The delicious simplicity of pasta aglio e olio (Pasta with garlic and oil)

DSC_4535.jpg

When I was 17, a friend suggested we go to her favourite Italian restaurant for lunch. I didn't have a job so I asked my dad for a little money. He usually gave me some but not a lot.

When we got to this Italian restaurant, I found the menu to be over my budget. One of the least expensive items on the menu was pasta with olive oil and garlic. I chose that of course. It didn't concern me if it was a great dish or not. I just wanted to be out with a friend acting like an adult in a proper restaurant with lots of people in it.

We were not able to have a glass of wine like the adults but that was okay. We had good conversation like the adults. The place was always packed with a great vibe and atmosphere. I felt like I could know what Italy was like just by being in there.

When the pasta got to the table, I had a taste. The garlicky flavour with some crushed chilies took me to a place I never thought I would go, when I ordered it. How could I love something so simple.

Today I made this dish for the same reasons that I ordered it years ago. We don't have enough money to buy groceries today. The fridge has a few leftover items.

Fortunately We were given a large package of pasta yesterday, from Marc's mother. We went to visit and as usual they send us home with items that they buy in bulk.

One thing I usually buy an abundance of, is garlic.I had quite a bit left. What a perfect lunch it would be. We can eat tasty food on a low budget.

DSC_4471.jpg

Traditionally this is a dish that originates from Naples they say. It's basic ingredients are olive oil, garlic and pasta. There is the option to add herbs such as parsley. I added fresh thyme, basil and dried oregano.

This was considered peasant food. It would be a simple dish not requiring many expensive ingredients. For this reason they would not use cheese. I'm pretty sure that over the years cheese would have been added to this. I don't eat dairy so I'll just say this is the absolute traditional peasant version with added herbs. Normally lemon would not be added but I gave a squirt because I just like it.

DSC_4476.jpg

The size of the garlic would depend on personal taste. I sometimes use my garlic press but I just chopped it with a knife. It was minced roughly.

DSC_4502.jpg

I added chopped parsley which I still had in the fridge from last week. Parsley lasts for quite a while. The stems are perfect to chop for this dish but I used all of it.

DSC_4491.jpg

When cooking this dish, you must time everything properly. I like to heat a pan with oil on low, so it's warm. This is happening while the pasta water is coming to a boil. I used less oil then traditionally used. The oil is the sauce, so in the traditional dish they would use quite a bit. My waistline can't afford to consume that much fat right now. It was a good amount nevertheless.

DSC_4507.jpg

Make sure you salt the water well, when it's coming to a boil. After adding the pasta, turn the oiled pan up a little more, to medium.

DSC_4474.jpg

The garlic should cook until almost golden but not brown. This should be controlled with the heat going up or down depending on your stove.

DSC_4510.jpg

When the garlic is cooked, you can add the herbs and seasonings. This is when I added a tablespoon of lemon juice.

DSC_4514.jpg

The pasta I used was spaghettini which is quite thin. I cooked it until it was almost al dente the way I like it. It was around 4 minutes. If I used a thicker pasta and more oil, I would have left it in longer in the water.

DSC_4516.jpg

Add a cup of pasta water to the oil. Don't drain the pasta. Remove the pasta from the water with tongs or a pasta scooping utensil.

Add the pasta to the garlic oil sauce, and add more pasta cooking water to it, if it isn't cooked enough. I don't like my pasta over cooked so I added the water a little at a time.

When the water is absorbed and the oil and garlic sauce is thicker, it should be ready.

DSC_4517.jpg

Season the pasta before plating, and tear up fresh basil leaves at the end. If you chop the basil on a cutting board, you'll lose some of the flavour. It won't be wrong to do that in my opinion, but with this dish, I wanted optimum basil flavor. I love basil.

Pasta aglio e olio
450g pasta
50g garlic
1/4 to 1/2 cup olive oil
Salt and pepper to your liking

Optional ingredients
20g parsley
1 teaspoon thyme
10g fresh basil
1 tablespoon lemon juice (or zest)
1/8 cup white wine
Chili flakes
Cheese

I didn't use wine, or even vegan cheese which I could have, and I used only 3 tablespoons of olive oil. Using this little oil is taking away from the traditional experience of this dish but for me it's great anyway. I love the garlic flavor and the fresh herbs and chili really dresses it up.

DSC_4523.jpg

While you saute the garlic and parsley you can add crushed chilies if you like. I just sprinkled them on at the end.

DSC_4536.jpg

If you have friends coming for dinner and you don't want them to know you're broke, you could whip this up with a little salad and they'll never know.

Just hope that they bring the wine!

DSC_4553.jpg

Thanks for dropping by and have a great day.

carolynbanner.jpgdesign by: @KidSisters

Photos taken with a Nikon D7500 by me except for the ones of me, taken by my other half

Sort:  

This was such a fun read! Playing adult. That seems a lifetime ago. As for the pasta - yum. I remember those simple - can't afford anything else - days. And they were deeeeeeeeelicious! Beautiful photos, as usual

Aww thanks for your nice comment. Playing adult was so much more fun then being one haha. Thanks again for your visit.

Very delicious, makes me want to taste your dish☺️

I wish I could share with you. Thank you!

