ENG/ESP Community Contest #7 : Tell Us About The Best Books That You Read in 2022

g3607.jpg

          I just took a look at the bookshelf to see what books I had to read and which ones I would read again in 2023 when I logged on to HIVE I came across the publication of this Community Contest.

So I didn't think twice and I encouraged myself to close this year in Hive with the participation post.

This year that is ending I had the goal of dedicating more time to learning through courses, so I reduced my reading from one book a week to one a month or so.
Despite having read only 16 books this year, it has not been easy to select which were the best, so I chose the ones that surprised me the most, either by the way they came into my life or by the changes they made in my life.

Without further ado, here is the list of the 3 books that made the biggest impact on my life this year.

  1. Sapiens, a brief History of Humankind by Yuval Noah Harari. In this book where the author narrates the history of mankind in a way that makes me understand why life is the way it is now, he made me realize the power of ideas.
  2. The Almanak of Naval Ravikant: A Guide to Wealth and Happiness. by Eric Jorgenson. The author compiled the ideas that Naval Ravikant has shared in different media and organized them in such a way that it takes you from material issues to mentality, to spiritual aspects, which together helped me realize that I was misdirecting my resources and therefore my life situation was not changing the way I wanted it to.
  3. I chose this last book because the first one talks about the past up to the present, the second one about the changes you can make in the present to have a better future, and the third one gave me a perspective of what awaits us as humanity in the near and distant future. This book is called The Future Goes Faster Than You Think: Technological Convergence is Transforming Business, the Economy, and Our Lives. The authors are Peter Diamandis and Steven Kotler.

image468.jpg

          Of all the books I read, there were 3 that I consciously chose, that I acquired and read because I was looking for answers and help, although they are not the best books you can find, they are helping me to continue transforming my life.

          Following the previous sequence, the 4th book would be Viajar por la Vida by Gaby Pérez Islas. I chose this book because in my family we were going through the process of the death of several loved ones, and no one understood why I took it as very calm, they even told me that I was insensitive. My arguments about my vision of life and death were not enough, so looking for information I found this book written by a thanatologist that expresses without a doubt, much better what I had been telling my relatives.

          I chose the following two books because I decided to become the Architect of my own life, so I needed a guide to be able to design it and do it in the best way.

  1. Do What Matters by Oso Trava. The author of this book has one of the most listened to podcasts in Spanish, I follow him since the first chapters and when he released the book I was not sure about buying it because I had already taken a course from him and I thought I already had all the information I was going to need, but now that I was determined to create a new life I bought it. I still can't measure the impact it has had on my life, but it is helping me a lot in the process.
  2. Unleash your success by Victor Martin. I got to know this book as an audiobook about three years ago, but the truth is that I didn't pay enough attention and dedication to it on that occasion, but I knew that this time it had a lot to contribute to my objectives. Like the previous one, I still cannot measure the impact it has on my life, but I mention it because it is one of the tools that is helping me to design my life.

          I could continue the list, but it would become too long a post and with books that are not of interest to most people, since they are about specific topics such as investments, money, or philosophies such as Buddhism and it could become boring.

          Before closing this post I want to take the opportunity to tell you that I preferred to mention the books I read this year because for 2023 I have set myself the challenge, again, to read at least 52 books, so if reading 16 was complicated to choose the best ones, from 52 it was going to be much more complicated.

          Thanks for reading the post and I hope that if you haven't read any of the first three I mentioned, I encourage you to read them, they are really worth it.



VERSIÓN EN ESPAÑOL


Los 3 mejores libros que leí en 2022

          Acaba de echarle un vistazo al librero para ver qué libros tenía por leer y cuáles volvería a leer en el 2023 cuando al entrar a HIVE me encontré con la publicación de este Community Contest.

          Así que no lo pensé dos veces y me animé a cerrar este año en Hive con el post de participación.

