You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Book Review: Women of Western New Brunswick, by Anne Murphy

in Hive Book Club9 months ago

You are amazing! What a wonderful review of the book, A.G. @agmoore. Although no luxuries or services to help women like today, there is a powerful and emotional connection in their stories.
Anne will love your review. She is not on Hive but I will copy it for her.

Thank you for this, my friend. ♥️

Sort:  

Hello dear @redheadpei,

This week, for the first time in many years, I took a flashlight into bed and tried to read under the covers as my husband slept. That book was hard to put down.

The contributors all had engaging voices (so genuine) and the stories were gripping. I did see my mother in some (many) or the women. From feeding the fire, to hauling water in a pail, even to scrounging so there would be food on the table. People really are the same the world over, especially mothers.

I'm very happy you liked the review. It was pleasure to write. Hope the rest of your week is great.

♥️

Dear A.G @ agmoore.
This is the reply from Anne Murphy. She wanted me to send it on to you. I copied and pasted it in here.

What a lovely, gracious response. Thank you, friend @redheadpei.

I'd like to respond, if you would share this with Ms. Murphy:

Dear Ms. Murphy,

Thank you for your gracious comment. So many points in your note strike me. I am also a scribbler. Writers are a distinct breed, with great respect for each other and the effort that goes into our work.

A few years ago I got the book publishing bug. I wrote and wrote, almost without stopping to take a breath. I recovered from that phase, but retain a great regard for and understanding of other writers.

It is a gift to all of us that you have published these life stories. More than that, it is a gift to the contributors. In less sophisticated times, community members would sit around a fire and tell the stories that mattered to family and friends. Tradition was nourished and passed on. Your book serves that function. Contributors are able to tell the stories that matter to them, that help to define their place in time.

Thank you for all the time and effort it took to solicit the stories, to compile them and publish them. I truly did enjoy this book and will be reading it again.