Cooking My Childhood Meals From Cassava Ingredients

What's the most fun about cooking? Creating memories on the tongue and in the heart.

988E9E0E-E93E-4583-B917-6F2E27A8670C.jpeg

Cooking is not a mandatory skill that a wife must have. But when you think back, what made a visit to grandma's house memorable? Or when you come home from traveling and then go back to your mother's house? It is their cooking that is always in the mind and heart. The feeling never changes. That is why a woman who has become a wife will be enthusiastic about learning to cook for her family.

B7E9DB91-2EC0-4F6F-BAC0-8311C7A7A490.jpeg

My late mom taught me how to survive by cooking ingredients available around our house from the garden or small forest on the edge of our village.

To be honest, I also miss my mother's cooking. Year after year passes, and all that remains is a grave with countless memories.

I am very grateful to have grown up in a small village far from the city center. Now that I am an adult, I realize that being away from modern markets makes us live healthier with natural products available in the village.

D17AF7F7-59DB-437D-9E71-F9465ED410F3.jpeg

Likewise with the vegetables we eat. As much as possible we do not use chemical fertilizers on what we plant in the garden.

Well, this time I will share a simple menu from Cassava, a local tuber that is popular in our village. Sometimes it is also used as a substitute for rice.




Boiled Savory Cassava

19D9664E-258A-4A19-ACA3-07340EBC15BA.jpeg
Sadly, cassava is underestimated by many people nowadays because the taste of cassava tends to be bland compared to other tubers such as sweet potatoes.

I just remembered how important Cassava was in making us survive in the past. Sometimes, it's just grilled with firewood while we cook other food.

Even though it tastes bland, there is a solution to make Cassava savory. I have a recipe passed down from my late grandma which I then got from my late mom. So, I will share this simple recipe with you.

5B47FE8D-5C27-45F8-9274-D9445E1409B3.jpeg

We only need onion puree, as well as salt for the spices that will be mixed in when the Cassava is boiled. These spices will seep into the Cassava, which will then make the Cassava taste savory and also smell delicious.


Boiled Cassava Ingredients

52F51584-DE51-4579-829B-ADB1AE18AB96.jpeg

  • 2 cassava tubers, or around 300 grams
  • 1 liter of water
  • 3 cloves of garlic and 3 small cloves of onion
  • 1 teaspoon salt

How To Boil Cassava


EBBF21E5-AB93-4378-995D-1265F89A0493.jpeg

ED585665-F87E-499E-8C53-4F4A2ACF6A79.jpeg


First, make onion puree by blending garlic, red onion and salt together. Then, clean the Cassava from their skins. Also, wash them clean. Meanwhile, bring water to a boil. After that, boil Cassava with onion puree.

A6C5DDA0-70FA-48B3-965B-6D44DC4708FB.jpeg

Cook for about 20-30 minutes with pan covered, until the Cassava becomes tender. Can be checked using a fork.




Stir-fry Chives With Tempeh

7EE634CE-3464-40FC-BCA8-85B78E753127.jpeg

Chives are vegetables that are easy to grow in the home garden. We can harvest them by pruning them without removing their roots. So, they will grow again and again.

In our habit, we mix Chives with Tempeh or tofu which is served by stir-frying with slices of red chillies.

This time I only had Tempeh in stock, so I used Tempeh as a mixture of Chives. My mom in law just harvested Chives and gave them to me.

Indeed, how to cook them is very easy. Just chop all the ingredients and then stir-fry them for a few minutes until the texture suits our desired taste.


Stir-fry Chives Ingredients

CFA4FA2D-9847-4391-A980-8D6482CD461C.jpeg

  • One handful of Chives
  • 1 block Tempeh of 1/2 cup of chopped Tempeh
  • red chillies or red bell peppers to taste
  • 3 cloves of garlic, finely chopped
  • 5 cloves of red onion, finely chopped
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon coriander powder
  • 250 ml of water

How To Cook Stir-fry Chives

Stir-fry Seasoning


0C3C9603-82A0-42DA-B89A-93DD723C1237.jpeg

7DF13E1D-29B9-406C-B674-9621BF32125D.jpeg


Preheat oil. Then, add chopped garlic and onion. Stirring them until they are fragrant, then add slices of red chillies.


Cook Chives and Tempeh


A1E4E7DD-A08D-40BA-8D5E-A0F322519776.jpeg

5FE45888-24C8-47FE-8E32-932D4EE19A73.jpeg


Next, add Chives which have been cut into pieces, also Tempeh. Add coriander powder and salt.

C3D4AA5D-F74A-412A-8761-DDE695FD9567.jpeg
Add water and cook them covered. Cook for about 5-7 minutes according to your texture preference.




Serving Methods

239C5A54-D6AF-4AE2-A620-9CA28827ADDA.jpeg

Let's have fun with plating. I always like using ice cream sticks. It will also make it easier for solid foods to be held pleasantly like we eat ice cream.

0A3B0D4E-9E75-4242-BD9E-2571C94CB8B6.jpeg

So, in this plating I used ice cream sticks to serve the boiled cassava. Then, I put them in a small bowl that is separate from the main big bowl.




