PLANT BASED CHALLENGE | TROPICAL SUPER SMOOTHIE BOWL 🌱🥣🌴

PXL_20220330_075715890.PORTRAIT.jpg

Greetings plant-based munchers and food lovers! For more than 10 years, my hubby and I have been drinking a green smoothie every single day. Sometimes we have them as breakfast while other days we have them as a power snack after our daily 30 to 45 minutes of high-intensity interval training (HIIT).

Ever since we moved to Cambodia we have been blessed with a beautiful garden packed with tropical fruits. Papayas don’t really have a season, the passion fruits seem to be growing year-round too, but I am so thrilled about the first mangoes of this season. Which has started very late this year. We should have had our first ripe mangoes weeks (even not months) ago.

PXL_20220330_013811684.PORTRAIT.jpg

FYI: the yellow, ripe papaya in the pic is the one I used for this recipe!

PXL_20220330_080003579.PORTRAIT.jpg

The weather has been very strange of late. Though it should be dry season, it rains nearly every day. We just cut the grass a few weeks ago and it is again at knee height. Around this time of the year the grass usually looks very brown and sad... but not this year. Maybe that’s one of the reasons why the mangoes are so late. Plus, there aren't as many mangoes on the trees either!

But on the other hand, the papaya trees and the passion fruits seem to love this weather. Though the passion fruit vines are slowly taking over the back of our garden, we still don't have enough to have them every single day or give them to friends and neighbors. So no passion fruits in this recipe!

Papayas and mangoes on the other hand we got plenty. The other day our biggest papaya tree collapsed under its own weight. We are trying to ripe the fruits in the sun on the terrace and I am researching green papaya dishes, pickles, and ferments. Tips on what to do with green papaya are more than welcome….

This (see pic below) is what we still have after making green papaya salads and giving a bunch away to the neighbor who loves them green. Cambodian people love unripe fruits. They eat it with a mix of salt, sugar, and chili peppers. Not my cup of tea!

copy-PXL_20220330_080210619.MP.jpg

Since we got so many papayas and mangoes at the moment, I decided to make a papaya-mango smoothie bowl topped with other plant goodness.


This is my entry for the The Brand New PLANT-BASED challenge: Super Smoothie!, powered by @plantpoweronhive. Click the link for more info about the challenge.


PXL_20220330_075234036.PORTRAIT.jpg

TROPICAL SUPER SMOOTHIE BOWL


Below you will find my ingredient list. However, if you are making your own you can add any fruit, leafy greens, and toppings of your choice.

INGREDIENTS AND THEIR BENEFITS


All ingredients I used to make this smoothie bowl are packed with health-promoting vitamins, minerals, fiber, and antioxidants to boost your health and happiness.

Instead of boring you with a long list of health and nutrition facts about each ingredient, I decided to give you one fact about each nutrient you might not know about.

PXL_20220330_072458871.jpg

PXL_20220330_013854229.PORTRAIT.jpg

PXL_20220330_014147849.jpg

  • Papaya - is a super fruit when it comes to digestion and digestive health. Many years ago, a friend of mine was battling cancer and going through chemotherapy. Since he was too weak to take care of himself, we cooked for him on the days he was not in the hospital. Papaya smoothie was a daily item on the menu as it helped him to combat nausea caused by the chemotherapy. Also, Did you know that you can eat the seeds? They have anti-parasite properties. We often toss them in our smoothies as the tropics are home to many parasites.

  • Mango - recently an Indian friend told me that mangoes are known as “The Love Fruit” because they are thought to increase male virility. After a quick google search, I found that mangoes contain a lot of vitamin E which might help regulate sex hormones and boost sex drive.

  • Kiwi - next to adding a delicious, nutrient boost to your smoothies or breakfast bowls, kiwi fruits are also often used in DIY face masks thanks to the abundance of alpha-hydroxy acids, vitamin C, E, and K. Plus, Kiwis are ideal for exfoliating and nourishing your skin to prevent premature aging.

  • Pink Dragon Fruit (Pitaya) - just like kiwi fruits, pitaya can be used for much more than smoothies and tropical fruit salads. Combined with cucumber juice and honey (think maple or agave might do the trick too to keep it 100% vegan), it creates an aloe vera-like gel that does a great job in moisturizing and bringing the heat down of sunburned skin.

  • Blueberries - are good for your brain. They are rich in a compound called anthocyanins. These little phytochemicals can cross the blood-brain barrier where they are believed to work as an antioxidant to decrease oxidative stress, they also can reduce inflammation, and improve neuron communication.

  • Green Lettuce - leafy greens are among the best foods to eat. They are packed with health-promoting nutrients to fight inflammation, diabetes, cancer, among many other diseases. Though I used simple green lettuce for this smoothie (as this was the only thing I had, we ran out of kale, rocket, and spinach yesterday), the darker the lettuce or leafy green, the more nutrient-dense it is.

