Asking My Mom For Help aka An Update on My Upcoming Book - Hypersensitivosaurus and Cold Turkey

Hypersensitvosaurus and Cold Turkey.png


As we grow older and reach - let's say - our 30s, it seems like we no longer ask our parents for advice. Or, in other words, it feels like we become our parents parents. Where, in the past, we used to ask our mom and or dad for advice on almost anything, this becomes pretty much an exception when we reach adulthood.

Sorry mom and dad. It doesn't mean I love you less ;<)

Today I felt like reaching out to my mom for help. I asked her, a couple of months ago, to proofread my first book. FYI: she spent the majority of her childhood ( age 3 to 18 ) in English speaking countries, while I grew up in The Netherlands. My English is very good, her English is excellent.

Today I decided that I need her help to hopefully get unstuck with my writing. In other words, to give me some editing advice.

And then, as soon as I decided to do so ( before I even reached out to her ), the writing started to flow again.

I'm still not entirely unstuck but it seems like just the intention to ask my mom for help and advice, today, seems to have unlocked something unexpected.

Could this be the key to me finishing something, for a change my book?

You might want to try this yourself: Ask for help or even just ponder the idea of asking for help on something that you're stuck with, something that your postponing. You might want to practice asking for help, just because you hardly ever do so, thereby making things harder than necessary. Asking for help is actually a sign of power, not weakness.


Funny enough, all of this happened on the day when I finally got the solar system - of the house that I am renting since the start of May - up and running. I had to practice a lot of patience for this: 7 weeks.

When energy starts flowing, it starts flowing on all kinds of levels. In fact, as I mentioned in my recent write up: Everything is Energy


Part 3.png

I thought that it might be fun to show the above disclaimer to you all. To be honest, I'm not sure whether I will add this part to the book but I might. It was merely meant as some of kind of excuse to re-use some material that I wrote for National Novel Writing Month in November 2019. It still feels like a waste to not use any of those 50k words, even though it spawned this (series of) Hypersensitivosaurus book(s)

Let's wrap things up by saying that I am looking forward to share my writing with my mom in the coming days. She said she would be honored to give me some advice.
Such a humble woman ;<)

It's nice to hear this.

What I feel even more excited about though is the fact that it feels like I'm finally nearing the end of my first book. At least that's what my intuiton tells me and what I told her over the phone today: I feel that it can be finished pretty soon, after receiving her advice.

Now I shouldn't forget that I'm also planning to add some drawings / sketchies to the book. It won't be mere text. But, as the drawings will be more like sketches than detailed drawings, that shouldn't take too much time.

I am considering to also make some more detailed art to promote the book but all of that can be done at a later time.

Exciting times that I just wanted to share with you all, my dear readers!


P.S. The screenshot above this post was written today. It's a reworking of earlier material. Although it's far from perfect, I must say that I am really enjoying where it's going. I'm feeling it.

Sort:  

What do you mean people stop asking their parents for advice in their 30s x_x I guess this further proves that I'm defective XD

I have only ever asked for advice about stuff like buying houses and finance and cooking and probably some other such life things that I can't think of at the moment, they're not going to be able to help me with 3d and I'm not sure if they'd be into the stuff I make even if they like looking at the pictures XD

I don't get stuck, I kind of have the opposite problem of eternal frustration of SO MUCH TO DO but I have to do other things that waste time x_x

But I have found that I actually need to complain about something out loud to someone else (usually my sibling) or just post the pic/fic I'm glaring at and THEN I'll actually see all the stuff I suspected I was missing so I feel like you're definitely on to something there ;D

but I won't fix it when it's posted unless it's a massively glaring thing like an entire section missing or a spelling error, it'll be a thing to keep in mind for next time otherwise I will be forever fiddling with things and nothing would ever be "done" because nothing is ever "done" with me x_x

Yay for being close to finished :D

What do you mean people stop asking their parents for advice in their 30s x_x I guess this further proves that I'm defective XD

As a storyteller, I tend to exaggerate but there's always truth behind my ( semi ) jokes.

But I have found that I actually need to complain about something out loud to someone else (usually my sibling) or just post the pic/fic I'm glaring at and THEN I'll actually see all the stuff I suspected I was missing so I feel like you're definitely on to something there ;D

You get it! As long as we don't share our struggles with the universe, it won't know how to fix things ;<)

Congrats on getting the solar system back up and going. I've never heard of the Reedsy program, but from your screenshots I can see its purpose. I might have to check it out, I've always wanted to publish an e-Cookbook.

Cheers Justin :<)

Reedsy is pretty awesome and the free version is already quite spectacular but I must admit that I still use Open Office too as that gives me a different reading option and thus 'feel'.

Hey, that sounds great!!
Looking forward to the "I finished my first novel" post! <3

I'm always grateful for advice on my art. It's so helpful to have another pair of eyes taking a look, that hasn't stared at the painting for days already ^^

I'm always grateful for advice on my art. It's so helpful to have another pair of eyes taking a look, that hasn't stared at the painting for days already ^^

Definitely. Although some might question whether it's a good thing to ask your #1 fan ;<)

Thank you!
xx

Congratulations @vincentnijman! You received a personal badge!

Happy Hive Birthday! You are on the Hive blockchain for 4 years!

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Day - July 1st 2021 - Hive Power Delegation

I didn’t plan on showing my full work to my parents but they found it through some careless social media posts 😂. They liked it though. I think your stuff is more family friendly though 😛