SHORT STORY SERIES - The Night Moth With a Crooked Feeler by Clara Dillingham Pierson

in Hive Book Club4 months ago

23zGwTfnsgNowU6Fbu7Ludt9RawWgAkECcvXd2NqHBEx9VNoM8MzoL5PivT7rjCwLCkk6.png

spacer_yellow.png

I still haven't gotten over my reading and writing block. The rut has been demotivating. I can't seem to have even the slightest desire to write or even read. Two days ago, I finally was able to pull myself together and pick up a book to kick start my reading year. I started with Beyond Good and Evil by Fredric Nietzche. The preface isn't encouraging to be honest. I could barely understand what was being said, but I will continue... until I can't, lol. I finally picked up a short story also, randomly, and decided to read it; maybe it might spur me into reading an actual book.

spacer_yellow.png

  • Author - Clara Dillingham Pierson
  • Title - The Night Moth With a Crooked Feeler
  • Originally Published - -
  • Genre - Fiction, Short Stories

PLOT

The author tells the story of a female moth who meets age long moth friend who fancies her. She eventually snubbed him thinking of him not enough for her. She is with a crooked feeler and is getting bullied by other moths until he eventually comes and stands up for her even though she has treated him harshly.

SETTING

There is no mentioned location in the story.

CHARACTER(S)

Miss Cecropia - the main character
and others who were not named

PURPOSE

The true message of the book is to not judge a book by its cover.

spacer_yellow.png

At first glance, this might not seem like much, but the message in this story is quite amazing. The author can embed different lessons and virtues into the story, and one is surely to pick out a thing or two. The story truly teaches the lessons of loyalty and true kindness. The lesson of how we can get blinded by other people's opinions while neglecting the reality of our ability. A true gem. I enjoyed the story as it had good diction, a well-laid-out structure, and a decent storyline. I will rate it a 2.9 out of 5. I will also recommend it for leisure.

spacer_yellow.png

Thank you for reading my short story review. I tried not to give spoilers, :). Everything said herein is my own opinion. If there is anything I might have missed out, misinterpreted, or quoted wrongly, please do point to me in the comment. It's a short free online story on American Literature. Till next time. Cheers.

Sort:  

This post has been manually curated by @bhattg from Indiaunited community. Join us on our Discord Server.

Do you know that you can earn a passive income by delegating to @indiaunited. We share more than 100 % of the curation rewards with the delegators in the form of IUC tokens. HP delegators and IUC token holders also get upto 20% additional vote weight.

Here are some handy links for delegations: 100HP, 250HP, 500HP, 1000HP.

image.png

100% of the rewards from this comment goes to the curator for their manual curation efforts. Please encourage the curator @bhattg by upvoting this comment and support the community by voting the posts made by @indiaunited.

Thank you @bhattg 🫂

It's how you would talk commendably about a book but give it barely 3 stars in the end. Lol
I'm sorry about your creative block dear. I can relate to it, as you know. But I wonder what we can do about it.

it's always underwhelming at some point, lol

We will probably pray ourselves out of it, lol