  • Almond Milk - from when we were little we have always been told we need to drink milk to get enough calcium to build strong bones. Did you know that 1 cup of almond milk offers 35 percent of the recommended daily amount of calcium? Plus, it tastes so much better. However, make sure to buy from an organic source with no added chemicals or make your own.

  • Chia Seeds - are loaded with complete protein, antioxidants, fibers, and omega-3s. But did you know that they also make the perfect egg replacement for baked goods? If you have been following my blog you might have seen them in some of my recipes. You can make one chia egg by mixing 1 tbsp chia seeds with 3 tbsp water. Let sit for a few minutes and use as you would use an egg in baked goods.

  • Desiccated Coconut - is an ideal fat source. One ounce contains about 80% healthy, saturated fats.

PXL_20220330_074959051.PORTRAIT.jpg

HOW TO MAKE A SMOOTHIE BOWL 🥣


To make the smoothie base, add papaya, mango, and lettuce to a blender. Add a splash of almond milk. Blend at high speed. Add more almond milk if needed. You are looking to create a thick, pudding-like substance so don't add too much liquid.

PXL_20220330_074015595.PORTRAIT.jpg

PXL_20220330_073831094.jpg

Even better, use frozen fruits to make your smoothie base. This will nicely chill down your smoothie bowl and it will resemble a soft-serve ice cream as a base.

Pour the smoothie base into a bowl and top with fresh fruits, seeds, dedicated coconut, or other toppings of your choice.

I used kiwifruit, mango, dragon fruit, blueberries, chia seeds, and desiccated coconut.

PXL_20220330_072947548.jpg

Enjoy!

PXL_20220330_075213259.MP.jpg

PXL_20220330_075623789.jpg

PXL_20220330_075904533.PORTRAIT.jpg

PXL_20220330_075748653.jpg


WISHING YOU ALL A HAPPY AND HEALTHY DAY ღ ღ ღ


signature-new.png


ALL CONTENT IS MINE AND ORIGINAL!

PICTURE(s) TAKEN WITH GOOGLE PIXEL 3 XL


LET'S CONNECT!


Website - Facebook - Google+ - Twitter - Pinterest - YouTube


🥑🍓🍆 FIND MORE YUMMY PLANT-BASED CREATIONS BELOW 🥑🍓🍆


KOREAN-STYLE KIMCHI PANCAKES aka KIMCHIJEON

GLUTEN-FREE LEMON SQUARES

30-MIN ZUCCHINI PASTA WITH AVOCADO PARSLEY SAUCE AND MUSHROOMS

CHOCOLATE-COVERED CASHEW BUTTER AND ROASTED WALNUTS STUFFED DATES

Sort:  

You have the biggest papaya! Combined with the mango and dragon fruit I am drooling a little. Our climate doesn't allow us to grow either papaya or mango. And not for lack of trying! I'm totally with you on the green fruit. Yuck. And we have locals that also love it with salt and chilli

Right? If they should leave them in the tree to ripen they wouldn't need to extra sugar, salt and chili.

I wish I could send you some. Overload here at the moment. Some friends are already asking me to stop bringing papaya as their fridges are still full with them 😂😂😂

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Ohoho that see so delicious 😋🤤

You've been curated by @plantpoweronhive! Delegations welcome!

Find our community here

Curation Trail

😍 so good

Thank you so much for stopping by! have a good day!


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the person sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

Thanks for all the love and support!

Hi @amy-goodrich looks delicious smoothie also very colorful, very beautiful presentation I liked it. success in the contest.

Blessings!

Thank you so much! Smoothie bowls are so much fun to make and you gotta love the colors, right? Have a beautiful day!

Congratulations @amy-goodrich! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You received more than 95000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 100000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Month - Feedback from February day 25
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Love your Foodie post!

Yum! You have been curated @sirenahippie on behalf of FoodiesUnite.net on #Hive. Thanks for using the #foodie tag. We are a tribe for the Foodie community with a unique approach to content and community and we are here on #Hive.

Join the foodie fun! We've given you a FOODIE boost. Come check it out at @foodiesunite for the latest community updates. Spread your gastronomic delights on and claim your tokens.

Join and Post through the Community and you can earn a FOODIE reward.

Banner_followBHcommentsize.png

Thank for the ongoing foodie love and support ❤️

Congratulations @amy-goodrich! Your post has been a top performer on the Hive blockchain and you have been rewarded with the following badge:

Post with the most upvotes of the day.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Day - April 1st 2022
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

fruits look great

Thank you. We are so blessed with our tropical garden and the fruits it produces. Have a beautiful day

What a tasty smoothie!!! I have to admit that I didn’t know if look at the fruits or at the landscape in the background 😂

Professional pictures and amazing post

Btw, I love your tattoo!!

