How to Kill Men and Get Away with It

in Hive Book Clublast month

You know a book is worth the read when you don't mind staying up all night just so you can see what happens next in every scene. That was absolutely how I felt while reading 'How to Kill Men and Get Away with it'.

Earlier today, I wanted to read a book and I realized that it's been a while since I took out a book to read from my e-library. I scrolled through my library, admiring my treasured collections and finally settled on this book. I chose this book because I wasn't really in the mood for something slow paced or romance-centered. I needed something twisted to distract myself from reality. And I decided to read this particular book as the title looked like it was exactly what I needed. Please bear in mind, this author doesn't have any ill feelings towards the male gender. I only picked this book for the sole purpose of entertainment. I haven't come across any man I'll want to kill and get away with yet. Lol.

How to Kill Men and Get Away with it is a book written in the first person perspective by Katy Brent and tells the story of Kitty Collins, a rich Instagram influencer, a vegan and a sociopath who one night, on her way back from a nightclub after spending time with friends, is followed home by a man who refused to take No for an answer. He begins to molest her on the way to her home and she accidentally pushes him. He falls to the ground littered with broken bottles and dies instantly.

Although what happened was an accident, she is thrilled and excited by not getting caught and decides to go on a killing spree, focusing only on men who wrong women. She feels that she has finally found her mission and purpose in life. But in the midst of all her escapades, she realizes she has a stalker. She waves the stalker aside, thinking it's someone with an unhealthy admiration for her till she finds out that the stalker knows about all her crimes and can easily rat her out in the society. She continues with her mission of eliminating women abusers in the society. Everything continues going well till she mistakes an innocent man for someone else and kills him.

I totally enjoyed reading this book, most especially when a new male character (Kitty's next victim) comes into play. I found myself looking forward to Kitty's next line of action. The author really did a good job with this book as the villain here was so smart and left no traces behind. I love books with smart and witty characters.

The book which centres on the plights of women subjected to constant abuse and molestation by bad men also contained humour. I don't know how Katy Brent managed to work on this without making the book seem dark. Weaving humour into a theme centred on exploitation of women and the activities of sexual predators sure isn't something we come across everyday. I loved the humour in this book.

I also liked how Katy didn't make Kitty an entirely likeable character. She had flaws too and that just made everything flow perfectly.

On the whole, it was a really good read. Although the ending seemed a little rushed and sloppy, all the loose knots were tied completely. This was my first time trying out a book with a female serial killer lead and I'm glad I wasn't disappointed. This book kept me on edge all the time I was reading it. With this, I think I'll be trying out more of this genre.

Would I recommend this book to others? Absolutely. I'll recommend this book to all ye lovers of psychological thrillers out there and ye lovers of dark books all around the world. This is an amazing book you should check out. I loved it and I hope you would too.


All images are screenshots taken by me while reading.

Sort:  

love books with smart and witty characters.

As you should please.

Drawing my conclusion from your beautifully written review, I'm in love with this book. Men don't have to take the show everytime yunno, sometimes they should sit and learn or just dance to women's display of awesomeness.
Thanks for sharing.

Hehe🤭... Oh, you've read it too? The book was amazing. And the fact that it was being meted out to men by women, and not the other way round as we see everyday, makes the book all the more wonderful. I'm glad you like the book too cause I also loved it. Thanks for your beautiful comment dear teknon💕

Yeehaw, this blog post lassos in the excitement of a wild ride through the pages! A thrilling read that keeps you hooked till the last page. The author roped in a mix of suspense, humor, and a touch of darkness that'll keep folks wanting more. Saddle up and give this book a spin - it's a ride worth taking!

The author sure did well in captivating the readers with her style of writing. It sure is a ride worth taking. An amazing one at that😊.

Ride on, storyteller! Your words lasso hearts and minds, makin' this campfire brighter for all of us. Keep that fire burnin' high!

Aye aye sire 🥰. Thank you for you heartwarming comment

Gather 'round, friend. Your words are like a campfire on a chilly night, warming souls and drawing folks together. Here's to the bright tales we each bring to the fire.

Being a fan of psychological thrillers, I think I'll love this book. Kitty seems like an interesting character. The storyline also seems fascinating.
Can't wait to read it.

You read book too? That's beautiful dear Trexane🌺. If you're a lover of psychological thrillers, then you should read it soon. Kitty is amazing and the storyline is fascinating as well.
Do read it and give a review. I'm waiting to see you review on a book I recommended 🤭. Lol

Yeah, I read books.

I'll definitely read it and give my review.