Homemade Mushroom Risotto with Almond Cream

Hi, foodies in the Hive!

The first time I had real risotto was at L'Ancora, a small restaurant in Lecheria. It was kind of fancy, and times were different, better. It was more than twenty years ago; ironically, I was a college student and could afford it, but now I'm a college professor working two jobs, I can't. I haven't come back to this restaurant since 2010. Fortunately, I can cook decent risotto at home, and this time I must say it came out very well.

image.png
image.png

I've cooked a plant-based version of my longed-for risotto ai funghi porcini, the dish I used to always order no matter what wonders were on the menu.

image.png

I've used champignons instead of porcini as they're the ones sold in supermarkets around here (most of the time).

Perhaps the most relevant details of this recipe are that I've used homemade almond milk to make it creamy, and that I've used a little tomato to add an extra slight acidity and color.

Thank you for joining me in cooking this simple but delicious and nutritious dish. Feeling already aromas coming from old Italy.

image.png

Let's say that what is important when it comes to cooking a good risotto is that it has a creamy consistency, in addition to using the appropriate type of rice, to have the texture we are looking for (carnalori or arboro).

image.png

Personally, I'm only happy when I use a generous amount of white wine to cook risotto, because it adds the characteristic acidity I'm looking for. And I'm doubly happy if it can have cream, as this way we avoid the parmesan cheese while getting an equally lovely texture. This is just the opinion of an amateur cook who loves to eat risotto but doesn't have enough money to order it at a good restaurant. But hey, it's OK, for I love to cook just as I love to eat 😁

image.png

  • 100 gr carnalori risotto
  • 150 gr mushrooms (I used champignon instead of porcini)
  • 2 cups white wine
  • 100 ml homemade creamy almond milk
  • 2 cups finely chopped onion (I used yellow onion)
  • 1/2 cup chopped tomato
  • 2 tablespoons finely sliced garlic
  • 1 tablespoon garlic powder
  • 2 bay leaves
  • 2 tablespoons olive oil
  • 2 tablespoons margarine
  • salt to taste
  • cracked pepper to taste
  • ciboulette to taste for garnish

image.png

I also used:

  • 3 cups of grated potato + spicy paprika + black pepper + salt + olive oil to make crusts as a side.
  • 1 cup of yellow peas + 1 tablespoon of fresh garlic + 2 bay leaves + salt + 2 basil leaves to make creamy soup as a side
  • Julienned red onion + olives

image.png

image.png

First, I finely chopped the onion and sautéed it in a mixture of olive oil and margarine. Sautéing the onion is always the first step.

image.png

Once the onion had started to brown, it was time to add a little salt and the sliced garlic.

image.png

Immediately, I cut the tomato and mushrooms, to add them to the cooking.

image.png

I had these 150 gr of cleaned champignon in my freezer. Half of this tomato was eaten by Queen Guinevere, one of our tortoises; she came to the kitchen, I couldn't say no; I cut the tomato in half and you can guess the rest of the story.

Half of it was just fine for each of us.

image.png

I added the chopped tomato and mushroom in the pan and stirred the mix a little.

image.png

Time to deglaze the pan and add a good quantity of wine.

I added dome of the wine. With the help of the paddle, I deglazed the pan, so that the wine made a delicious sauce. I added the rest of the wine and let it reduce.

image.png

A couple of minutes after I added the wine, I measured the rice and added it, along with a cup of water and a tablespoon of garlic powder (I used this as I didn't have stock; it works fine!).

image.png

From then on, I had to stir the rice from time to time to help it release the starch. So that it would not dry out too much, I put the lid on; this way, the rice would absorb the broth more easily. The idea is that there should always be liquid covering the rice in the pot and then we can see how it gets thicker and thicker; it means we can add more water or stock, as needed, as the risotto cooks.

image.png

After another couple of minutes, I added black pepper and almond milk. I had made this milk myself the day before: I soaked 100 gr of almonds for 6 hours, peeled them, processed them in the blender with a cup of hot water, pinch of salt, e questo è tutto!

image.png

You can see how your risotto goes from watery rice to creamy, heavenly risotto 😁


Mushroom risotto takes about 30 minutes to cook. After you add the rice, you should not cook for more than 15 to 20 minutes. After removing the pot--I used my old wok--from the heat, it's important to let it rest, so that it absorbs as much of the sauce as possible. Then, you can serve it.

I served all the rice in two plates; I always estimate 50 grams of rice per diner. I drizzled a little olive oil on top, cracked more black pepper on top and also garnished a little with ciboulette from my garden.

image.png

No matter how much I love risotto, it's not a dish that leaves me satisfied; I usually accompany it with soup and bread, but since I didn't want to eat anything with flour today, I made these potato crusts--that I use for breadless sandwiches--and just a little creamy yellow pea soup, plain.

image.png

You just need to peel and shred potatoes, then squeeze them well and season them.

image.png

Then spread them in the hot pan and let them cook until they are as toasted as you like (approx. 2 minutes per side over medium heat).

