MY Reading Journey Part 3 (The Making Of Manager by Julie Zhuo)

My Re (1).png

Good morning everyone!🔆

Today is a bit different from other days. I'm doing my one-hour morning reading routine at the train station because I just got back from a concert in Kediri, one of the cities in Indonesia. It’s pretty hot in Kediri, but I still have to stick to my routine.

Well, welcome back to my morning reading session! It's my new habit to get back into reading regularly after my healthy morning jog.

Now, let's continue into Chapter Two, which the author has titled "Your First Three Months"

The question “What turned out to be more challenging than you expected, and what was easier than you expected?” really got me thinking. It’s a great prompt to reflect on our own experiences and learnings. As I read through this chapter, I found myself contemplating my own journey and the surprises along the way.

Julie Zhuo begins this chapter by categorizing the path of a manager into four distinct roles:

  1. Apprentice: This is where you find yourself when your manager’s team is expanding, and you’ve been given the responsibility to manage a part of it. It’s like being given a piece of a bigger puzzle to solve and fit into the larger picture.

  2. Pioneer: Here, you are one of the first members of a new group, responsible for its growth and success. It’s a role filled with excitement and challenges as you build something from the ground up.

  3. New Boss: This scenario involves stepping into an already established team, either within your current organization or a new one. It’s about taking the reins and guiding a team that has its own history and dynamics.

  4. Successor: In this role, you take over from your previous manager who has decided to leave. You inherit their responsibilities and the existing team, which can be both daunting and rewarding.

After explaining these roles, Zhuo encourages us to reflect on our own paths and choose which one resonates with our experiences. This exercise helps in understanding our strengths, areas for improvement, and the kind of challenges we might face in each scenario.

Screen Shot 2024-06-12 at 21.30.19.png

From my perspective as a reader, this chapter provides a clear framework to identify where we stand in our career journeys and what to expect. It’s insightful to see how each role comes with its unique set of challenges and opportunities.

Reflecting on these paths, I realize how important it is to be adaptable and open to learning, no matter which role we find ourselves in.

So far, this is my reading progress for today. I'm a bit tired from the trip and not very focused, but at least I’ve managed to continue this habit. See you in the next part tomorrow!

Sort:  

Congratulations @silvercrown1! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You received more than 500 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 600 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

LEO Power Up Day - June 15, 2024