Hive Book Club Review Contest: Review Of Blood And Ash Trilogy

in Hive Book Club3 years ago (edited)

Screenshot_20210123_074810.jpg
source

Hello, Hivers and all book lovers! One of my hobbies is reading and I don't let a day go by without picking up a book to read. At the start of every year, I set a reading challenge for myself on goodreads.com.

I came across a contest post by the Hive Book Club community and was elated that there is a community for book lovers! Even more, there is an ongoing book review contest! This is my entry.

I'll be discussing my review of a fascinating, gripping fantasy trilogy that I read during the yuletide holidays last year. It's titled the "Blood and Ash" series written by Jennifer L. Armentrout.

This is my first time reading any of this author's books. I have read the first and second books. The expected publication date for the third book is April 20, 2021.

51nh3JnQNsL.jpg
Image from Amazon

From Blood And Ash
This book focus on the privilege denied a young lady referred to as the Maiden - privilege of freedom to be. Right from birth, she was chosen to usher in a new era of the Ascended. This lady had no freedom to air her opinions, to eat what she wanted, to make friends, to interact with people, etc all because of this chosen role. She was secluded and under royal protection.

The story goes on to reveal that the Maiden had been fed with lies from a young age and that the Ascended including the King and Queen were the enemies.

Unless a person gets close to you, he cannot know you. Betrayal hurts more when it's from the one closest to a person. The one she trusted the most, her handsome, dimple cheek royal guard turned out to be the enemy (or not)! The plot twists are invigorating, leaving a reader wanting more at every turn of a page.

518nA6KLZPL.jpg
Image from Amazon

A Kingdom Of Flesh And Fire

The second book narrates the journey of the Maiden (who was no longer a maiden) growing into her powers as it turns out that she's part human, part Atlantian. She tries to understand the ways of the Atlantians and all that would be expected of her as a princess and ultimately as a queen when she marries the Prince of Atlantian, her former personal guard.

With the climactic end of the second book, I knew the third book will be superb. I wish I could lay my hands on the third book and read it up immediately!

The third book is titled The Crown of Gilded Bones and I cannot wait for its release and hope the characters in the book get their deserved ending.

This fantasy series is fiction, captivating, full of action, some romance, and adventures. I loved every single page of this series, my exact kind of read.

I recommend this enchanting fantasy for all book lovers, especially those who love the fantasy genre. More like the vampire and werewolf storyline though it's not immediately visible upon reading the first five chapters of the first book. But as you read along, you begin to understand it.

The author did a good job featuring the characteristics of these nocturnal creatures but not like the ones I am used to. Maybe due to the names given to vampires (Ascended) and werewolves (wolven) in this series. Her writing style made it all the more enjoyable.

I hope you enjoyed my review. What kind of books do you love to read? To participate in this contest, click HERE

Sort:  

Have scribbled this on my books to read list :D

Yay! I'm glad. I would love to know what you think after reading. Thank you ☺️

Woww... The book itself must have had a lot of quality but the review you gave to it is a perfect boost. It's the type of review that will make someone that have never read a book to feel like reading on a daily basis.

I usually prefer reading books that were written with the same language that Shakespeare is known for although I hardly pass on any book seems to have a lot of suspense and plot twist just like you projected this one to you.

Well Done On This One

This is the type of series that I would have loved to be converted to a Korean drama. Lolll... From a bodyguard to an enemy and now, a royalty.

Heheh... Isn't that a perfect twist?

My guess is that you just gave us a snippet of what this book is all about so, anyone that wants to see the full gist can come to your DM. 😬
Hahah... I'm coming

Books written in Shakespearean language? 😳 Now I know you are kidding me. Which Korean movies? 🙄 There are no vampires and werewolves in K-movies!

I'm glad you like the review and it's intention is to get you to read the book. Thank you

No vampires and werewolves in K-movies? Every genre will have some movies of the fantastic. We geeks are everywhere.

Lol, I agree we are everywhere. Just my way of teasing @Kenechukwu97. He loves to watch K-movies 😁. Thanks for the link, I'll check out the movies listed.

I haven't read this trilogy, it's not my favorite genre either, but after your review it made me want to read it. Greetings and success

Then my work here is done! 😄 I'm glad you have interest to read the books. Thanks so much for coming by.

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, I did it again... I just rehived your post!
Week 41 of my contest just started...you can now check the winners of the previous week!
4

Congratulations @kemmyb! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 200 comments. Your next target is to reach 300 comments.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP