ASPARAGUS KALE LEMON CREAM RED RICE PASTA (VEGAN AND GLUTEN-FREE)

PXL_20220225_100159454.PORTRAIT.jpg

Good morning beautiful people. It’s very early morning here in Cambodia. I got up at 4:30 am. The cat decided for me that I had slept enough! Today we have no outdoor activities planned as we need to go to the capital for a health checkup and lots of shopping for the bakery and myself.

Since I woke up so early and we are only leaving at 10 am, I thought let’s use this time to quickly share yesterday’s quick and easy dinner, before we venture out into the concrete jungle. I hate going to Phnom Penh. It is a crazy busy, polluting, and stinky city, but I look forward to the food. Though many people worldwide are turning to a plant-based diet, In Cambodia places to eat out that provide yummy vegan options are still minimal, unless you are in Phnom Penh or Siem Reap.

Another thing I look forward to is buying my first pair of climbing shoes. If you read my previous post then you might remember me telling you about our new hobby: rock climbing. We love it so much that we decided that it is time to invest in a pair of climbing shoes. They are not cheap but I am done wearing the rented ones. It’s not that they are stinky or very disgusting, but I would prefer to have a pair that’s mine. Climbing shoes are very flexible shoes and take on the shape of your foot, which makes climbing easier…. Or so they say lol!

PXL_20220225_100319028.PORTRAIT.jpg

ASPARAGUS KALE LEMON CREAM RED RICE PASTA (VEGAN AND GLUTEN-FREE)


Yesterday I came home after a busy week at work. Both my hubby and I didn’t feel like spending much time in the kitchen, yet we were super hungry and craving a delicious, filling meal.

Though I didn’t quite time this pasta recipe, it felt like it was on the table in a matter of minutes. Both my husband and I are no rice eaters. I know this might sound strange as we are living in South East Asia where rice is a staple food. However, we do love this gluten-free red rice pasta they started selling here in the supermarket a few months ago.

Though we are not on a strict gluten-free diet, we try to avoid gluten as much as possible. My husband has an autoimmune disease which we have been managing through the power of whole foods for over 10 years. You have to do without a few things, but hey it is better than taking medicines. Giving up gluten most of the time isn’t that difficult anyway.

PXL_20220225_092439823.PORTRAIT.jpg

INGREDEINTS (serves 2-3)


  • 1 pack of red rice pasta
  • 4 cups asparagus, chopped
  • 2 cups kale, chopped
  • 2-3 cloves of garlic, minced
  • ½ cup onion, chopped
  • ¾ cup raw cashews, soaked
  • ¾ cup unsweetened almond milk (or any other plant-based milk of your choice)
  • Black pepper and Himalayan pink salt to taste
  • ½-1 lemon juice only
  • 1 Tbsp nutritional yeast + more for topping (optional)
  • ½ tsp onion powder
  • ¼-½ cup fresh parsley, chopped

PXL_20220225_092928470.PORTRAIT.jpg

DIRECTIONS


Saute onions for a few minutes, then add garlic and cook for 30 seconds to 1 minute more. Make sure to not burn the onions and garlic.

PXL_20220225_093951714.PORTRAIT.jpg

Add the onion-garlic mix, soaked cashews, almond milk, lemon juice, nutritional yeast, onion powder, fresh parsley, black pepper, and Himalayan pink to a blender to make the creamy sauce. Process until smooth and creamy. Set aside.

PXL_20220225_094319774.PORTRAIT.jpg

PXL_20220225_095354030.PORTRAIT.jpg

In a pan, cook the asparagus in cooking oil of your choice until soft. When they start to soften add the kale and cook until wilted — season with black pepper and Himalayan pink salt to taste. Do not add too much pepper and salt as you already have seasoned the sauce with it too!

PXL_20220225_095103980.PORTRAIT.jpg

Meanwhile, cook the rice pasta in lightly salted water. Follow the instructions on the package.

PXL_20220225_095634635.jpg

Mix the cooked and drained pasta with the sauce and asparagus-kale mixture.

Optional: sprinkle nutritional yeast on top to add an extra cheesy flavor.

PXL_20220225_100111904.PORTRAIT.jpg

PXL_20220225_100236198.PORTRAIT.jpg

PXL_20220225_100314839.PORTRAIT.jpg


WISHING YOU ALL A HAPPY AND HEALTHY DAY ღ ღ ღ


signature-new.png


ALL CONTENT IS MINE AND ORIGINAL!

PICTURE(s) TAKEN WITH GOOGLE PIXEL 3 XL


LET'S CONNECT!


Website - Facebook - Google+ - Twitter - Pinterest - YouTube


🥑🍓🍆 FIND MORE YUMMY PLANT-BASED CREATIONS BELOW 🥑🍓🍆


NO-BAKE VEGAN STICKY DATE CARAMEL SQUARES

WILD FERMENTATIONS - FERMENTED ITALIAN BASIL PASTE

QUINOA CARROT BURRITOS WITH ROASTED VEGGIES

BLOOD ORANGE-INFUSED SPELT CINNAMON ROLLS

Sort:  

https://leofinance.io/threads/view/itsme9001/re-leothreads-2ppxgcaez
The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people ( itsme9001 ) sharing the post on LeoThreads,LikeTu,dBuzz.

🙏💚 thank you

You are my hero! You keep me in check with your delicious and nutritious lifestyle. I am inspired every time I see what you eat and create.

Yum yum yum....oh and also yum!!!!😋

Thanks for your recipe and inspiration!

Thanks beautiful! Likewise. I always enjoy looking at your creations. I hope that we can cook something together one day 💚


BANNER AMAZING.png You've been curated by @amazingdrinks! Delegations welcome!
Find our community here

Curation Trail

Thank you 🙏💚

You've been curated by @plantpoweronhive! Delegations welcome!

Find our community here

Curation Trail

Delicious. I must say I prefer alternative pastas - they have more substance and taste to them!

Thanks. I am so happy that we finally are able to buy them here in the supermarket as I am not that adventures to make my own pasta. Have a beautiful day

Maintaining a gluten free diet is so hard just at first. I'm glad you and your husband have found a way to eat delicious foods that keep you off medications you can avoid. And yet, I must say, maintaining a plantbased + gluten free diet is a challenge.

That rice pasta looks excellent. So far, I haven't found one that I like, but I'm a professional rice eater 😁

Good luck with your shopping. Hopefully you find some good climbing shoes at a good price, @amy-goodrich 🖤🌿

It is hard indeed but luckily we both love cooking and experimenting in the kitchen. So many great non gluten containing alternatives.

We hardly eat rice, even though we live in Asia but I love this rice pasta.

Climbing shoes ✅

Have a beautiful day ❤️

It's tempting, I like your salad variant that is mixed with noodles. Very innovative!

image.png

Felicitaciones!

Gracias por deleitarnos con tan magnífica publicación, la cual fue valorada por @Womentribe una comunidad para destacar el valioso potencial del ser humano.

*Sigue nuestras cuentas:
@Womentribe
suscribete aquí @colmena-139925
twitter
Instagram

  • Te invitamos a formar parte del trail de curación

Thank you. I will keep #womentribe in mind when I make my next post.