You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Book Review of Une Vie, by Guy de Maupassant: Sex as Antagonist

in Hive Book Club3 years ago

Yes, some areas are more conservatives than others in North America. I live in Vancouver, which is more laid back than other areas, but you still need to be aware of the local customs. Just over the weekend, I was at a local beach and saw two (brave) women swimming topless in the cold Pacific ocean, and no one bothered them. They did have an audience of men hanging out trying to get a peek. We consider breasts sexual body parts, so this could make some people uncomfortable, particularly those who are highly religious. We have nudist beaches, however, where you can go and let it all hang out.

You're right that prudishness comes and goes with the times. I read that there was a correlation between economic activity and the length of women's skirts. When the economy is bad, the skirts get longer, and when the economy is doing well, then skirts get shorter. I look forward to better economic times. :)

Sort:  

I've read the bit about skirt length. I'm trying to think back. I remember in the late 60s and in early 70 skirts were really, really short. This was the age of the micro-mini. I remember you had to be careful about climbing stairs because there wasn't much cover :))
However, in the early seventies we went into a great economic decline. I remember getting a civil service job (in April of 1970) and all around me men who had been successful in private industry were taking jobs in my field because they were unemployed. A big comedown for them. I'll have to look at how quickly skirt hems came down as inflation and the recession hit.

To be honest, I have no idea how women can wear skirts of any length. I wore a sarong once as a joke, and I felt vulnerable and embarassed. I can't imagine wearing a mini skirt or kilt for that matter. Vancouver started the yoga-pants revolution, leaving little to the imagination, and I think that when the economy gets better, women are just going to use spray paint. :)

I haven't worn a skirt for years. Or heels :))

True, local customs are to be considered. That's why I never really thought about moving to CA or wanting to live in another place where I must expect too much difference of what I am used to. I wouldn't have wanted to make concessions in this regard. And though I did not like it, I followed the rules during my stays. At the same time I hated to be controlled all the time. For someone who is not used to it, it can be quite depressing.

Thanks for the insight into Vancouver. It's interesting to hear differences. Brave women in deed. I am more thinking of the cold water.

HaHa, yes, there are correlations. But also in the other direction. When times were tough, the skirts became less voluminous for scarcity in resources, like fabric. That's why fashion became functional during world war, for instance (partly, it certainly had also other reasons). So, don't let yourself being fooled when skirts become short again, LOL ;-)

Brave women in deed. I am more thinking of the cold water.

Yes, it was very nippy. I was paying close attention, for research purposes, you see.

So, don't let yourself being fooled when skirts become short again, LOL ;-)

I'll keep my eyes open.

HaHa! Thanks for the laugh!
... very nippy... pffff ... research purposes ...
;-)