You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Kale, spinach, and mushroom risotto

That looks delicious! A classic risotto is lemon and rosemary, so you were spot on there.

Red wine is never used in a classic risotto because of the colour: it makes the entire dish go a grey colour. That said, I have seen both beetroot and tomato risotto recipes that use red wine.

You have my sympathy on cooking smells. I won't put the slow cooker on overnight even though we sleep upstairs. I object to having a meal before I have eaten it!!😱

Sort:  

Oh thank you. I'm glad you approve. I will for sure try beet risotto. I like the idea of tomato risotto as well. Yes that will be next on my list.😊

I will miss using exotic spices all the time .😌

I will look for recipes. I meant to say two more things:

The texture of the rice and amount of liquid is either personal preference or an Italian regional thing, so, no right answer. Secondly, the cheese doesn't necessarily make it creamier, but rather more viscous. The distinctive parmesan flavour does add to it and if you have a suitable vegan substitute, you have it nailed.

BTW these are not expert remarks but rather what I have read and learned. Including ways to eat rice. I am not a fan!🙃

I like no right answer haha. I appreciate this!