Hotel K - One of the most interesting Non-Fiction books I've ever read


image.png

Hotel K, by Kathryn Bonella, is by far one of the most interesting non-fiction books I've ever read. I got this book gifted to me from a friend in Singapore... god, had to be 10 years ago or more now. We, unfortunately, didn't stay in touch and over the years I've lost contact with her but I will be forever thankful that our friendship put this book in my hands.

It is, as the giant text on the front says - a 'shocking look inside Bali's most notorious jail'. Or, the most notorious one at the time. Corruption is rampant, violence is common, and there's little light in this dark place. The inmates that discuss their incarceration are surprisingly candid about the life they live in Hotel Kerobokan, and it's often a disturbingly unpleasant life. Money and connection can seemingly get you anything in Kerobokan.

The book itself is a page-turner. It's honestly really difficult to set down, and for me at least, part of that is bolstered by the photos included in the center of the novel which show the inmates that are interviewed and some of the conditions they live in. I definitely flipped back and forth more than once just so I could add a face to the prisoner I was reading about.


20210304_162838.jpg

Among the pedophiles, rapists, and murderers are both drug dealers/smugglers, and tourists simply caught with drugs. It's a real melting pot of different offenses. Notable among the inmates at the time of the book's writing was Gordon Ramsay's brother who had been taken in for his proclivity to slamming through heroin like Charlie Sheen slams through hookers and blow.


20210304_162847.jpg

Everything happens within Kerobokan. Marriages, births, games, and tournaments.

I've read this several times now, and my copy has pages falling out of it so I'll likely have to re-purchase it sooner or later, as this is honestly one of the very best non-fiction books I've ever read.

No matter what kind of books you generally like, I honestly think if you give this one a try you'll be engrossed and unable to put it down within just a couple pages - I know I was, and it's well outside of my normal Fantasy / Sci-Fi books that I read.

Sort:  

Ramsey's brother too?
Added to the list of books to look for :D

hahah yeah. I think I looked it up later and he's not in Kerobokan anymore, but the bits that mention him are pretty interesting. The whole thing is though, honestly. It's such a good read.

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

Congratulations @sanguinehaze! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 2750 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 3000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Feedback from the March 1st Hive Power Up Day
Hive Tour Update - Financial stages

You've found an interesting book ! I only watched the documentary about the place and passed through the prison several times when I lived in Bali. And recently, I was into exploring prison system all over the world. I wonder if you have watched this captivating documentary about the prison.

I had no idea that this was even a thing! Thank you so much, I'll check this out for sure!