Spinach curry and flatbreads

Hello Hivers! I am finally able to do a post after a crazy week of insomnia and working extra hours due to the kids leaving for school. The city is scrambling to hire restaurant workers. Some places had to close due to no staff.

We have been living on quick fix scraps on the run. We also had a crazy night the other night where we woke up after a couple of hours and couldn't sleep. We go to bed late. At 7 a.m. we heard someone trying to get our lock open. We jumped up immediately and then Marc tripped and body slammed himself on the floor. I thought he was dead. The person was still trying to get in. We thought the worst like this would be a crazy apartment invasion. Marc got up and I asked loudly if he was okay. The person was still trying to unlock the door. We got to the door and I held the lock in place and said loudly "hello"!!!!? They continued to try to get the lock unlocked. Marc looked through the peep hole and after a few long seconds this woman finally stopped and paused before she said, "oh, sorry". She sounded very unapologetic so I guess she was drunk or something. I got paranoid after hearing that someone was stabbed to death outside our building.

After that the upstairs people were stomping around like elephants for three hours before they cranked the music. Anyway we had to go to work exhausted and it took a while to recover. Yesterday I finally worked up the energy to make a proper dinner. It was long overdue.

DSC_5186.jpg

I desperately needed to do something with two gigantic bags of fresh spinach so I went in the curry direction. I haven't had spinach curry for a while. I added some potatoes as well.

Spinach and potato curry
Approximately 6 cups of spinach after it's cooked down
1 large potato
1 chopped onion
1 large chopped tomato
1 cup chopped cilantro
4 or 5 cloves minced garlic
4 green chillies
1 teaspoon of minced ginger
1 cup cashew cream
1 teaspoon fennel seeds
1 teaspoon cumin
1 teaspoon coriander
1 teaspoon asafoetida
1teaspoon chili powder
1 teaspoon garam masala
1 cup chickpea flour
Salt to taste

Untitled-1.jpg

After toasting the seeds I fried the seeds and the spices together. I like to use a mortar and pestle to pound the toasted seeds. I added the onions and garlic to brown in a pan with oil, then the potatoes. Then after adding the tomatoes and coriander I poured vegetable broth over it. I added the chickpea flour after not knowing if it was the right timing or not but it worked out. I usually don't put this in but I wanted to thicken it.

Untitled-3.jpg

I added cashew cream to replace yogurt which is commonly used. I could have used vegan yogurt if I had some. I prefer cashew cream. I made it by soaking cashews, then blending with some lemon juice, cider vinegar, nutritional yeast, salt, olive oil and a little water to make it smooth. When the curry was cooked I blended it with a hand blender then added the cream.

Untitled-4.jpg

I wanted to go all out and make some flat breads. This is so simple that I wish I had done this all my life instead of buying it. Although I am no expert at these things, I got a satisfying flatbread which Marc loved.

I used around 4 or 5 cups of wholewheat flour, a few cups warm water as needed to make a dough that can be formed. I also added salt and a few tablespoons of oil to the mix. The water was added gradually until it was doughy. I rolled it into a ball then cut it into equal pieces rolling each one in a ball then flattening with a rolling pin. I put it in a hot pan and waited until bubbles formed to turn it over.

Untitled-5.jpg

I made a mango salad which was more like a Mexican salsa. It kind of sneaked in there like a squirrel on a bird feeder. I guess it wasn't that out of place since it had ingredients also used in Indian cuisine. It was mango, onion, cilantro, chili powder and lime juice. I topped it with roasted cashews.

DSC_5175.jpg

I always like to have rice so I made some basmati. I only have a little of the bread or I get too full. Marc prefers the bread.

DSC_5179.jpg

I would like to make curry more often but I'm afraid my apartment will smell like curry and spices. We can't open the windows because there is too much pigeon dust outside. We just have the air conditioner on all the time. Soon it will be the heater. This is life in the middle of a concrete jungle.

DSC_5180.jpg

Thanks for stopping by!

carolynbanner.jpgdesign by: @KidSisters

Sort:  

This looks like a beautiful spread, and I laughed when you mentioned the smells and closed window pigeon dust situation. Our previous rental room before we moved to where we are now had only a door that led to storage room that had a door we could leave open for some indirect natural light and air.

Needless to say, we spent around 6 months there, and that place will probably never smell the same again 👩‍🍳.

Wow! Such an elaborate meal! I wanna taste this strange curry too! Never heard of spinach curry before! But this looks very good and interesting!

Spinach is very popular as a curry in India but it comes in different varieties. I had spinach curry for the first time in an Indian restaurant but it was mostly spinach and spices. This is not as strange as you think. Have a great day!

Okay! I will have to investigate this curry at Indian restaurants here one day. I would try some too!

I’m so sorry about your experience. Sounded like that drunk person was trying to get into a party house but went on a wrong floor. That is so freaking scary though. I hope your husband is ok. You food looks really amazing as usual. I never though of making spinach dip curry style. Now I want to try so bad. I hope you get to make yourself a cup of camomile tea and have a nice rest!!

Thanks @wonderwow. You were right except that she must have been coming home from a party since it was 7 am and got the wrong floor. She had keys haha.

Actually it was spinach and potato curry like a soup or stew but you just gave me an interesting idea all the same. Thanks!

Oh, that looks like a scrumptious meal! Wow, just the spinach curry, rice, & flatbreads would have been nice, but you upped-the-ante with a fabulous mango salad, too! 😋 Sorry to hear about your rough days and Marc's fall; hope your employer will be able to hire more workers and things will be back to normal, soon!

Aww thanks so much. Marc is fine but it was just scary. We get workers some times that stay for a day a week then they realize they don't want to work or they hurt themselves or they don't like someone. The most loyal workers in our restaurants are over forty. Our dishwasher is 72. Things are getting less and less normal all the time lol. Thanks for your kind words!

Hmm.. very Indian style food. We regularly have spinach with cottage cheese and flat bread.
Instead of adding besan or chick pea flour we blanch the spinach and mash it up with the onions and tomatoes. Then add fresh cream to it at the end of the cook.
You seem to be living in an adventurous place lol where there is always some action.

Yes it's adventurous for some but I just go from work to home and home to work, which is across the street lol. I like the spinach with just onions but I like to change it up a bit.

Yeah we make it with onion and cashew paste too.

That is bad and I hope Marc is okay. Your food looks so tasty. I wish you have a better day.

Oh thank you and Marc is fine. It was just scary at the moment.

Have a great day my friends!

You do know how to cook and eat! yummy.

Oh I appreciate that comment very much thank you!

Oh, I am sorry about that! I've been wondering for two weeks now that you do not do much recipes, I think you may be very busy with your work. Your dish looks delicious my friend! Have a good day and stay healthy 😊.

Thank you so much I am usually tired but I am taking three days off this week I think.
Thanks for your nice comment my friend!


You've been curated by @plantpoweronhive! Powered by LOTUS token, an alternative health social currency on HIVE. Delegations welcome! Find our community here.
DiscordIICuration Trail

Thank you @luca1777. It's not easy sometimes haha.

 3 years ago  Reveal Comment