Make Mine a NiceCream

Sometimes I'm so bloody organised and a kickass mother that I want to kiss myself on the cheek.

I say this only because I'm not always the model mother - I can be disorganised and I don't bake or fuss in any other way either! But when I get it right, I feel like it's an expression of love.

With three days of really, really hot weather over new years, I knew I had to do at least one thing - fill the ice cube receptacle in the freezer with ice cubes. This was remarkable in itself - when my boy comes to visit he always gives me this LOOK as if I'm an idiot for not being more on the ball with icecubes.

But this time I went one step further - not only did I have icecubes in (a whole TUB full of them, like diamonds!) I made nicecream!

If you haven't eaten nicecream before, all it is is blended frozen fruit which tastes EXACTLY like icecream, but better, as it's not full of sugar. But honestly - trust me here - it's creamy and sweet and delicous.

Now I'm not going to give you exact measurements as it's not a precise art. Grab a few bananas and blend with a splash of vegan milk to begin. I added a little lacuma, which gives a caramelly sweetness. Vanilla would be awesome too. Half fill your container with them - I used a silicon tray but you can use a muffin tin or cupcake paper thingies.

IMG20211230145126.jpg

At this point I have to tell you about my new-old blender. I really wanted a great blender that would pulverise nuts - but couldn't afford it. With a price tag of nearly $500 AU there's no way I could buy one. However, the VERY DAY my old blender broke, this Optimum 9400 came up on Facebook Marketplace for $80 bucks. Sure, it's not the latest model, but the motor on these things go forever. I'm so happy with it it's ridiculous.

IMG20211230145141.jpg

So the next layer had fresh turmeric, fresh mangoes, some coconut milk powder and a bit of lacuma again. I also made some with banana, cacao and cinnamon. Chocolatey heaven! It was quite bitter so I used some more lacuma to sweeten it up. That formed the second layer. If I had a deeper mould for them, I would have done a triple layered icecream! And of course, lovely calendula blended with the mango layer and sprinkled on the top. I honestly can't add enough lovely calendula. I'm a big believer in adding herbs to almost every dish I make!

IMG20211230150016.jpg

The verdict? Winner.

It was quite satisfying after coming back from the beach and temperatures reaching 39 degrees celsius, my boy said: 'Damn, wish we had stopped for an icecream'.

'Never fear!' says I, opening up the freezer and brandishing the tray. 'I made nicecream!'

image.png

I got the best mum award for breaking out the coldest, yummiest treat ever. And it was only the first day of the year.

With Love,

image.png



The Herbal Hive Community

Are you on HIVE yet? Earn for writing! Referral link for FREE account here


Sort:  

Herbs on ice6cream! That is a fabulous idea. Next maybe you can make your summer treat with coriander!

Weldone ma'am 😁. I'm super proud of your achievement and award for making nice cream. Hehe. Never knew something as chilled and yummy as nice cream ever existed, I only knew of smoothies you Know. I should try making some anytime soon. Thanks for sharing the process and ingredients needed. Do have a lovely day !PIZZA

It's really good!!! Yes you could make a smoothie and freeze that!

PIZZA!

PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
@teknon(3/5) tipped @riverflows (x1)

Please vote for pizza.witness!

Wow your year started off with a bang! How could anything go wrong this year if you start off like this ;)

I never heard of nicecream. Don't know all the ingredients either. Will come back to check the recipe again one day, thanks for sharing..

It's super easy, you'll love it!!!

I accidentally posted twice instead of scheduling for next day..thanks for commenting twice!

There's no restriction for that is there :)
I just happened to look at my feed when I saw your posts appear both..
Maybe I will give it a try, although I'm not too keen on ice at the moment it's too cold here lol

No there isn't but I don't like to take from reward pool twice in a day, seems unfair...

And haha yes wait for summer!!!!

Way to go! Sometimes we get it right! I like making my own ice cream too!

It's so easy isn't it . Easier and better than ice cream!

What an awesome idea! With an added stick they could become a popsicle lol. You are always very creative!

Haha yes I like inventing recipes. Yes you could make a square mould from thick paper and add a stick!! You'd like them.

In the summer these would just fly off straight into the mouth with great speed lol

I enjoyed the process and presentation too. Looks delicious!

They are a bit addictive and I can't stop at one..

This is an excellent recipe for when my Santi gets better, he loves banana and ice cream. Now the banana is my ally for me to eat

Oh yes you'll love them, let me know if you make them!!

Yummilicious to the eyes, already!
Would be worth a try so thank you for sharing. Btw, what's a lacuma?

Lacuma is a south American fruit that's made into powder and used to sweeten things. Xxx

But how delicious this looks, thank you for sharing it, it is certainly a recipe that I will save in my favourites to try if I get it right. I'm sure your kids loved the ice cream. Greetings and happy new year ♥. A hug. @riverflows

Hugs back at you -- do try it, it's super easy.

I love nice cream! Yours looks amazing ... I could go for one of each right now. Hungry and the sun is burning already. I had no time for breakfast today... Just bought some calendula seeds. I hope it likes the tropics and grows fast so we get to enjoy some before we leave. Have a beautiful day 😘

I'm sure it'll be super in the tropics - I originally got my seeds from Bali! and of course they use them as festive and religious garlands in India and on the temples all through Asia. They'll grow fast and grow everywhere - love them so much!!!!! Nice cream is just the best as the sky is the limit to what you put in them! I bet you do yours with lots of amazing tropical fruit!!!

Nicecream!! I love it. Am i smiling. Gonna reblog this!