Vegan Style Spanish "Papas bravas" with Homemade Coconut Milk Mayonnaise :)

in Plant Power (Vegan)last year (edited)

Hi, Hivers!

I hope everyone is healthy and happy :) At home we are trying to eat healthier and with more respect for life, so lately we have been interested in some vegetarian and vegan recipes.

I first learned about papas bravas, or patatas bravas (spicy potatoes) through my husband ten years ago--we're both in love with potatoes--. Perhaps you already know this is a "tapa" (some snack, an appetizer, traditionally a small portion of food to pair with drinks). Until now I had always prepared this dish the traditional way (with aioli and salsa brava with chorizo), but today I decided to give it a dramatic twist and prepared this vegan tapa from scratch. We loved it!


image.png

image.png

The idea is to get here.

If you love potatoes and spicy flavor and have never prepared this dish, you might want to give it a try. Papas bravas is a tapa made up of three components: fried potato quarters (or confit and fried in olive oil), alioli, and salsa brava (with chorizo).

image.png

I think one of my biggest accomplishments today was making a vegan mayonnaise from coconut milk.

The truth is that at home we have never bought mayonnaise again since I learned how to make it. Homemade mayonnaise is as good as you like it, and there seems to be no end to the variety--of course, as long as you know how to make it--. Today there are many amateur and professional cooks sharing their healthy mayonnaise recipes for all tastes. Personally, I like to adjust the ingredients to my own taste, I guess like most people who love cooking.

The one I prepared today emulsified quite well, and the result was a delicious surprise, as I wasn't sure I was going to like it. So let's start from here; I will use coconut milk I prepared last night, and we'll add lemon juice and garlic to give it more flavor.

I'd like to go into detail with this first preparation, so that anyone interested will be encouraged to try to prepare this vegan delicacy.


image.png

To prepare the mayonnaise, you'll need:

  • 1 cup corn oil
  • 1/2 cup of coconut milk (the creamier, the better)
  • 3 tablespoons of freshly squeezed lemon juice
  • 1 tablespoon of white vinegar
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1 tablespoon fresh crushed garlic
  • Peperoncino for garnish

image.png

image.png

Pour the coconut milk and half of the oil into the blender. Add the salt as well. Mix well for a first time. One minute will do.

image.png

If using an immersion blender, pour the coconut milk into the glass first and then tilt the glass a little when adding the oil, all of it at once, so that the oil is on top. Add the rest of the ingredients as well. Then insert the blender all the way to the bottom before starting to blend. This way the oil will go down a little at a time. Mix until it thickens (3 minutes approx.).

image.png

Then add the lemon juice, vinegar and crushed garlic. And mix again.

image.png

Add the oil little by little...


image.png

....until it turns creamy.

The mixture is smooth but firm; it sets like a jelly.

In addition to the lemon and garlic, I added some peperoncino to give it an extra touch of spice. It occurs to me that next time, I could also use a little lemon or orange zest.

image.png

image.png

This mayonnaise is a delight, really. If you've never tried to make it, you may want to try it soon; you'll see how good it tastes and how well it goes down in your stomach.

I suppose this mayonnaise lasts much longer in the refrigerator than the regular one, since it doesn't contain any eggs. Maybe a couple of weeks. Just be sure to cover it so it stays fresh.


image.png

Now let's prepare the spicy sauce. Since this is a plant-based recipe, we will only use vegetables. No meat.

image.png

It's a super simple process. All we have to do is cook the ingredients and blend everything.

Everyone adds their own personal touch to the salsa brava. Here are the ingredients I used:

  • 1/2 cup red bell pepper
  • 1/2 cup of sweet chili
  • 1 cup of onion
  • 2 tablespoons of fresh garlic
  • 1 bay leaf (which also goes into the blender)
  • a pinch of rosemary
  • 1 teaspoon of salt
  • 1 tablespoon vinegar
  • 1/2 teaspoon black pepper (because I didn't have cayenne pepper)
  • 1/2 teaspoon spicy paprika
  • 1/2 cups water

Sauté the onion, paprika and chili until they begin to soften. Add the bay leaf and the salt as well.

image.png

A couple of minutes later, add the rosemary and the garlic.

image.png

Add the ground black pepper, vinegar, and water.

image.png

Now we will make a paste with this.

image.png

image.png

The tomato paste will help reinforce the sweetness and add texture, while the garlic, black pepper, and hot paprika will add spiciness.

