One meal bowls- Buddha bowls for easy meals during the work week

in Plant Power (Vegan)2 years ago (edited)

DSC_4822.jpg

With searching for an apartment and a much busier restaurant to work at, I don't have time and energy during those work days to make lunch before work and dinner after work. We eat dinner at midnight or later. Shameful I know. Such is the life of a line cook grunt.

I usually try to have things in the freezer to take out each night. I often make more than enough for one meal like soup or curry or whatever. If I'm too tired after cooking for other people at work I have something ready to heat up.

I want to try to keep things as light as possible since we tend to indulge on days off. Then came the light bulb moment. I realized that the trendy Buddha bowls that have been around quite a while, especially in the plant based or vegetarian community, is a perfect way to have nourishment and convenience at the same time without sacrificing enjoyment.

I suppose you could call it a salad bar with lots of stuff but it usually has a protein, a starch, and some veggies.

I chose several random items and prepped them along with sauces. The thing about the sauces is that I wanted them to be suitable as a salad dressing as well. I intended on having greens with each dish.

DSC_4778.jpg

For the proteins I chose tofu, tempeh and lentils. I marinated the tempeh and the tofu for a few hours. I just use any random things such as veggie broth and water, soy sauce, miso and seasonings such as garlic and onion powder salt and pepper. Just taste it first to make sure it's suitable. With tofu, it doesn't absorb as well as tempeh so you'll want to make the tempeh marinade less salty.

DSC_4779.jpg

For the tofu and tempeh I cooked it in the marinade until all the liquid was evaporated. The lentils were cooked until tender but still have a bite to them.

DSC_4817.jpg

For the starch I made rice noodles, jasmine rice and quinoa making sure none of them were overdone.

DSC_4794.jpg

To add I toasted sesame seeds, walnuts, pistachios and peanuts.

DSC_4803.jpg

I made three sauces which had different themes and flavors. This to me is the most important part. After you decide what goes in the bowl, you can decide on the sauce to accompany.

Curry sauce

1 small onion diced
4 cloves garlic
1 teaspoon minced ginger
4 fresh small hot chilies
1 teaspoon ground cumin
1 teaspoon ground coriander
1 teaspoon curry powder
1 teaspoon chili powder
1 teaspoon garam masala
1/2 teaspoon asafoetida
1 teaspoon mustard seeds
1 teaspoon turmeric
Juice of a lime
1 sprig of fresh coriander
1 cup veggie soup broth
1 cup coconut milk
1 cup cashews
3 or 4 soaked dates or sweetener (optional)
1 handful of curry leaves

Brown onions garlic, ginger chilies and cashews then add the spices and curry leaves to hot oil. Add the rest of the ingredients and simmer for twenty minutes. Cool down a bit and blend until smooth. I added some extra fresh garlic, ginger and chilies but just a little.

DSC_4821.jpg

Peanut Sauce

1 cup peanut butter
1/2 cup soy sauce
2 tablespoons sesame oil
Juice of 2 limes
5 or 6 dates pre soaked
4 cloves garlic
1 teaspoon minced ginger
3 chilies or hot sauce

DSC_4825.jpg

DSC_4831.jpg

Tahini herb sauce

1/2 cup tahini
1 cup lemon juice
5 cloves garlic
1/2 cup olive oil
1 cup chopped parsley
1/2 cup fresh mint
Salt and pepper to taste
1 teaspoon agave nectar or sweetener (optional)

Blend until smooth adding more seasoning if necessary to suit your taste

DSC_4838.jpg

I chose to put the curry sauce with the tempeh and rice, the peanut sauce with the tofu and rice noodles, and the herb sauce with the lentils and quinoa.

DSC_4843.jpg

These bowls can consist of any items you choose and can be super fun to put together.

DSC_4837.jpg

I think it would be a fun way to encourage kids to eat healthier foods. They can choose from what you supply and make their own bowls. I know most kids wouldn't eat half of these things but you could choose the healthiest of the things that you know they'll eat.

DSC_4856.jpg

In the past, I've had these bowls hot and cold, and a combination of hot and cold. I have purchased ready made bowls from the super market that were supposed to be eaten cold. The main thing is to make a bunch of items and sauces then keep them in the fridge mixing and matching for variety.

The possibilities are endless.

Thanks for dropping by and have a great day.

carolynbanner.jpgdesign by: @KidSisters

Sort:  

Looks like quite a Buddha bowl to me, you’ve always got some beautiful garnish and photogenic meals to marvel at. Save a bowl for me chef.

Thank you. A Buddha bowl should be called quick lazy bowl haha.

Looks really healthy, @carolynstahl I just had some healthy bacon, with eggs from my next door neighbor. Whole wheat toast, fresh butter.. some sauerkraut and romaine lettuce.. Good luck with finding job.

