You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Book Journal Week 1 : Brave New World

in Hive Book Club • last year

I reckon I'd be putting island too for May-June reading. I need more books to read 😂 I mean with AI these days, we're soon going to dumb down because AI helps us outsource many works including thinking. So, maybe that's how life goes?

Sort:  

I like Island more than BNW tbh, but ever since reading We, I just can't get past how much Orwell and Huxley books seem to be just derivatives built off their takes on reading We. They're all great books and I love them all for their own messages, but having never known about We until after reading most of Orwell and Huxley books it just seems like it's skewed my view on them being so "visionary" because they basically just took the experience of a guy dealing with it and seeing where it was headed and then kind of rewrote their own versions of it.

I don't know if I could ever pick which one I like the most, but somewhere between Huxley, Orwell and Zamyatin, I feel like they did a great job of painting some strong cautionary tales of the future and we as a species have done a great job running headfirst into the problems they tried to warn us about.

I read a series from a British author a year or so ago that dives into a lot of futurism philosophy wormholes about problems we would face as a multi-planetary species. Is he the next great "prophetic author" that people in generations will be saying "man he really saw it all coming?" I dunno, but I enjoy books that really make me think, and this series tends to explore everything from a very morally gray area with different factions using technology, resources, ideologies etc all for their own agendas and to their own means. If you ever run out of things to read, just let me know 😂