BB7D1AD0-0F87-4CEB-B794-62FF9C455ED3.jpeg

Apart from that, I also use cleaned Cassava skin. Then, I neatly arranged my cooking results on the Cassava skin. Stunning! ❤️❤️❤️




Thank you for reading my blog and reblog if you want my blog this time worthy of reading by others.

726EF579-247D-405C-AD31-12BC9D190845.jpeg

615FFB80-3D13-4807-8A8E-43EEC3211F23.jpeg

4F7698EC-400F-4FE0-A670-BFD85E4585B2.jpeg




Best Regards,
Anggrek Lestari


B5983B2C-4913-4AE8-8864-368654B44008.jpeg

Who is Anggrek Lestari?

Anggrek Lestari is an Indonesian fiction writer who has published two major books. Now She is a full-time content creator. She has a goal to share life, poem, and food content that makes others happy and can get inspiration.


Contact Person: [email protected]
Discord: anggreklestari#3009


Sort:  

You can make any meal so tempting. You rightly said that cassava in most underestimated . After looking at your dish I realised thi grows in our home too but never been cooked. We once fried it with little salt and pepper and it was kind of eating potato. Hopefully this season I get some more hand on it

Cassava is really great to replace rice for diabetic people 😊

We serve Cassava in boiled way too, also with grated coconut 😊

When I went home recently, I saw our market and how disappointing it is.. Too different from before..
There are fewer vegetables compared to before and I can't buy whatever I want 😅..

I used to say I liked living in a village because of the fresh vegetables.. But now I prefer living in a place with a market complete with all vegetables and fruits that I want lol..
Anyway, cassava was one of the foods that brought so many childhood memories..
You presented yet another simple, yet creative recipe ☺️

!PIZZA

Modern area makes us lose many things especially veggies from village, not many people want to be farmers since work on the city more better maybe

The things we learn from our mothers are never forgotten, on the contrary, as time goes by, the more we cling to them, it's great that you have learned from your mother to know and use the different elements that are at your disposal, that has made you a professional and creative cook
I love the ingredients used, the step by step of cooking, and the presentation of the dish, everything looks delicious
Have a wonderful night dear friend @anggreklestari

Practices everyday makes us perfect 😊 glad I can learn how to cook from my late grandma and my late mom

Thank God i didn't mis out on this one this time. Lol i dot think i have seen a cassava so big as this one before, but it actually okay because you have made me see one now and i should try out this new stuff.

you’re in time 😊
at my our village, we have big cassava like leg 😊

😂 legs you say?? Thats funny though but can be true. i have seen bigger ones but not as this oe i see today. i am coming to your village right away. 🏃 🚙

your recipe for boiled savory cassava and stir-fry chives with tempeh seems delicious and healthy! I especially like the way you used ice cream sticks to serve the boiled cassava. It's a creative and fun way to present the dish.

I also appreciate your reflection on the importance of food in creating memories. I agree that food can be a powerful way to connect with others and to evoke fond memories of the past. I'm sure that your family and friends cherish the meals that you cook for them.

We often remember of people by their cooking. So nice to remember People with all the yummy treats 😊

Hi @anggreklestari, yucca is a delicious tuber, in my country it is regularly prepared in cakes, which is very good by the way, mashed with margarine, fried and in soup, your grandmother's recipe looks delicious and simple to prepare.

Greetings!

In here, we Made many cakes from Cassava Ingredients too

It's really scrumptious and looks stunning eating singIt is absolutely delicious and looks stunning eating cassava on top

Thank you very much for the recipe sister @anggreklestari I will try her

Thank you sis

Deliciously appetizing. Cassava dish is very unique. Thanks for sharing .

In my country, we replace rice with cassava sometimes 😊

CKq55bDMMa5C9zjdaYBZxnPMSS25AZZuNXNLEYfzw2o7RznvGD2vzBRbDH4vP4bFjA2DoCbXAwo9bZBWrEKeCNaumQtyN4TPp8KNR7DwgJAmPxhmWiEeMsAaUB1qorVXzqBzT95BCg7ey5BxeLdfXVFFx9gv14JaHwZrnHGXMU9JYxCPVUow8TnBRwFuii6EuvsU9aafvRqVqjJ9o343ccawwh.png

Yum! You have been curated by @sirenahippie on behalf of FoodiesUnite.net on #Hive. Thanks for using the #foodie tag. We are a tribe for the Foodie community with a unique approach to content and community and we are here on #Hive.

Join the foodie fun! We've given you a FOODIE boost. Come check it out at @foodiesunite for the latest community updates. Spread your gastronomic delights on and claim your tokens.

Vote for our witness @sagarkothari88

PIZZA!

$PIZZA slices delivered:
@jane1289(3/5) tipped @anggreklestari

Just like that, it is the job of women who cook everyday and feed their entire family by making delicious food.

Interesting to serve ice cream sticks with a savory dish. Never seen anything like it, but I bet it all tastes nice. Have a beautiful day

This serving way is make the food more interested especially for my nephews 😊
Children Will like it