My Favourite Fast Food

I am such a fast food snob. I get my judgey on seeing people queue up for Maccas at lunchtime, feeling self righteous for not partaking in such non food (whilst secretly craving fries - I mean, who doesn't?). I guess I've been lucky, knowing how to cook. When my husband finally crawled out of his shed on the weekend he looked at my noodles enviously, knowing that if he asked me for some whilst I was enjoying my own, he'd likely cop a hot noodle on the snoz.

"How do I make my own?" he says.

"Well, first of all go to the polytunnel and grab the okinawa spinach..."

"Nevermind" he says. "I'll just have baked beans on toast...". An Englishman's fast food, I guess. Don't feel sorry for him. He loves it.

IMG20220702121031.jpg

Inspired by a short reel I saw on Instagram, I decided I was going to do these noodles a little differently, prepping the ingredients then adding sizzling hot oil and the noodles. But in the end I got all judgey about the amount of oil they used, and did it the usual way - stir frying in a little bit of oil, adding the cooked noodles and - voila! - a quick lunch. But what is special about these noodles for me is the okinawa spinach! When we were on holiday in Queensland last year, we stayed on an organic farm, and they had heaps of the stuff growing for us to use when we liked. I'd never heard of it, and really liked it - it could be added to salads or stirfries.

Native to SE Asia, it's hardly suited for cold winters in Victoria, but still, it manages to thrive in my greenhouse. Full of protein, iron, pottasium, calcium and vitamin A, I ordered a plant online, desperate to have something that would grow perenially in the polytunnel, and it's grown really well. Don't you love it's purple undersides? It's a very pretty plant.

So, at first I stir fried the sesame seeds, spring onions, grated ginger and garlic in a little bit of sesame oil and vegetable oil - just enough so it wouldn't stick, and only for a minute or two. Then, I added the soysauce - a splash of soy sauce, a splash of rice wine, and a splash of vegan oyster sauce (yes, that's a thing) and a squeeze of lime juice.

IMG20220702121705.jpg

Then, I added the spinach so it just wilted. I've heard it can go slimy if you cook it for longer but in a stir fry the trick is to NEVER cook it for too long. Plus, it's fast food, right? I learnt years ago that a good stirfry needs a hot pan - so it's best to have all the ingredients ready, including the cooked udon noodles, before you start.

IMG20220702121725.jpg

And voila - toss through the noodles, add a bit of sriracha (even better if it's home made, like mine - which is totally kicka ass) and some fried onions (my weakness) and dinner's on the table in less that ten minutes.

IMG20220702121925.jpg

Of course, you could add some tofu or other protein to this - I'm a bit of a fan of smashed smoked almonds at the moment - and other vegetables. I love snowpeas or broccolini in particular. It's one of the easiest meals to make and so satisfying!

What's your favourite fast food?

Sort:  

Thank you for this detailed description. I might try a variant of this. After returning back home from Portugal I'll do my best to cook more. I did try a new recipe yesterday so already that is a step forward 🙂 I still have to find a way to actually enjoy cooking though 🤷‍♀️

Ha, enjoying cooking is key! I don't know how to teach you that... all I could suggest is making it a mindful, tactile experience, using your senses to buy and prepare food. What was the recipe you tried?

Yes I definitely think I need a different approach...

I tried a recipe for vegan palak paneer. I recently had that once at a restaurant in Portugal and felt that I wanted to cook it myself. But well, it wasn't a great recipe, haha. Didn't turn out at all as I wanted.

That does look very appetising but given the choice between that and beans on toast....no contest!

Can I ask which brand of baked beans he prefers down there as I can't get Heinz here but we do have a few Aussie brands available. TIA

Hahah, well, he's not fussy really with his baked beans, and the supermarket brand ones seem to feed his need just fine! Whereabouts are you?

Haha, yes, my hubs would always choose beans on toast, with grated cheese and worcestershire sauce! I quite like grilled cheese and baked beans - yum!

I always tend to make it a bit gourmet - could not find a pic in the archives except for this one, without baked beans, but this is how I'd dress up baked beans with grilled cheese anyway....

image.png

Just a quick grind of black pepper on mine if I ever drop in for tea!
I'm in Thailand and usually get Brooks. There is one cheaper local version but they are like eating sugar coated beans. There are also US imports but they are dreadful monstrosities! Only a couple of months before I visit Blighty again and will be getting a suitcase full to bring back :-)

Looks delicious this fast food from you.
Never heard of that kind of spinach 🤓 will look into it. Thanks for introducing.
Something to add in the garden, once there is a garden 😉🤩

You've been curated by @plantpoweronhive! Delegations welcome!