Thank you so much for the lovely compliments. Though we are almost taking off on a new adventure, Cambodia is a very beautiful country filled with yummy tropical fruits. It has been the perfect home for us for the past 8 years but it is time for something else. Have a beautiful day

Cambodia sounds great and I bet it will be a great adventure!!

@amy-goodrich se ve delicioso y los colores una maravilla

Gracias guapa ❤️

That pink pitaya looks so ....wow. I love how the plate looks, so vibrant and fresh. I must say I also love your tattoo, it's very pretty!

Unripe fruits with salt....not my cup of tea either lol

Thank you so much. A lot of love went into the smoothie and tattoo. My friend is a real artist with ink and I like to make art with food 😂 have a beautiful day 😘

Simply amazing! How masterfully made I must add. Great creation.

Thank you 🙏❤️

That bowl really look delicious!

Thank you so much! It was very good indeed. Didn't last very long 😂

I love smoothies but it gets Tring pretty fast. I often take break in between to finish just a full cup of smoothie.

I especially like smoothies when they are dominated by sweet fruits like pineapples and bananas.

I'm yet to taste Kiwi fruit though. It doesn't grow in my part of the world. I wonder what it takes like.🤔🤔

I hope you can try kiwis one day. They are so good. For me bananas are a bit too sweet but definitely a good addition to any smoothie. Have a beautiful day

Thank you... I'll definitely add Kiwis to my list. Who knows? I might find it here in one of the super markets hopefully.

Hi @amy-goodrich! I love this recipe! It is so complete, delicious, and varied. Those papaya plants are beautiful and very productive, I can tell you take good care of them. Thank you very much for participating in the challenge. Best regards.

Thank you so much. It's crazy how many fruits they have. And we got so many trees. They are actually very easy to care for. I am going to miss this garden. But after 8 years Cambodia it's time for something else. Luckily we still have a few more months to enjoy our little tropical.paradise. Take care 😘

OMG this looks delicious! If only I could find these fruits in those sizes here lol. I hope in a few months, in Spain, it's better than here. I'm so inspired by your pictures, so lovely!

Thank you. I hope so too. In a few months we are moving to Portugal for a while so it is the same climate as Spain. Maybe I ll see you there 😉

WOW incredible, that amount of colors that enter through the eyes and stimulate the palate. That must have been very rich. And with fruits from your own garden 😍. For a long time the lechoza was my favorite fruit, I still like it but there are others that I like more like soursop. I love your posts and this one was special.

Ohhh soursop is my tropical favorite. So good. Unfortunately we don't have a tree. Know I am craving soursop lol... Will need to go to the market later. Thank you so much for stopping by.

Well, we have a taste in common. I hope you were able to get the soursop and that it was delicious. Soursop leaves are good as a relaxant and help sleep.😍

Soursops are back on the markets. Bought some earlier this week!!! In soursop heaven lol. Thanks for the tip about the leaves. Will try for my hubby. I, myself am an excellent sleeper. I only have to think about my pillow and I am vast asleep lol. Do you just use them as tea before bed? Have a beautiful day!

Hi @amy-goodrich, thank you so much for letting me know the good news about guabábanas. I'm glad you were able to buy, I'm very happy. Yes, I think the best time to drink soursop leaf tea is before bedtime. I'm usually good at sleeping too haha, I think that's a blessing. I tell you that 9 days ago my father-in-law had a very ugly blood pressure surge on 11/21. It cost him a lot to download it. I was the one who took his blood pressure the first few times and administered captopril twice, then his
daughter and son-in-law who are doctors, continued to give him medication to get it down without success. Rather, perhaps his nerves rose again, because he also had dizziness and had fallen and hit his head.

They left him recovering, trying to calm him down to see if his tension went down, and nothing. I told my sister-in-law that when my mom's blood pressure goes up because of nerves, it only goes down when they give her an anxiolytic, but there was nothing to give her. So I asked my mother-in-law if I could get mint, basil or soursop leaves. So, thank God, she told me that she had basil and a neighbor had a guabánaba plant. We made him a tea with both leaves. Previously, the blood pressure dropped from 11/21 to 10/20 then to 9/17 and then went back up to 10/19. After he had tea, about half an hour later his blood pressure was 15/8 💞

How divine must it be to devour such goodness, sweet and delicious, not to mention nourishing. It looks so beautiful like you. I would be sad after disrupting it with a spoon. Then I would be happy again after I felt it inside me. Yummmmm!!!!😋❤️💚

Aww thanks beautiful ❤️💚💜

Congratulations @amy-goodrich! Your post has been a top performer on the Hive blockchain and you have been rewarded with the following badge:

Post with the most upvotes of the week.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Feedback from the April 1st Hive Power Up Day
The fourth edition of Hive Power Up Month started today. Don't miss it!
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!