Green Salad with Caramelized Mushrooms

in Plant Power (Vegan)2 years ago (edited)

IMG_20220820_112941.jpg

Hello dear Hivers!

I have here a green salad (for two) that I made for dinner and with it, I made a caramelized button mushrooms to add a kick to the taste. We love our green salad a bit sweet and sour. And so I harvested some lettuce from my container garden for a fresh main ingredient. The freshly picked leaves are knackig, its trunk-like middle part makes a crispy sound whenever it is being munched.

2a.jpg

The ingredients you want to add together depends on the number of persons eating... but you can guess by looking on each content in bowls... this is a dinner for two people. And if you double the ingredients, simply double the sauce too for the salad.
IMG_20220820_110350 - Kopie A.jpg
Above are the ingredients I used for this salad.

IMG_20220820_113036.jpg
I used two different oils, one is olive oil on the left and to the right is a pumpkin seed oil made in the province of Steiermark. It is an expensive thicker oil which gives a nutty taste to the salad. You only have to sprinkle little to the mixed salad and the taste is really fine. The reason why I used 2 oils is because my husband prefers the olive oil.

IMG_20220826_111756.jpg

Green salad.jpg

If the sweet and sour salad is not for you, the procedure to caramelize the mushroom is optional, skip the teriyaki sauce and the dash of sugar and simply sauteé the mushrooms to use for toppings.

3c.jpg

How I caramelized the mushrooms:

1... The button mushrooms were sliced thinly then in a hot pan with 1 tablespoon olive oil, I fried the pieces til soft. I lowered the heat and continued sauteíng the mushrooms.

3d.jpg


3e.jpg

2... I sprinkled 2 teaspoons of the teriyaki sauce to coat the pieces and continued to stir ´til all became brown (If the sauce has evaporated which maybe the case from time to time, I would normally add a tablespoon of water and continue to stir).. then I added a dash of sugar to have the pieces caramelized... set the mushrooms aside to cool and for later use.

3f.jpg

Note: I had to edit the indgredients for the vinaigrette coz I made an error of using honey in this recipe instead of the Agave syrup. My husband preferred the honey, so not thinking carefully I grabbed the honey next to the Agave.

9.jpg

Below...the Agave syrup to be used for the recipe

7.jpg

8.jpg

The Vinaigrette

Ingredients
4 Tbsps Olive Oil
4 Tbsps table vinegar
1/2 Tbsp sweet mustard (I used Austrian
Kremser mustard)
1 tbsp Agave syrup
dried italian herbs or any you like
Salt and black pepper

Procedures:

I simply mix the ingredients for the vinaigrette using a whisk until the sauce gets thicker and that´s it. Arrange the bowl of the salad, and as toppings add the caramelized mushrooms.

IMG_20220820_113002.jpg

IMG_20220820_113026.jpg

IMG_20220820_113021.jpg

For my portion, I put mine on a plate full and sprinkled it with the pumpkin seed oil for the nutty taste.

IMG_20220820_113058.jpg

Hope you would try this salad and if you do, please let me know your feedback.
Until then, keep safe and see you around!

6. GIF by @Gremayo.gif
GIF by @gremayo

Original text , all images are owned by the autor, @mers
Sort:  

Hello my friend. You saved me with this beautiful salad. I was thinking what to eat before running to work and now I know. I'm going to have a salad like this and I'll feel better while I work. Thank you for that. Have a great day!😊❤️

Hello my dear! That's great, glad you'll try it...Don't work too hard, it's weekend. Have a great one!

Just by looking at the pictures, my mouth waters, how much more when it is infront of me. Looks delicious and tempting ate @mers and it's good for our health too.

Hahaha... so even if it´s just a salad, you can get full tummy. Glad you appreciate it even by just in pictures.Thanks.

I feel hungry and I want to do like what you are doing but I have no ingredients at home.

Lol, go buy tomorrow and let me know how it goes! Hahaha. Delish it is and you can serve it t your boss. Thanks for dropping by.

I want the caramelized mushroom, I'm gonna try that. Thank you for sharing.

Go ahead, simply try it! Thanks.

Delicious and healthy! I love vegetable salads but have never tried them with caramelized mushrooms. I want to try this one but we don't have that pumpkin oil. Does it taste much different without it?

It is your preference taste, and it's optional..you can of course skip the pumpkin seed oil. Thank you.

That looks so very good. Absolutely great idea to include the caramelized mushrooms into the salad. Yummy 😋

Thank you so much...but one can also add the simple fried mushroom particularly if you are not fond of something sweet in your salad.

Good afternoon @mers, do you know that honey is NOT a vegan product, since it is of animal origin?

OMG, I forgot...Sorry, the sauce is meant for my husband since I always use it for his salad. I had in mind the Agave Syrup but erroneously took the honey for this recipe. I have edited the recipe now. Thanks for the reminder.
IMG_20220902_220748.jpg

Your food looks so delicious that is making water in my mouth.

Thank you so much for appreciating.

Hmm this is worth copying almost all the ingredients is avaiable here in our place then just replace the vinaigrette, i will save this post. Thanks for sharing your mouth watering salad.

Thank you too for leaving a nice comment. You can skip the pumpkin seed oil and replace the dash of sugar with stevia powder.

Wow it all looks so divine and fresh, very colorful. Cheers @mers

You've been curated by @plantpoweronhive! Delegations welcome!

Find our community here

Curation Trail