Gingerbread cake recipe (vegan) ๐Ÿฐ

in Plant Power (Vegan) โ€ข 2 years ago

I have made this recipe in preparation for Easter - although I don't necessarily celebrate them so much, it is still a nice tradition to get together with family. ๐Ÿฃ

And since my family doesn't approve of vegan lifestyle - this cake will be my go-to dessert to bring to our dinner as even my mom liked this cake and she doesn't eat any of my food ๐Ÿ˜…

12_meduolinis_keksas_3_.jpg

Note: The shape used for the cake is about 15-20 cm. wide and 10 cm. high, but any other medium/big shape is suitable.

You will need:

300 g. wheat flour
1.5 teaspoon of baking powder
0.5 teaspoon of salt
0 2 teaspoons of cinnamon
2 teaspoons of ginger powder
0.5 teaspoon of nutmeg powder
0.5 teaspoon ground cloves
A pinch of pepper
115 g. plant-based butter
200 g. brown sugar
50 ml. maple syrup
160 g. apple sauce
240 ml. plant-based milk (I used almond)
Icing sugar to decorate

Preparation:

  1. Preheat the oven to 180 degrees (Celsius).
  2. Mix flour, baking powder, salt and all spices together.
  3. In a separate bowl mix butter with sugar until it is smooth. Pour the maple syrup and apple sauce into it and mix again.
  4. Add the flour mixture and the plant-based milk to the butter mixture in parts - add some of the flour mixture and mix, then add some of the milk and mix until you put it all together (this way you can add it in three parts). Stir only until the mixture is smooth - no need to mix too much.
  5. Spread / spray some oil on the baking tin, pour the batter and smooth the surface. Bake in the oven for 35-45 minutes. After baking, leave to cool completely and sprinkle powdered sugar only when the cake is cooled down completely.

12_meduolinis_keksas_2_.jpg

Do you celebrate Easter in your country/family? What is your favorite dessert to make for it? ๐Ÿ˜

Sort: ย 

"Doesn't approve"? Damn, thats crazy!
My family just don't give a shit xD

Haha good for you! I have to deal with a 30 minute lecture everytime I see them because "people have to eat meat", "I only eat lettuce", "I will be very weak" etc. ๐Ÿ˜‚

Aw man, thats sounds so fking annoying xD

It definitely is! ๐Ÿ˜…

Hi @plantasticka. Ideally, your recipe should be developed step by step, not just leave the photos of the dish already prepared without a real development of it.

Hi, thanks for your comment! However, I believe not each recipe has to contain step-by-step photos as for example, a cake is just making a mixture and baking it - there is not much to photograph in the process ๐Ÿ˜ but maybe I missed some rules on Hive about that

You can't assume that all readers know how to bake a cake, you wouldn't believe the people who have no idea how to bake a cake. It's not Hive rules, it's common sense, so, in the future, I would appreciate it if you could develop your full recipes in this community, I'm sure they must be great and will be very helpful for the readers. Greetings and happy Thursday.

It would be interesting to see your recipe fully developed, not just the final part.

It looks delicious.๐Ÿ˜‰๐Ÿฅง๐Ÿด๐Ÿฝ๏ธ

Thank you! It was ๐Ÿ˜