Homeade spicy vegan sausage dinner

I live in Montreal where we have a great assortment of vegan products. There is a company that makes my favourite faux meat products including their sausages. Unfortunately they are a little expensive so I decided to make my own using vital wheat gluten and other items.

Whenever I use vital wheat gluten I am always experimenting with certain added ingredients such as lentils, beans, mushrooms or certain flours. This time I wanted a sausage kind of resembling Mexican chorizo, but these were not totally authentic. Even still I was extremely happy with the outcome.

DSC_5095.jpg

Dry ingredients
2 to 3 cups vital wheat gluten
1 1/2 cup textured soy protein
1/4 cup tapioca starch
2 tablespoons salt or more to your taste
1 tablespoon onion powder
1 teaspoon garlic powder
1 teaspoon chipotle powder
1 teaspoon smoked paprika
1 teaspoon fennel seeds
1 teaspoon mixed peppercorns
1teaspoon cumin seeds
1teaspoon coriander seeds
3 tablespoons vegetable soup broth powder
1 pinch citric acid (optional)

DSC_4971.jpg

Wet ingredients
1 onion chopped
4 cloves garlic minced
3 tablespoons ancho pepper paste
3 tablespoons arbol pepper paste
3 tablespoons guajillo pepper paste
1 tablespoon chipotle pepper paste
1/8 cup soy sauce or Braggs aminos
3 tabelspoons oil
1 teaspoon liquid smoke
2 tablespoon agave nectar or maple syrup
1 to 2 cups water

I happened to have purchased these dry peppers from a Mexican grocer near by and soaked them with hot water then blended each one to a paste. If you don't have those particular ones you could use any dry then soaked peppers. This recipe was made up on the fly so there are no rules. However when I do a recipe that I don't like the result of, I won't post it. I was very satisfied with this one. I even liked them better then my favourite ones from the store.

DSC_4984.jpg

I roasted the whole spice in a pan before I ground them up.

DSC_4974.jpg

I used a mortar and pestle to crush the spices, which was not very good so I finished it off with a blender.

DSC_4979.jpg

I started the process by browning onion and garlic in hot oil.

DSC_4989.jpg

I added all of the spices including the toasted spices to the onion and garlic.

DSC_4991.jpg

When the onions and spices were mixed and cooked a bit I added the wet ingredients except for the water.

DSC_4998.jpg

I blended the cooked onion mixture until smooth in my bullet blender.

DSC_5005.jpg

All of the flour and dry ingredients were mixed together.

DSC_5003.jpg

DSC_5007.jpg

I added the wet ingredients to the dry mixture keeping the water aside, to determine how much I would need. It was mixed thoroughly then I added the water gradually until I got a soft dough consistency. Using my hands I kneaded the dough once I was happy with how it felt. It was still fairly soft like a bread dough. Gluten flour has a certain texture and feel to it. It's really elastic different than bread dough.

DSC_5010.jpg

After kneading for as long as I could stand, and pounding it a bit, I shaped it into sausages

DSC_5012.jpg

After rolling them in parchment paper tightly I twisted the ends. You could use tin foil as well. I put them in my electric steamer and set the timer for an hour. They swell up quite a bit.

DSC_5015.jpg

Before serving them I put them on my electric grill for grill marks. We had planned to have a barbecue at the park but the clouds rolled in and in poured rain. Of course it did. It was our day off work. We long for the outdoors but we'll have to wait.

DSC_5017.jpg

I accompanied the sausages with saurkraut and potatoes even though the sausages were not the typical ones that would be eaten with saurkraut.

DSC_5122.jpg

The pepper pastes I used were very mild which is why I added ground chili but it wasn't enough to achieve the heat I was looking for. It would be too spicy for some. Next time I'll take it to the next level with some hotter peppers. I like it to hurt.

DSC_5115.jpg

The flavor was there. I tasted the mix before steaming and added little by little more salt until the dough was salty enough for me. They were perfectly salted. It's the good thing about the fact that it's not real meat. You can safely taste it before it's cooked. I never swallow it anyway. I don't want to eat raw dough.

DSC_5101.jpg

I made the potatoes cutting them in French fry shapes then blanch them for around 10 seconds in boiling water. They were cooled in cold water, then tossed in oil and seasoned. They were (toaster) oven roasted until tender and golden.