Find our community here

Curation Trail

Wait, did you say FOOD? Foodie is in town on #HIVE!

Yum! Your post would look great with the #foodie tag. You have been curated @sirenahippie on behalf of @FoodiesUnite. We are a tribe for the #Foodie community with a unique approach to all things food and we are here on #HIVE.

Join the foodie fun! We've given you a FOODIE boost. Come check it out at @foodiesunite for the latest community updates. Spread your gastronomic delights on PEAKD.com and claim your tokens.

Join and Post through the Community and you can earn a FOODIE reward.

Banner_followBHcommentsize.png

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Congratulations @riverflows! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You received more than 370000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 380000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Yum! Love a good stir fry like that. I also can't handle buckets of oil in anything--I feel like it coats my mouth so that I can't taste anything but! Just a touch is plenty for me.

That is a beautiful spinach. I don't know if I've ever seen that here, but I do love anything with a hint of purple to it. :)

Yeah it's wierd! I mean the recipe looked great dressed up for instagram but as a quite capable cook I could see through it and think - wtf, HOW MUCH OIL????

If you can find that for your garden you'd lvoe it, I think it'd grow well there and is quite prolific when it does!

I'll have to keep an eye out! Always love to try adding some new things. Though I still need more space to play, haha.

We have a really good Japanese place in the next town to us and they are the first place I had udon noodles. They are a bit big for me but I do see the appeal. I think the ones I like best are called soba. They don't put spinach in theirs but I can see it being very tasty. I haven't had Okinawa spinach before and it might not grow well here because of how cool it is but I will look into it because I remember watching a video on greens and heard it is one of the most nutritious.

I love soba noodles too! I haven't had them for ages as they are more expensive than the ready made udon I buy, but I love them! So good. It might grow in your greenhouse? Yeah it's meant to be really good for you, and it's just something different - variety is the spice of life isn't it?

This looks so yummy! I don't have the okinawa spinach (never heard of it), but you're cooking is similar as my favorite way of cooking. I like to stir fry my veggies as I like to have a bite on them. Nothing so tasteless as overcooked veggies!
Thanks for sharing!

Omg me too - soggy veggies are the WORST!!!!!

🤣🤣🤣


Hey @riverflows, here is a little bit of BEER from @lxsxl for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

That looks so delicious! 😀

Haha... Living in Asia, homemade noodles are def our fastfood too. Thanks for the Okinawa spinach tip. Since it grows in SE-Asis I am def going to look out for it. Have a beautiful day 😘

Oh yes do ... It's a great vegetable to vary a greens diet!

Hi @riverflows!

In my country there is a flour that is made with tapioca or cassava, but it has a granulated texture. This product is called "mañoco", which is an indigenous word. The mañoco is hydrated for an hour, in water at room temperature; then tomatoes, onions and chopped coriander are added, with a touch of salt and lemon, and it is a delicious salad.

I also love pasta (especially long pasta, such as spaghetti or fusillini), with a sauté of garlic, tomatoes, onions and basil, it is delicious.

Oh a simple spaghetti is fabulous, with cracked pepper and parmesan too. Basil just is so divine!

Manoco sounds like couscous?

Yes, spaghetti like this is delicious too.

Yes, the mañoco is similar to the cucus, but its texture is firmer. With the mañoco, discs of tapioca bread are made, called casabe, a word that is also indigenous.

Vegan oyster sauce?? oh my Buddha - I think I need to sit down - clearly I am out of the loop somewhere!!!

My favorite fast food?? Steamed veggies & potato with butter. YUM. Takes 10 mins and I am always satisfied. I WANTED to say rocket & feta salad with black olives but here in Asia rocket requires a special trip to the special foreign supermarket 🤣 and includes a small mortgage for the olives and the feta... so it's never actually "fast" food.

Ah I've heard you say that before about fetta and olive salad.

I LOVE steamed veggies and butter for tea. It's always something that sounds dull but when you eat it you relish it.

And currently it's kitchari that's my relish of choice... But it is fuck off freezing season in Vic..