I make variations on this all the time. I love the way you plated it. So pretty. Mine are never quite so pretty.

I never make it pretty if I'm not taking photos haha. I just dive in.

Thanks so much!



Creative Cuisine(1).gif


You have been curated by @edwing357 and the Creative Cuisine project.

We invite you to join the flavor community.


All delegations are welcome, join our curation train and be part of the flavor @creativecuisine


Thank you for your support.


welcome.gif


Welcome to the culinary world of imagination, if you want to know more about us, take a look at the community Here 👨‍🍳


Congratulations @carolynstahl! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You received more than 170000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 180000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

Our Hive Power Delegations to the April PUM Winners
The Hive Gamification Proposal

Thank you very much.

That's great @carolynstahl! We're thrilled with your progress on Hive! Don't stop before achieving this new goal!

I love the flavor that garlic brings in pasta, it will always be one of my favorite ingredients, your recipe invades my palate with a VERY delicious flavor! I have long wanted to tell you that I love the beautiful clock that adorns your wall!
I wish you happy dreams, a big hug! @carolynstahl

You've been curated by @plantpoweronhive! Delegations welcome!

Find our community here

Curation Trail

untitled.gif

I crave it. With lashings of parsley though. Gotta have me greens.

Haha, I used all the parsley I had. I've never heard of parsley being in lashings haha. I'll have to use that one. It really drives it home.

This is my favourite too! Lots of garlic and black pepper!
Sometimes I just had it with pesto sauce only.

Hope you’ll get lots of tips at the new restaurant!

Best.

Yeah sometimes I have just pesto, but this time I didn't have enough basil and other ingredients to make pesto.

The tips are not so great but it's something. Thanks for the visit.😊

I must plant a basil herb on my garden. Bought one a long time ago, very expensive! It died, I drown the plant.🙀😂

They are really delicate but they grow pretty well here in Canada. I have no luck with them personally haha.

I will try to grow them again one day.

I think I should make this for myself one night while The Husband is in hospital.

Oh no. I hope he's okay. I'm sure your version would be superb.😊

So do I. Day 9 in ICU. Baby steps. Thank you

Haha I'll bring the wine anytime to enjoy a meal cooked by you, it looks amazing!
My mom also had the talent to make a meal fit for a king using very basic ingredients. We were 5 children and she was a stay-at-home mom so had a tight budget!
I believe the main ingredient in cooking is love.

One of my faves was when my aunt made fried macaroni and I had it with ketchup haha. I still crave it sometimes.😊

Oh my word, that sounds like something any kid will love 😉

It is a very tasty dish and the chilli flakes look like that it would give it a nice kick. My wife loves to make this dish. It is handy when you are on a budget you like say.

It really is handy but I could eat this as a quick no fuss dish. For me a quick breakfast or late night snack. The chilies are my favourite part haha.

CKq55bDMMa5C9zjdaYBZxnPMSS25AZZuNXNLEYfzw2o7RznvGD2vzBRbDH4vP4bFjA2DoCbXAwo9bZBWrEKeCNaumQtyN4TPp8KNR7DwgJAmPxhmWiEeMsAaUB1qorVXzqBzT95BCg7ey5BxeLdfXVFFx9gv14JaHwZrnHGXMU9JYxCPVUow8TnBRwFuii6EuvsU9aafvRqVqjJ9o343ccawwh.png

Yum! You have been curated by @sirenahippie on behalf of FoodiesUnite.net on #Hive. Thanks for using the #foodie tag. We are a tribe for the Foodie community with a unique approach to content and community and we are here on #Hive.

Join the foodie fun! We've given you a FOODIE boost. Come check it out at @foodiesunite for the latest community updates. Spread your gastronomic delights on and claim your tokens.

image.png

Felicitaciones!

Gracias por deleitarnos con tan magnífica publicación, la cual fue valorada por @Womentribe una comunidad para destacar el valioso potencial del ser humano.

*Sigue nuestras cuentas:
@Womentribe
suscribete aquí @colmena-139925
twitter
Instagram

  • Te invitamos a formar parte del trail de curación

Muchas Gracias!

Wow it looks so delicious, I really like pasta, and the way it is served is like in a restaurant

Aww thank you. That's a lovely comment.

@carolynstahl has just saved the day! I loved it! It's sad that you have to go through this hard time; and even in your situation, you keep your charming humor intact. Your strength is golden, golden like aioli. Thank you so much for such a nice post, me friend ❤️🌿

Haha, it's Hive friends like you that help me keep my humour intact. If it doesn't kill you.....There are many in truly bad situations and compared to those, us going broke temporarily, is nothing.

We are back on our feet again. 3 days a week is not a huge pay but I need 4 days to recuperate from the treadmill of a crazy restaurant.

Thanks for your words of encouragement my friend.😊❤️

hahah loved the story and the pasta looks amazing! I'm working on a cooking book and I think you should do the same! :) Your posts are really nice as your kitchen!

Oh wow I'm thrilled that you're working on a cookbook! I look forward to it. I am not disciplined enough to start a project like that. Hive is good enough for me and even that's a lot of work haha.

I would like to be your first customer. I wish you all the best and thank you for your nice comment!