Breakfast Homemade Chocolate Granola Bowl

IMG_20220121_115757.jpg

Ingredients:

  • 150 g of nuts; cashews, peanuts, almonds
  • 2 teaspoons of chia seeds
  • 2 teaspoons of flax seeds
  • 2 teaspoons of sesame seeds
  • 50 g of black and white raisins
  • 30 g of dried cranberries
  • 1 dl of water
  • 350 g of rolled oats
  • 2 ripe bananas
  • 150 g of vegan chocolate

Preparation:

  1. Place nuts, seeds, raisins and cranberries in a bowl.
    Boil water and pour it over the nuts, seeds and dried fruit. Let it soak for 10 minutes. Drain it well and place it back in the bowl.
  2. Add rolled oats and mix it well.
  3. Mash two bananas and add it to the bowl. I didn't add any sweetener as the bananas and dried fruits are already sweet enough.
    Mix well, the mixture should be slightly damp and sticky.
  4. Place baking paper on the baking tray and put the mixture on it. Slightly press it down with a spoon.
  5. Place it in the oven at 120°C for 2,5-3 hours.
  6. Melt the chocolate in a double boiler. Pour it over granola and let it cool down.
  7. Crumble granola a bit and keep it in a dry place.

IMG_20220121_120000.jpg

Sort:  

Hi @blackberryskunk! I see you have brought a delicious granola dish, but where is the preparation process, the development of the recipe?

I didn't get to make the process photos this time, I didn't think that's needed. I appreciate the advice, I will use process photos next time.

This is ideal, so that any reader can easily make your recipe.

So the bananas are the binder that holds it all together? That's interesting. I would have thought you would need a sugar like honey or something. Cool!

Exactly, banana makes it sticky enough to hold it together and also it adds sweetness. I also added dried fruits and as I like it more semi-sweet I didn't add any sugar. Agave syrup or honey would be great in this recipe if you like to make it sweeter, it would also make it more sticky.

I'd probably skip the added sugar myself as well.

I really don't miss it in the granola, it's so much better without. It's also not easy to find at the store the one without sugar.