You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Weird, wonderful, memorable: Robert Jackson Bennett’s latest novel The Poisoned Cup

in Hive Book Club4 months ago

I have never heard of this genre! Marvelous imaginations are required to write this stuff, and RJB sure seems to have one of those. I don't see how humans (are they humans?) could triumph against these leviathans, or how trees could grow inside a living body. But then again, we've seen some very strange growings in our own bodies, once unimaginable, too. This sounds so good! It's gotten me thinking (and making up words) and all I've read is your fabulous review.

How happy I am to see you here again. I've missed your words.

We do these ugly, dull things for a reason - to make space where folk can live, celebrate, and know joy and love.”

Sort:  

It's richly imagined, for sure - the 'trees' are more like bamboo, and the description is lurid, and the contagion is all too believable (Wuhan labs, anyone?). I loved seeing engineers and road builders get some glory and praise. :) I'm glad we have no giant sea beasts heading to the coasts, smashing up cities. (Knock on wood!)
Thanks for reading and commenting!