Paprika is very important in the preparation of this sauce. I have always used this brand (Jauja, made in Murcia, Spain); I think it's one of the best. It's quite hot, so you have to be cautious.

image.png

Creamy!

image.png

You can refrigerate the remaining salsa brava in the refrigerator (or freezer) as soon as it cools. It lasts a long time; I once forgot a jar halfway through for a month and it was perfect. My husband ate it all and he's still alive XD

image.png

Finally, we can fry the potatoes to assemble our tapa. I cut 2 potatoes in quarters and half fried them in a pan with a little olive oil. After 5 minutes I took them out of the pan and finished cooking them in the air fryer. That way they are crispier without using so much oil. I didn't add any salt. No need.

image.png

To assemble the dish, I simply poured some mayonnaise in a small bowl, then put some salsa brava and then arranged the fries. I also sprinkled some extra peperoncino on top.

image.png

...Finally, papas bravas!

image.png

I made this tapa to have something to munch on while watching movies. It's a luxury for me since I happen to work on the weekend, but I was free this Saturday. I've never enjoyed a bad movie so much XD

image.png

I was feeling a little sick to my stomach from eating bread from the bakery the day before, so these potatoes were a caress to my stomach, along with a soda and some toasted corn kernels.

Bon Appetite!

image.png

image.png

All text and images are my own. I have taken the pictures with my Redmi 9T cell phone. And if any GIFs here, I've used GIPHY(https://giphy.com/create/gifmaker) for all them.

image.png

Thank you so much for your visit!

Sort:  


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people( @edwing357 ) sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

https://leofinance.io/threads/@hive-173296/re-leothreads-5cpuki
The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people ( @hive-173296 ) sharing the post on LeoThreads,LikeTu,dBuzz.

Thank you so much, @hive-173296 🥰

😊 welcome 👨‍🍳

CKq55bDMMa5C9zjdaYBZxnPMSS25AZZuNXNLEYfzw2o7RznvGD2vzBRbDH4vP4bFjA2DoCbXAwo9bZBWrEKeCNaumQtyN4TPp8KNR7DwgJAmPxhmWiEeMsAaUB1qorVXzqBzT95BCg7ey5BxeLdfXVFFx9gv14JaHwZrnHGXMU9JYxCPVUow8TnBRwFuii6EuvsU9aafvRqVqjJ9o343ccawwh.png

Yum! You have been curated by @sirenahippie on behalf of FoodiesUnite.net on #Hive. Thanks for using the #foodie tag. We are a tribe for the Foodie community with a unique approach to content and community and we are here on #Hive.

Join the foodie fun! We've given you a FOODIE boost. Come check it out at @foodiesunite for the latest community updates. Spread your gastronomic delights on and claim your tokens.

Thank you so much for your consideration, @foodiesunite @sirenahippie 🥰

Un gran saludo @marlyncabrera, te doy la bienvenida a la comunidad Plant Power Vegan.

Veo que has traído una estupenda receta, la cual has explicado muy detalladamente, lo cual es genial, esa es la manera en que se desarrolla una receta, integralmente.

Las papas bravas son un snack delicioso, que sin duda alegran el paladar de muchas personas (me incluyo allí, jajajaja). Las recetas de la mayonesa vegana y de la salsa brava están excelentes, llenas de sabor.

Muchas gracias por compartir tu buen contenido en la comunidad.

Saludos.

Muchas gracias, @sirenahippie 😁 Te agradezco la cálida bienvenida y tu valoración tan positiva de mi post. Significa mucho para mí, que apenas me voy aventurando. Estoy recorriendo la comunidad y hay posts --y blogueros-- muy interesantes.

Un abrazo desde Cumaná 🌅🍹

You've been curated by @plantpoweronhive! Delegations welcome!

Find our community here

Curation Trail

Thank you so much, @plantpoweronhive ❤️ My pleasure to be here. Cheers!

So this is papas bravas! I know that name but I didn't know what it was. I know papas. I could eat a large plate of those golden beauties and the salsa is something I could eat with a spoon.

It's great that you make your own mayo. I have done it but I get one that is a good price, so I buy it.

As you lift up that potato, I just want to grab it for bite😄

Thanks for sharing this!

Hi, @carolynstahl! I'm happy you liked these papas bravas. The main reason why I make my own mayo is the high prices, but I do enjoy "playing" in the kitchen 😁 Making this mayo was fun. Thank you so much for dropping by. Cheers 🍟

image.png


Has sido curado por @visualblock / You've been curated by @visualblock
Bienvenidas delegaciones / Delegations welcome
Encuentra nuestra comunidad aquí / Find our community here
Trail de Curación / Curation Trail

Thank you so much for your consideration, @visualblock. Much appreciated 🥰



Creative Cuisine(1).gif


You have been curated by @edwing357 and the Creative Cuisine project.

We invite you to join the flavor community.



Thank you so much for your support and the invite, @creativecuisine 💕

🤗🤗🤗

Excellent publication, very complete 👨‍🍳

Oh, thanks a lot! It's so gratifying that you appreciate my work. I did put a lot of love in it 😁💗

Your work is very good, that's how we like it in creative cooking.

Congratulations @marlyncabrera! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You received more than 85000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 90000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

Hive Power Up Month Challenge - February 2023 Winners List
Be ready for the March edition of the Hive Power Up Month!
Hive Power Up Day - March 1st 2023
The Hive Gamification Proposal

Thank you so much, @hivebuzz 😁💗

All good @marlyncabrera! You are a true inspiration for Hive! Keep going and reach your new target!