          Este año que está terminando tuve el objetivo de dedicar más tiempo a aprender a través de cursos, por lo que la lectura la reduje de un libro a la semana a uno al mes más o menos.
A pesar de haber leído sólo 16 libros este año, no ha sido fácil seleccionar cuál o cuáles fueron los mejores, así que opté por elegir lo que más me sorprendieron, ya sea por la forma en que llegaron a mi vida o por los cambios que hicieron en mi vida.

          Sin más rodeos te dejo aquí la lista de los 3 libros que más impacto causaron en mi vida este año.

  1. Sapiens, de Animales a Dioses de Yuval Noah Harari. En este libro donde el autor narra la historia de la humanidad de una manera que hace entender por qué es que la vida ahora es como es, me hizo darme cuenta del poder de las ideas.
  2. The Almanak of Naval Ravikant: A Guide to Wealth and Happiness. de Eric Jorgenson. El autor recopiló las ideas que Naval Ravikant ha compartido en dieferentes medios, y los organizó de tal manera que te lleva de los temas referentes a lo material, pasando por la mentalidad, para terminar con aspectos espirituales, que juntos me ayudaron a darme cuenta de que estaba enfocando mal mis recursos y por ello mi situación de vida no tenía los cambios que yo deseaba.
  3. Este último libro lo elegí porque el primero habla del pasado hasta el presente, el segundo de los cambios que puedes hacer en el presente para tener un mejor futuro, y este tercero, me dio una perspectiva de los que nos espera como humanidad en un futuro cercano y lejano. Este libro se llama El Futuro va más rápido de lo que crees: la convergencia tecnológica está transformando las empresas, la economía y nuestras vidas. Los autores son Peter Diamandis y Steven Kotler.

          De todos los libros que leí, hubo 3 que elegí conscientemente, que los adquirí y leí porque buscaba respuestas y ayuda, si bien no son los mejores libros que puedes encontrar, a mí me están ayudando a seguir transformando mi vida.

          Siguiendo la secuencia anterior, el 4to libro sería Viajar por la Vida de Gaby Pérez Islas. Elegí este libro porque en mi familia estábamos pasando por el proceso de muerte de varios seres queridos, y nadie entendía por qué yo lo tomaba como mucha tranquilidad, hasta me decían que era una insensible. Mis argumentos sobre mi visión de la vida y la muerte no les eran suficientes, así que buscando información me encontré con este libro escrito por una tanatóloga que expresa sin duda alguna, mucho mejor lo que yo les venía diciendo a mis familiares.

Los siguientes dos libros los elegí porque decidí convertirme en la Arquitecto de mi propia vida, así que necesitaba una guía para poder diseñarla y hacerlo de la mejor manera.

  1. Haz lo que Importa de Oso Trava. El autor de este libro tiene uno de los podcasts en español más escuchados, yo lo sigo desde los primero capítulos y cuando sacó el libro la verdad no estaba segura de adquirirlo porque ya había tomado un curso de él y creí que ya tenía toda la información que iba a necesitar, pero ahora que estaba decidida a crear una nueva vida lo adquirí. Aún no puedo medir el impacto que ha tenido en mi vida, pero me está ayudando mucho en el proceso.
  2. Desata tu éxito de Víctor Martín. Este libro lo conocí como audiolibro hace unos tres años, pero la verdad no le puse la atención y dedicación necesaria en aquella ocasión, pero sabía que en esta tenía mucho que aportar a mis objetivo. Igual que el anterior, aún no puedo medir el impacto que tiene en mi vida, pero lo menciono porque es una de las herramientas que me está ayudando a diseñar mi vida.

image620.jpg

          Podría seguir la lista, pero se convertiría en un post demasiado largo y con libros que no son del interés de la mayoría, ya que son de temas específicos como inversiones, dinero o de filosofías como el budismo y podría volverse aburrido.

          Antes de cerrar este post quiero aprovechar a contarte que preferí mencionar los libros que leí este año, porque para el 2023 me he puesto el reto, nuevamente, de leer al menos 52 libros, así que si al leer 16 me fue complicado elegir los mejores, de 52 iba a ser mucho más complicado.

