Book Review: Cambiare by Avery Ames

in Hive Book Club3 years ago

AveryAmes-book title.jpg

You had me at "Wicked, sultry fae."

Intriguing characters. Gorgeously written. Cambiare by Avery Ames brings adventure and temptation that never let up.

One of my dreams as a writer is for people to love my books the way I love this one. I haven’t stopped recommending it, and I can't wait for the author to publish the sequel.

The atmosphere is like nothing I've ever read, with imaginative settings that drew me into a magical world of danger, deceit, and desire. This was one of those rare books that had me up way too late reading, absolutely invested in the main characters and their twisted journeys.

I wasn't sure about the story at first, as the princess protagonist came off a little pampered for my taste in the opening pages, but she soon redeemed herself in my eyes, showing her rebellious streak. When she escaped from the kingdom and made a deal with a faerie, the story turned wild and wondrous, and I couldn't look away.

When I was contemplating buying Cambiare, the author’s pinned tweet intrigued me, and the book delivered on all points.

AveryAmes-pinned tweet.jpg

Let’s break that down, shall we?


Wicked, sultry fae:

The fae. Oh, the fae. They toy with your heart, some even make you want to love them, but they play by different rules. The relationships between those from faerie and the mortals amongst them got me right in the heart. What an irrisistable combination.

Bipolar, bisexual princess:

I thought the mental health representation in this book was outstanding. As someone with plenty of experience with anxiety, depression, mood swings, and emotions that are so intense they refuse to be contained, seeing all of those things in the main character of this book made it personal. Relatable.

I also enjoyed the fact that Princess Cirelle is attracted to women as well as men. The main romance is m/f, but the princess remembers her previous girlfriend and their secret love affair, bringing layers of depth to the character.

Gothic mystery:

There are more twists in this book than I could count. The story kept surprising me, dragging me deeper into intrigue I needed to understand. But with every question answered, more unfolded, and I kept turning pages…

Decadent atmosphere:

So much this! The writing is delicious, with lush worldbuilding that brought the setting to life in my imagination.

Sexual tension out the wazoo:

Flirting. Angst. Desire. Temptation. The romance is slow-burn and complicated, making me 100% invested in the characters’ emerging love-hate relationship.


AveryAmes-book cover small.jpg
Book images property of Avery Ames. Used with permission.


Cambiare by Avery Ames:


Book description:

Everyone knows the fae are dangerous. Beautiful, capricious creatures, they are as enticing as they are forbidden.

When Princess Cirelle’s brother falls deathly ill, there’s only one sure way to save him: a secret bargain with one of the fae folk. The cost? A year of servitude in the mystical faerie realm. But her new faerie master, Ellian, holds secrets even deadlier than his charming smile.

As she wraps herself in the intrigues of the glittering and blood-soaked Unseelie Court, something new—something dark and delicious—sparks within Cirelle, even as the Court’s debaucheries twist Ellian ever more inhuman. Can Cirelle unravel Ellian’s mysteries and survive long enough to return home before she succumbs to the decadent depravity of the fae?


It’s soooo good! If you like stories about the fae, go get this book!


Here’s where you can find Cambiare:

Amazon: http://bit.ly/amzn-cambiare
B&N: http://bit.ly/bn-cambiare
Goodreads: http://bit.ly/gr-cambiare

Be sure to follow Avery Ames on Twitter: https://twitter.com/AveryAmes

While you're at it, you could follow me on Twitter, too. :) https://twitter.com/LeiaTalon

If you enjoy this book, or any book you read, please leave a review! Reviews on Amazon, Goodreads, Bookbub, or any other online retailer are one of the most important assets for authors.

And if you love a story, tell people about it. There's no higher compliment for an author than having their book personally recommended by readers.


Thanks for reading!

This post is an entry in the January Book Review Contest hosted by the Hive Book Club Community. I'm so happy to see incentives for people who love books to bring that passion to the blockchain!

Please follow me for fun posts about writing, movies, and other awesomeness. 💖 And check out my books below!


Whatever happens, keep singing your song!
Peace @LeiaTalon / @katrina-ariel


Falling preorder twitter image.jpg


Author bio: Leia Talon is an old-soul rebel, musician, mama bear to twins, and author of Shelta's Songbook: a collection of poetry with love notes from an immortal. Falling Through the Weaving the first novel in her fantasy series, is coming 3/3/21. She’s also written two books as Katrina Ariel: Yoga for Dragon Riders (non-fiction) and Wild Horse Heart (romance). Visit her website at www.LeiaTalon.com


quotes banner.jpg

Sort:  

Congratulations @leiatalon! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 2000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 2250 upvotes.
You received more than 250 as payout for your posts. Your next target is to reach a total payout of 500

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

It's too late to upvote noooooooooo. I completely forgot you have a new account, I really need to up my game and learn how to be more reactive?

Bipolar and bisexual ? Bipolarsexual?

Sounds like a lot of fun 😄. I hope that winter is treating you well my friend!

CHeers