DSC_5089.jpg

I put mustard on the plate which would probably not be used for a Mexican chorizo sausage but I love mustard. The plate was kind of a combination of Mexican, German, North American. This what comes from a Canadian who had no distinct ethnic food growing up.

DSC_5100.jpg

Have a great day and thanks for stopping by!

carolynbanner.jpgdesign by: @KidSisters

Sort:  

It´s a super duper presentation, love it! Looking good as always Carolyn dear!
And that´s a brilliant way to make vegan sausage, I might try that one day, Although the husband would prefer the real one, maybe if he tastes that it´s a good meatless sausage, then I can make it more often. Vienna is known for hundred varieties of sausages and hubby grew up with them, lolols.

My father in-law is a former German sausage maker and he won't touch a vegan sausage. He also grew up eating all of the German sausages. It's not really possible haha.

Thank you my friend!

Lolols... see what I mean, the germans will always need the sausages. I told you , hehehe
red flower icon.png heart icon.png

Braggs Liquid Aminos?!!!! I LOVE it. I could eat it with every meal. Sweet or savoury. Sadly we no longer get it in SA. As far as vegan options, I remember a couple decades ago when shops started catering for a growing plant based need, the vegan options were horrifying. Eating dirt would've been more exciting. But they these days its impressive how yummy and diverse the options are

Okay I read you loud and clear about Braggs but you stumped me with "sweet". Would love to be enlightened on that one.😊

You ought to write a cook book or teach cooking classes! Amazing inventor of strange new food recipes!

Love to try some!lol

You're much too kind. I would never write a cookbook. It's too much like a school project and besides I get my ideas from different places. Here on Hive there are many genius cooks that should write a cookbook.

Hope you are having a peaceful day.🙏

Thanks! Trying to catch up with my sleep!

Wow, I like the results of your cooking, it looks very delicious @carolynstahl

Thank you so much. I appreciate that.

You are a vegan magician my friend, your food always sounds so full of flavour & those sausages look really good!
Here we pay a fortune for vegan food ingredients, and it's also very limited.
I'm so sorry the weather did not play along on your day off!
Hoping it's warmer soon so you get to enjoy some sunshine🤗

Thank you Lizelle. I got lucky that time haha. It's spring so I guess it's suppose to rain. Next week better be sunny or I'll go out anyway haha.

You've been curated by @plantpoweronhive! Delegations welcome!

Find our community here

Curation Trail

Thank you very much!

Wow, that’s looks so amazing, my friend. You are really a good vegan chef. How can I eat some of your food 🤤.

Ahh thank you my friend. I wish I could share with you. And I wish you could share with me too haha.😄

These sausages are extraordinary, you have brought us a really creative recipe, with lots of flavor and color. As always your posts are excellent. I loved the whole process, simple, practical and with an incredible result. Thanks for posting on Plant Power Vegan. Regards.

I really appreciate this lovely comment. Thank you for your kind support.😌


~~~ embed:1527478340080238595 twitter metadata:UGxhbnRQb3dlclZlZ2ExfHxodHRwczovL3R3aXR0ZXIuY29tL1BsYW50UG93ZXJWZWdhMS9zdGF0dXMvMTUyNzQ3ODM0MDA4MDIzODU5NXw= ~~~
The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the person sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

Thank you so much @poshtoken!

Thank you for sharing this amazing post on HIVE!
  • Your content got selected by our fellow curator @priyanarc & you just received a little thank you via an upvote from our non-profit curation initiative!

  • You will be featured in one of our recurring curation compilations and on our pinterest boards! Both are aiming to offer you a stage to widen your audience within and outside of the DIY scene of hive.

Join the official DIYHub community on HIVE and show us more of your amazing work and feel free to connect with us and other DIYers via our discord server: https://discord.gg/mY5uCfQ !

If you want to support our goal to motivate other DIY/art/music/homesteading/... creators just delegate to us and earn 100% of your curation rewards!

Stay creative & hive on!

Thank you very much!

Todo se ve dilicioso, con una bandeja así yo soy feliz. Saludos.

Muchas gracias!!!!😊

Congratulations @carolynstahl! Your post has been a top performer on the Hive blockchain and you have been rewarded with the following badge:

Post with the most upvotes of the day.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Month - Feedback from May - Day 15

Thank you!

You're welcome @carolynstahl, that's a pleasure! Have a nice day 😊👍

Yummyyyy!!! This saussages looks like heaven! I must try this recipe! 🙌🏼✨