Thanks Mike. I used to enjoy bacon and eggs for Sunday brunch. Sauerkraut is the bomb. I have to get some again.

It's good once in awhile.. us skinny people can afford to indulge.

What a practical idea! Especially when you work in the kitchen, when you return home perhaps the last thing you want is to continue cooking.
Just look at the variety of combinations you can make with all this! And that's not to mention that in all cases you can get a plate with a very complete nutrition.
I loved the sauces, I agree with you that it is perhaps the most important thing! I will definitely keep them in mind for my meals! Thanks for sharing!

Yes it's quite a lifesaver. When I return from work I sit down and can barely get up again. This makes it simple when it's time to eat.

Thank you very much for your kind comment. Have a great day. 😊

Wow! This looks really yummy! One bowl for me!

Life has been too busy for me too; it’s very emotionally draining and exhausting! Need good food for sustenance!

Thank you. I don't think overall I am as busy as you but my work is like running on a treadmill for hours non stop. Exhausting.

I hope you’ll be having a nice holiday soon.

Those sauces are so glorious! Thank you so much for sharing this, your Buddha bowls are so creative and beautiful😊 I'm so glad I wandered over from Listnerds to see this awesomeness, @therneau shared your amazing post there!

Hope you are having a magnificent weekend!

@carolynstahl's vegetarian posts are definitely some of my favorite food posts. Amazing stuff!
!CTP

I really appreciate that you came by. Thank you for your kind and lovely comment. Good weekend to you too!😊

WAW, MAGNIFICO😍!! tienes mi voto y apoyo

One meal bowls are a good choice. Tofu are so versatile and healthy, plenty of vitamins !

Some people I know really hate tofu but I love it and yes it is versatile right? Thanks for stopping by.

Looks and sounds delicious! Not overly complicated either – bookmarked to make soon 🙂
I loved your buddha bowl recipe! They are phenomenal! 💗

Thanks so much. I'm sure yours would be phenomenal the way you cook. You always teach me a thing or two. Cheers!

One meal bowls look so delicious together and beautiful. I wish I could get a small bowl for eat right now.

Thank you my friend. It's very easy and convenient for fast meals.😊

Buddha Bowls is amazing! And yours look fabilous :D

Thank you so much. They are a fun thing to make....and eat haha.

That looks totally amazing. I like your sauces and am dying to try them. Great idea❤️😊🤔

With these kind of bowls any goes in my opinion. I thank you for your nice compliment.😊

What a post 😍🤩

Beautiful combinations, beautiful photos, and great recipes!

Gg!

Much appreciated. Thank you for your generous comment.😊

You've been curated by @plantpoweronhive! Delegations welcome!

Find our community here

Curation Trail

Thank you for your support.

These dishes looks so delicious, especially that tofu and tempeh. Lots of good nutrients makes it a perfect healthy meal!
Came here from listnerds (mangojuice)

Oh how nice. Thank you so much for stopping by and your nice comment. 😊

I need to try this! !BBH !CTP

Yes it's fun easy and convenient. Thank you so much.


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the person sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

Thank you very much.

Because this is such an awesome post, here is a BBH Tip for you. . Keep up the fantastic work

Thank you very much.

how are you dear friend @carolynstahl good night
I am very sorry that you come back very late from work at night.

These dishes look healthy and very delicious, I appreciate that you let us know the recipe and its preparation method
enjoy it many

It's after work right now and nice to come home to your kind words. Big thanks from Canada.😊

always good food eating for good health

Thank you so much!

Wow, that looks great and healthy. I am getting hungry at night

Haha thanks. I always get hungry at night too.

Hello, dear Carolynstahl, you are sooo clever. these recipes look so delicious I am feeling water in the mouth so beautiful colors and healthy ingredients thanks for sharing greetings❤️

Your comment is so much appreciated my friend. I don't always eat this way but I try to change from time to time. Thank you so much❤️

I love bowls. And wow these look great!! Would love to try them now! :D !PIZZA

PIZZA!

PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
@ravenmus1c(7/20) tipped @carolynstahl (x1)

Please vote for pizza.witness!

I just made a potentially fatal mistake....

I read this post while feeling hungry, and now the hunger is next level! You clearly know how to prepare food and you captured it so well in the photos. Not only does the food look mouth-wateringly appetising, but it looks really healthy too, so it's a win win.

The little touches like the seeds in the dips and the lovely serving plates and bowls you used really make this, well done.

Thanks so much for your awesome comment. I always look at food posts when I'm hungry, but I'm usually too lazy at that moment to make anything haha. Cheers!

Thanks for all the great recipes. I have printed them and will use them often I am sure.

I appreciate that very much. I hope you enjoy it.