Days at the Morisaki Bookshop i By Satoshi Yagisawa

Greetings everyone, I'm back here once again to tell you about a book I read earlier this year. This is not one of those reviews where we are used to reading wonderful things, because like everything in life, not everything is perfect. I hope you like it.

There are books of books, we are always looking for anything that they offer us: any plot, any story, and any genre. Sometimes they offer us absolutely nothing, and this is when we get disappointed. I think Takako's story could have progressed far beyond just working in her uncle's bookstore.

Spanish


Saludos a todos, estoy de vuelta una vez más por aquí para hablarles de un libro que leí a principios de año. Esta no es una de esas reseñas en las que estamos acostumbrados a leer cosas maravillosas, porque como todo en la vida, no todo es perfecto. Espero que les guste.

Hay libros de libros, siempre buscamos cualquier cosa que nos ofrezcan estos: cualquier trama, cualquier historia, y cualquier género. A veces no nos ofrecen absolutamente nada, y aquí es cuando nos decepcionamos. Creo que la historia de Takako pudo avanzar mucho más allá del simple hecho de trabajar en la librería de su tío.

Morisaki.png

Days at Morisaki Bookstore is about Takako, a 25-year-old woman who was broken up with because her boyfriend had another girlfriend and got engaged to her. With this breakup also came another event, she was fired from her job, so she ended up helping out at the Morisaki bookstore, which has been in her family for many years.

It could have been a painful novel, one of resurgence, one of overcoming everything to the fullest. It could have been one of love, of self-help, of self-improvement, of adventure, of talking a lot about books... But it was none of this, it was nothing at all. Flat characters, without development that started from a pretty solid premise, but it was as solid as the sidewalk of my street. Not like the wooden floor of a big theater, moldable, where great plays could be performed and not just an empty space where people pass by. An empty story that left me wanting more.

Spanish


Los días en la librería Morisaki trata de Takako una mujer de 25 años a la que le terminaron porque su novio tenía otra novia y se había comprometido con esta. Con esta ruptura también ocurrió otro evento, la despidieron de su trabajo, así que terminó ayudando en la librería Morisaki, que pertenece desde hace muchos años a su familia.

Pudo ser una novela dolorosa, una de resurgimiento, una de sobrepasar todo al máximo. Pudo ser de amor, de autoayuda, de superación, de aventuras, de hablar mucho de libros… Pero no fue nada de esto, no fue nada de nada. Personajes planos, sin desarrollos que partían de una premisa bastante sólida, pero fue tan sólida como la acera de mi calle, no como el piso de madera de un gran teatro, moldeable, donde se pudieran representar grandes obras y nos solo un espacio vacío por donde pasa la gente. Una historia vacía que me dejó con ganas de más.

image.png

She was very excited about what could happen in that bookstore, that she would discover great stories, that she would find a story of passion from her ancestors, something must have happened. And there was love, but it was not enough, it was not passionate. There was a resurgence, but it was empty, Takako from one day to the next felt better, without any explanation. Her uncle had a better story, which, although it had a good development, it also lacked that climax needed to leave us happy (or sad), to leave us with some feeling.

You may already notice that I ended up quite disappointed, despite having quite a few recommendations on SSRs, I fell for it once again, and I don't think it deserves that much, unfortunately.

Spanish


Estaba muy entusiasmada de lo que podría pasar en esa librería, que descubriera grandes historias, que encontrara una historia de pasión de sus antepasados, algo debió pasar. Y es que sí hubo amor, pero no fue suficiente, no fue apasionado. Hubo un resurgimiento, pero fue vacío, Takako de un día para otro ya se sentía mejor, sin ninguna explicación. Su tío tenía una mejor historia, que aunque tuvo un buen desarrollo, también le faltó ese clímax necesario para dejarnos felices (o tristes), que nos dejara algún sentimiento.

Ya pueden notar que terminé bastante decepcionada, pese a tener bastantes recomendaciones en las RR. SS., caí una vez más y no creo que merezca tanto, lamentablemente.

I don't know if it's because it's a story written by a Japanese author, Satoshi Yagisawa, who comes from a culture where stories are generally more subtle and simple, I could be wrong. Maybe there are great stories by Japanese authors out there, and I'm determined to get it. If you know of any, I'd love to get recommendations on them to see how I do and be able to make a comparison. For now, what I'm left with is surviving this disappointment and trying to get over it.

I'm hoping that my next read will leave me with something, no matter how fanciful the story, that will at least bring a tear or a smile to my eye. That will encourage me to keep reading and whatever sinks me into blocking. Fortunately, it was short, so I don't feel bad or feel like I wasted my time. You can also learn from bad readings.

Spanish


No sé si es por ser una historia escrita por un autor japonés, Satoshi Yagisawa, quien proviene de una cultura en la que las historias generalmente a son más sutiles y simples, puedo estar equivocada. Tal vez haya grandes historias de autores japoneses allá afuera y estoy decidida a conseguirla. Si saben de alguna, me encantaría que me las recomendaran a ver qué tal me va y poder hacer una comparación. Por ahora, lo que me queda es sobrevivir a esta decepción e intentar superarla.

Espero que mi próxima lectura me deje algo, por muy fantasiosa que sea la historia, que al menos me saque una lágrima o una sonrisa, que me animé a seguir leyendo y lo que me hunda en bloqueo. Por fortuna fue corta, así que no me siento mal ni siento que perdí el tiempo. De las malas lecturas también se aprende.

Soy Laloreto Banner.gif

  • Banners realizados en Canva Pro
  • Fotografías realizadas en mi POCO x3 PRO
  • Source 1, Source 2
Sort:  

Qué lástima que no haya resultado ser una buena lectura. Tengo pensado leerla, ya contaré que tal me pareció 🩷