I seasoned half of the potatoes with spicy paprika and the other half with black pepper and finished roasting them in my little electric oven.

image.png

I made the most simple creamy soup with yellow peas, garlic, a couple of bay leaves, and salt. Then I used fresh basil from my garden for garnish.

image.png

Bon appetit!

image.png

image.png

image.png

Thank you so much for your visit :)

All text and images are my own. I have taken the pictures with my Redmi 9T cell phone. And if any GIFs here, I've used GIPHY for all them.

MARLYN BANNER_5 (1).png

Banner by @andresromero 🖤

Sort:  

https://leofinance.io/threads/view/edwing357/re-leothreads-37txjktma
https://leofinance.io/threads/view/saggi07/re-leothreads-2384drwus
https://leofinance.io/threads/view/itsme9001/re-leothreads-qva7ugrh
The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people ( edwing357, saggi07, itsme9001 ) sharing the post on LeoThreads,LikeTu,dBuzz.

Thank you so much 💕😁

@tipu curate 🥬

You're too kind, @rozku 💚🌿❤️

Delicious photos!

When am I going to have a taste of something this good? I promise to bring cookies for dessert. 👀

Oh, I must invite you over on vacation. Miss those cookies. These photos are tasty. Enjoy! 😁

Thank you so much for dropping by, my dear @bertrayo ❤️💚

Yes, please! I'd love to have some 🥺🥺🥺🥺



Creative Cuisine(1).gif


You have been curated by @edwing357 and the Creative Cuisine project.

We invite you to join the flavor community.


All delegations are welcome, join our curation train and be part of the flavor. . @creativecuisine


Thank you so much, @creativecuisine 😁💕

🤗🤗🤗

CKq55bDMMa5C9zjdaYBZxnPMSS25AZZuNXNLEYfzw2o7RznvGD2vzBRbDH4vP4bFjA2DoCbXAwo9bZBWrEKeCNaumQtyN4TPp8KNR7DwgJAmPxhmWiEeMsAaUB1qorVXzqBzT95BCg7ey5BxeLdfXVFFx9gv14JaHwZrnHGXMU9JYxCPVUow8TnBRwFuii6EuvsU9aafvRqVqjJ9o343ccawwh.png

Yum! You have been curated by @sirenahippie on behalf of FoodiesUnite.net on #Hive. Thanks for using the #foodie tag. We are a tribe for the Foodie community with a unique approach to content and community and we are here on #Hive.

Join the foodie fun! We've given you a FOODIE boost. Come check it out at @foodiesunite for the latest community updates. Spread your gastronomic delights on and claim your tokens.

Thank you so much for your support, @foodiesunite @sirenahippie 💕🌿

You've been curated by @plantpoweronhive! Delegations welcome!

Find our community here

Curation Trail

Thanks a lot! Much appreciated, @plantpoweronhive 💚🌿

He llegado y vengo con mi plato en la mano jajaja, amiga de verdad tu contenido es uno de los mejores de las comunidades culinarias, fotos, procesos, recetas y emplatado final son de premio, esta receta es sencillamente espectacular de principio a fin , te felicito como cocinero apasionado que todos los días anda aprendiendo algo nuevo, tu blog es un excelente recetario virtual, gracias por compartirnos tus habilidades 😊

Qué lindas palabras, @edwing357 💕 Te voy aceptar los cumplidos para sentirme como una rockstar de los fogones, ja, ja, ja 🔥😎🔥 A mí me encanta la gran comunidad culinaria de Hive y cómo los moderadores las llevan. Estar aquí en con ustedes es una maravilla. Felicidades por ser una de las etrellas que iluminan por aquí; gracias por pasar a dejar esta lucecita en mi blog. Abrazísimo ❤️

Hablando de rockstar esta noche es de buena música por el server el sabor jajaja, gracias a ti por traernos tan buen contenido amiga 🤗🤗🤗

Disfruta 😌 Yo ya estoy como las gallinitas; a dormir para madrugar. Me tengo que poner a tono con Discord 🤫

Descansa amiga, mañana será otro día para hacer mas exquisiteces 😆

The risotto that I make is very similar. The only difference is that I'm not adding tomatoes in my recipe. It sounds like a nice touch and I will definitely try it next time 🙂

Thank you for sharing!

I think you'll like it. I can imagine you cooking risotto in your medieval castle, in your kitchen with an oak table and surrounded by ancient pottery telling your handmaid this time you'll be using some tomatoes 😁

Thank you so much for dropping by, @delishtreats 💚

I dare say, that two great minds think alike. I say that because I just finished eating a risotto that I am going to post when I have time. Mine is beet. You made my number one top favourite and that is mushroom.

It seems like you really know what your doing. I am no expert at this by all means. Your potato looks scrumptious as well. Now I'm hungry again.

I love your darling Queen!

A superb dish and a superb post as usual. Have a wonderful day my friend.❤️

Looking forward to your beet risotto 😃 I love beet but only cook a few dishes with it. Never risotto. So I'm taking notes!

Our Queen's King is not Arthur but Sir Lancelot. A different end to the story. There are two more: Smashy and Rosita. They are in charge of eating everything they can in the backyard 💚

Thank you so much for dropping by and for your nice words, my friend ❤️🌿