          Hola @palomap3 @damarysvibra y @vaitengewon las invito a participar en este concurso.

          Gracias por leer el post y espero que si no haz leído alguno de los tres primeros que mencioné, te animo a que los leas, realmente valen la pena.

Sort:  

Sapiens, a brief History of Humankind by Yuval Noah Harari. In this book where the author narrates the history of mankind in a way that makes me understand why life is the way it is now, he made me realize the power of ideas.

It's a really great book. You have done a very good thing by reading it and sharing it here. I recommend this book to every friend I see. Even the next book is very good as well. (Homo Deus)
I haven't read ''21 Lessons for the 21st Century'' yet, but I'm curious about that too.

Hi arduilcelebren
Thanks for reading the post and for your comments.
I still have to read "homo deus", but it is certainly on my list of books to read.

First I read the one about "21 lessons for the 21st century" that's how I found out about Sapiens hehe. Good book!

¡Amiga que buena selección de libros!
Sin duda leeré algunos de ellos, Sapiens llamo particularmente mi atención.

con libros que no son del interés de la mayoría, ya que son de temas específicos como inversiones, dinero o de filosofías como el budismo y podría volverse aburrido.

¡Ese tipo de libros no son para nada aburridos amiga!, particularmente a mí me llaman mucho la atención ese tipo de temas y sé que a muchas personas aquí en Hive también, espero puedas hablarnos de ellos en otra publicación. 🤓

Hola Valeria Valentina, gracias!

Sapiens 100% recomendadisímo!
Sobre los libros de temas más específicos, con gusto les hablaré sobre ellos.

La verdad no sabía que existia la comunidad de Hive Books Club, así que este es mi primer post, pero leeré bien las reglas de la comunidad para que los posts que realice no estén fuera de lo permitido, y entonces ya empezaré a presentarles los libros que voy leyendo 😊

Dear @mireyalara,
Your support for the current HiveBuzz proposal (#199) is much appreciated but it will expire end of December!
May we ask you to review the new proposal (#248) and renew your support so that our team can continue their work next years?
You can support the new proposal on Peakd, Ecency,

Hive.blog / https://wallet.hive.blog/proposals
or using HiveSigner.
https://peakd.com/proposals/248
We wish you a Happy New Year!

I have made a mental note to get a copy of at least the second book. Somehow, it seems like something I'll enjoy.

52 books for next year? That's very achievable. You can do it. Way to go!

Thanks for the cheering @Cheeamaka 😊

The second book has many interesting ideas about life, work and wealth . I hope you enjoy it a lot!

Gracias por acordarte de mí para mencionarme. El libro de Harari me gustó mucho, es un buen repaso a la historia de la humanidad y ayuda a entender mejor algunos comportamientos humanos.

El Almanaque de Naval Ravikant es el típico que quieres leer pero nunca te pones con él. Lo tengo descargado en el ebook y todo, ahora que me lo has refrescado lo adelantaré en la lista de pendientes, jeje.

El resto no los conocía, al menos a partir de este momento me sonarán si los veo. 🤗

a book a week... amazing! I want to achieve that this year! but I will set a more realistic goal for myself: One book a month.
And as for being an architect of your own life, that sounds really inspiring. And it's not just about the book, it's about why we chose it and what we're left with after reading it for hours. Congratulations, it was a year of good reading for you.

Hi @sofiaquino98
Thanks for comment 😊

1 book a month is a good challenge, but I'm sure that if you propose 2 a month, you will achieve it. It is more a matter of daily reading habit than reading a lot or reading fast.

Do you already have the list of books you would like to read this year?

hello! it is very true what you say. Also that, seeing it on a larger scale sounds more difficult, but a little reading every day is an easy thing to achieve really.

Yeah, I have my list. I'll be sharing it soon in this community :)