scenes are only part of this story. You'll also find:

  • Genuine connection (as friends or more)
  • Magical Elixirs (if you wish to partake)
  • Drinking (unless you don’t drink, in which case the story shifts to respect that)
  • Dancing (if you like to dance—or choose another path)
  • Political Intrigue (will you help stop a war?)
  • Fighting (will you be merciful or ruthless?)
  • Sparring (for fun or to flirt)
  • Meaning (what matters most to you?)

To learn more about the story behind this interactive fantasy game, read my previous HIVE post: the Characters of Their Majesties’ Pleasure.

To play, go to Heart's Choice and try the first 3 chapters for free!


Thank you for reading! 💖

If you have any questions about this game, please leave a comment and I'll do my best to answer.

Whatever happens, keep singing your song!
Peace @Katrina-Ariel / @LeiaTalon


Check out my books!


Author bio: Katrina Ariel is an old-soul rebel, musician, and author of Yoga for Dragon Riders (non-fiction) and Wild Horse Heart (romance). She writes Fantasy as Leia Talon, including Their Majesties' Pleasure interactive fiction, and books: Shelta's Songbook, Falling Through the Weaving, and Dragons in the Weaving. Visit her website at www.LeiaTalon.com

Sort:  

IMG_8731.jpeg

Yaaass! If you like the spice, much spice you will find. ;)

The amount of options is really nice. It caters to nearly any direction you choose to go. Flirtation is felt with a clear path both toward or around it if wanted. Just enough flirtatious cues to tempt while holding plenty of intrigue into the political plot as well.

It's so great to hear that this has been your experience with the game! That was what I was trying to get across when writing it, and it appears I pulled it off. Yay! Thanks for sharing this!

Congratulations @katrina-ariel! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You received more than 4000 HP as payout for your posts, comments and curation.
Your next payout target is 5000 HP.
The unit is Hive Power equivalent because post and comment rewards can be split into HP and HBD

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP