Pumpkin ravioli with parsley sage pesto

DSC_1624.jpg

In my last post I shared a pumpkin recipe. It was made from an orange pumpkin typically used to carve out Jack o lanterns for Halloween. Although it was not a large pumpkin, I had plenty left after roasting part of it. I had used it for a salad.

DSC_1481.jpg

To make the filling for the ravioli I boiled some of the pumpkin then blended with a few items. This is plant based so I used a plant based ricotta to add. Sometimes I make a cashew cheese for such things. I used a store bought one for convenience. It's amazing how simple it can be to make something that seems like a lot of work.

DSC_1516.jpg

Ravioli filling
4 cups cooked pumpkin
1 cup plant based ricotta cheese or home made plant based cheese
Juice of a lemon
3 tablespoons nutritional yeast
1 teaspoon garlic powder
1 teaspoon onion powder
1 teaspoon black pepper
1 small onion chopped
4 cloves garlic minced
3 or 4 leaves sage

DSC_1488.jpg

After the pumpkin is cooked until tender, saute onions garlic and sage in oil or butter.

DSC_1499.jpg

Add the cooked onion and garlic to the blender along with the vegan cheese and seasonings. Blend everything together

DSC_1510.jpg

The ravioli dough was made with all purpose flour water and olive oil. Some are made including eggs but it isn't necessary at all.

DSC_1474.jpg

Ravioli dough
2 cups all purpose flour
1 teaspoon salt
2 tablespoons olive oil
¾ to 1 cup cold water

This is easier to do if you have a stand mixer but I don't, so I do it by hand. I also go by feel adding either more water or flour until I get a smooth dough. Of course this requires a lot of kneading. I just put on a video to distract myself then knead until it's smooth. Usually this takes me around 15 minutes.

DSC_1133.jpg

When the dough has been rested for 30 minutes covered, I cut it into smaller pieces then flatten it with a rolling pin. I'm fortunate to have a pasta maker so after the rolling pin I pass it through the pasta roller to make it nice and thin.

DSC_1135.jpg

After cutting out the rounds with a cookie cutter, I place a spoon of filling on to the centre of the rounds. I actually have ravioli cutters but I wanted them a little bigger. You could roll out the larger sheet of dough then place the filling spread apart, place another sheet on top then cut it out. Sometimes I do it that way.

DSC_1523.jpg

With a fork I like to go around the edges witch helps seal the two sides.

DSC_1529.jpg

When the raviolis are finished I put them in the fridge while making the pesto.

DSC_1610.jpg

Parsley sage pesto
1 handful fresh parsley
7 or 8 sage leaves
1 cup walnuts
4 or 5 cloves garlic
Juice of a lemon
1 cup oil (I used grapeseed)
Salt and pepper to taste

Blend ingredients until smooth

DSC_1614.jpg

Boil enough water to cook ravioli adding salt to the water. Place the ravioli to the boiling water then turn to medium and cook until tender. I don't time it but it took at least 3 minutes. Test after a minute to see if it's to your liking. If you continue to cook it in a sauce then make sure you take it out sooner. I just put the pesto on it so it had to be thoroughly cooked.

DSC_1634.jpg

To sprinkle on top, I made a very quick vegan parmesan.

DSC_1629.jpg

Vegan parmesan
1 cup cashews or almond flour
1/4 cup nutritional yeast
1 teaspoon garlic powder
1 teaspoon onion powder
A pinch of citric acid
Salt to taste

If you get your hands on citric acid make sure you add a pinch at a time until you get it to your liking. It is very acidic but adds a nice lemony touch to a dry mix without using lemon or vinegar.

DSC_1646.jpg

Thanks for dropping by and have a great day.

carolynbanner.jpgdesign by: @KidSisters

Sort:  

What a great recipe! it looks really delicous.

my girlfriend likes to make raviolis so i will show her this recipe

Thank you I would love to know your girlfriends recipes.

Healthy eating saves in the long run, making your own you know exactly what is going into the meal, thanks for awesome recipe to try.

!LUV

You're right about making your own and knowing what goes in it. I certainly don't always do that but it is true.

Thank you so much for your comment.

You've been curated by @plantpoweronhive! Delegations welcome!

Find our community here

Curation Trail

Thank you!😊

Hello @carolynstahl, what a wonderful dish, thanks for the recipe, I am gonna try this one for sure, I already know we are going to love it. I am so happy you have given the dough instructions I have never been good at that, but your recipe sounds so simple. If I can get the dough right, I have all kinds of stuffings in mind, but your vegan one will be at the top of the list.

Keep it coming girlfriend, I love it!

Honestly I'm not a dough expert. I have been making my own pasta quite a bit so through trial and error it gets better. I think a homemade pasta that's not the best is still superior to dry pasta. I still love dry pasta though haha. I can imagine all the stuffing ideas you have especially with that garden of yours.

Thank you so much my friend and bon appetite!

Oh! Now I am hungry! These look so good and yummy. You are very good cook! I could never come up with how to use pumpkin in this way!

Using pumpkin this way is not uncommon especially here in the Western world but I thank you for giving me the credit haha.

wow you have so many styles to process pumpkin, I think it's really delicious especially when combined with parmesan which is amazing @carolynstahl.

Thank you so much my friend. I only use this pumpkin in this time of year because of it's availability, 😊 Squash will do for the rest of the year. I know you do amazing things with this item as well. I learn much from you about the foods you make.

Very inspiring, thanks for sharing this amazing recipe with us @carolynstahl

I don't know this way to make pasta with pumpkin. It looks very delicious.
Thanks for sharing. A hug ❤️😊

It's quite common to use pumpkin or squash in a vegan or non vegan ravioli. Hugs back!

CKq55bDMMa5C9zjdaYBZxnPMSS25AZZuNXNLEYfzw2o7RznvGD2vzBRbDH4vP4bFjA2DoCbXAwo9bZBWrEKeCNaumQtyN4TPp8KNR7DwgJAmPxhmWiEeMsAaUB1qorVXzqBzT95BCg7ey5BxeLdfXVFFx9gv14JaHwZrnHGXMU9JYxCPVUow8TnBRwFuii6EuvsU9aafvRqVqjJ9o343ccawwh.png

Yum! You have been curated by @sirenahippie on behalf of FoodiesUnite.net on #Hive. Thanks for using the #foodie tag. We are a tribe for the Foodie community with a unique approach to content and community and we are here on #Hive.

Join the foodie fun! We've given you a FOODIE boost. Come check it out at @foodiesunite for the latest community updates. Spread your gastronomic delights on and claim your tokens.

Thank you for your support.

Hi! This looks so pretty and delicious, and I liked the flow of the recipe, that´s some good writing.
Kneading might be the hardest part haha when making bread or pasta if I don´t have a timer, I kind of overestimate how long I have been kneading, it feels like an hour but just five minutes.

Kneading always feels like forever. It can be therapeutic but I do stare at stand mixers in the store. Then I see the price and keep walking haha.

Thank you so much.😊

Haha the same happens to me with the stand mixers, I saw one in $90 and thought I could buy it, then touched it and of course the quality sucks, not even worth $90, then I saw another one on the same store, the quality was awesome... $700 the smallest one, 😅 kneading is a good exercise...